We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dexby Town House

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
126 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9LQ , Wales
Special Rate
Rooms from £45, 00!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dexby Town House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Dexby Town House
Dexby Town House
Dexby Town House
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    43
    12
    6
    17
See reviews for
18
50
40
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (185)
  • Mar-May only
    (47)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (44)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (60)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (34)
All months
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the Dexby for the WalesvIreland rugby. Lovely place,I had e mailed Susanna before going and had replies back straight away,very helpful with suggestions and wouldn't hesitate in recommending the Dexby. Nice 10 mins walk into the city centre through the park. Susanna had a busy weekend at the hotel with late night celebrations coming in early hours,but always... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had the black and white room it was lovely nice and big and really comfy bed. There are a few things that let this guesthouse down though which is a shame. Even though it is quite clean there are places that are getting dusty ie skirting boards, lights and i even had a light that looks as though it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dexby, Manager at Dexby Town House, responded to this review

Dear guest, We appreciate receiving constructive criticism, as it helps us improve, and everyone is entitled to their opinion. So, we respect your opinion about the Dexby Townhouse, although there is a lot of things in this review that we didn't really understand. I'll start by, once again, explaining that on check-in, we always tell guests that we are ALWAYS... More 

Chepstow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night on a Saturday as a couple. Greeted by a nice lady from Portugal, shown to our room, which we were very impressed, nice and spacious and looked quite cozy (thankfully no Charlotte Church pics on the wall!). Very clean, but if you want to be picky a bit of dust on picture frames, and under... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dexby, Manager at Dexby Town House, responded to this review

Dear guests, Thank you for your comments, they will be taken into consideration, as all other comments and reviews are. We apologize in advance for the dusty frames and the dust under the bed. All those in charge of cleaning will know about it and, hopefully, it will not happen again. Regarding our continental breakfast buffet, it consists not only... More 

worcestershire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked 2 rooms (6 & 7) for 2 night stay, pleased to find reduced charge for one person staying in double room rather than a single supplement. Greeted by Susana the Manager, who is the hotel's greatest asset. She is very friendly and helpful, nothing too much trouble and she does everything from greeting guests to cooking breakfast. Rooms were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dexby, Manager at Dexby Town House, responded to this review

My Dear Mrs. B., It was a pleasure to meet you and you daughter and I am very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate all your feedback and we will try to improve as we always do. The one thing we can't really do anything about is the noise/creaking floors from stairs/ ceilings. It's an... More 

Swansea
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room was spacious and the bed was comfy. The duty manager was friendly but could've done with some help, especially at breakfast as she was having to see to everyone on her own (taking orders, cooking food and checking out guests). The only disappointing thing was that we had assumed that a cooked breakfast was included in the rate... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dexby, Manager at Dexby Town House, responded to this review

Dear guest, We are very happy that you have had a nice stay with us. Our main goal is to provide our guests a lovely stay, helping them the best way we can. Regarding our cooked breakfasts, all guests are informed via email, at the time of the booking (and also at check-in) that only our continental buffet breakfast is... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My associate and I stayed at the Dexby and we were treated impeccably. The lovely lady Susanna greeted us and showed to our elegant boutique style room and the bathroom really had the "wow" factor. Susanna showed us all the facilities the room had to offer including the free wi-fi and recommended some great places to have an evening meal.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dexby, Manager at Dexby Town House, responded to this review

Dear Mr. R., We couldn't be happier and proud, after reading your review. Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback, it really means a lot to us to see our work appreciated and our place enjoyed as it should be. Best wishes from all of us and we hope to see one day soon! More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The B&B is in a central location and is reasonably priced compared to other options in the area (although we still found it a little overpriced). The room had a musty smell and there was some mould in the bathroom, however the decor in both the bedroom and the bathroom was quite stylish and the bed was very comfortable. When... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
dexby, Manager at Dexby Town House, responded to this review

Dear guests, The Dexby Townhouse is a family run place, intended, like many other B&B's, to be the home away from home - informal, casual, friendly and always aiming to provide the best possible service. This is not a chain hotel, where people wear suits/uniforms and where there is little or no communication during guests' stays. Your host (myself) is... More 

Traunstein, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Our room (including the bathroom) was clean, spacious and had visibly undergone renovation. The bedroom windows provided very good protection against the noise from the street (although the rooms neighbors could be heard). There was no private parking but we were able to find a parking lot on the street. The castle could be walked within 20 minutes, so we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dexby, Manager at Dexby Town House, responded to this review

Dear guests, Thank you so much for your kind comments, we do appreciate then so. Unfortunately, we don't have any room to provide our guests with a private parking lot, but we are lucky enough that there is free parking on the main road and usually it is quite easy to park. Anyway, we are very happy you enjoyed your... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Even though I arrived late I was personally welcomed, the room was very clean, quiet and comfortable, I slept really well and had a great breakfast with lots of choice. And I got perfect directions for where I needed to go the next day. A great straightforward and pleasant place to stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
dexby, Manager at Dexby Town House, responded to this review

Dear Ms. H., Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback, it makes all proud of our service. It was lovely to meet you and we are very happy you enjoyed your time here with us. Best wishes from all of us! More 

West Sussex, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

Stayed here for my birthday back in december, was in 2 minds about staying on cathedral rd as i am from cardiff and its never somewhere id thought to be desirable! However the room was superb and absolutely huge as was the bathroom (shame there was no bath but even so lovely!) but the main thing for me was the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dexby, Manager at Dexby Town House, responded to this review

Dear guests, We are all so happy that you had a lovely stay with us and we do appreciate our kind words. We aim to do the best we can to provide great service and do whatever it needs to be done to improve. As long as we have a slow day, why not give the guests a bit more... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question