We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The St. David's Hotel & Spa

Havannah Street, Cardiff CF10 5SD, Wales
Hotel amenities
The St. David's Hotel & Spa
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #22 of 80 Hotels in Cardiff
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
GordonCambridge Cambridge, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

2,451 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    949
    690
    467
    230
    115
See reviews for
272
1,267
64
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (578)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (2451)
  • Mar-May only
    (660)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (700)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (547)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (544)
All months
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stay here every year, on a Saturday night whilst in Cardiff to watch the speedway GP. The hotel was always just OK but we kept going back due to the great location, then all of a sudden last year it got better! This year it was brilliant - the staff at reception, the bar and in the restaurant are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

It has been several years since we last stayed at this hotel and I am pleased to say that generally the hotel is looking as good as ever. Beautifully situated with fantastic views over Cardiff Bay and it's evident that the room we stayed in has been quite recently renovated there was not much to criticise as far as decor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Superb suite - a free and unsolicited upgrade. The service and staff were discreetly perfect. This hotel is about as good as it gets in the uk. The views were amazing. The wet-room was outstanding. The bed was excellent. The standards are sky high and everything was wonderful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Timpain, I am pleased overall you enjoyed your stay with us and everything that came with your room. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Graeme Barclay More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Room 120, opened onto balcony.Only complaint was that door has nothing to keep it open and some furniture outside would be good. wish the hotel would sort this out on all its rooms. Got engaged here so must have been good! Air con doesn't,t get cold enough but not too much of a problem, spa great as usual, staff really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Tina10029, Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and the service we provide. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Graeme Barclay More 

Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We went into the bar at 5.30 to have a drink before attending an awards ceremony in the bar. I went up to the bar to order and was told to take a seat and someone would come and take our order - there were four bar staff and we were the only customers; we sat, we waited (this was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear WestFarmhouse, Thank you for your feedback. I apologise for the service provided and incorrect information provided. I appreciate for you bringing this to our attention to afford is the opportunity to address this with our staff. I am shocked you were told that you were unable to dine outside please rest assured this matter will be addressed. Kind regards... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Really enjoyed staying at this hotel. Upgraded for the Deluxe room and had a beautiful balcony with a view of the bay. The restaurant is very pricey with drinks and food. Fully enjoyed the spa facilities. Excellent customer services. Looking forward to staying at The St David's next time I'm in Cardiff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear KrystleAkua1, Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted you enjoyed the room and view, the spa facilities and the service we provide. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Graeme Barclay More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I have stayed in this hotel on several occasions and re-read my review from when I stayed two years ago. It is interesting to see that my issues are really very much the same. On a positive note, it appears that I was probably given the same room as last time and although it is nearish to the lift and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear KateREBristol, Thank you for your feedback. It is disappointing to read your comments regarding the lunchtime buffet and that the issues remain the same. There has been a change in management within the last few months and menus is something that is a key focus. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I decided to book this hotel as a last minute treat for me and my partner as we had a child free weekend and I thoroughly enjoyed my evening there. Room was very nice with a lovely view of the bay. Staff were very friendly and willing to help whenever asked. Spa facilities are immaculate and could not have been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear AK198814, Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you were happy overall but must apologise for the problems with the robes. Your comments have been shared with my housekeeping team so that they can understand the impact of such basics on a stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Graeme Barclay More 

Llandysul, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Just returned from a relaxing two night break with my daughter. First impression of the hotel was that the outside needed a coat of paint. However, the inside didn't disappoint. The front of house staff were very attentive, polite and friendly. The breakfast was lovely, although I ordered two poached eggs, which were overcooked. The spa area was fabulous and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Diane J, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that your stay was disappointed by the room not being serviced. The information has been shared with the relevant managers to address with there teams. It is great to hear that you were happy with your initial welcome and relaxing day at the pool. We look forward... More 

Newcastle and Gateshead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent hotel, well placed for amenities of Cardiff Bay, beautiful views of Cardiff Bay, superior room with balcony, high quality food, quick and reliable room service, lively bar area with good outdoor space, very friendly and efficient staff sadly didn't have time to use the spa facilities - perhaps next time. Lovely 'extra' touches in the room - very comfortable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Christine S, Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted you enjoyed your business trip with us. Thank you for you comments from the high quality food to the service you received along with the extra touches in the room. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards. Graeme Barclay More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

803 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (549)
Viewed
View from room (67)
Viewed
Room/suite (141)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (129)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
Other (158)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (248)
Viewed
Amenities (47)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Bedroom (48)
Viewed
Executive Master Suite (72)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay