We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The St. David's Hotel & Spa

5.0 of 5
Hotel website
Havannah Street, Cardiff CF10 5SD, Wales
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The St. David\\
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

2,570 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    1,002
    719
    492
    235
    122
See reviews for
290
1,335
67
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (610)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (2570)
  • Mar-May only
    (660)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (820)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (546)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (544)
All months
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We booked this hotel for a short stay in Cardiff whilst visiting to watch the cricket. When we arrived at the hotel we were very lucky and were upgraded to a suite on the top floor (things like this never happen to us!). The room was spotless and very spacious. Loved the décor. The little extras were appreciated, particularly the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Went there with my daughter for afternoon tea. Restaurant is beautiful because it overlooks the bay found the restaurant very warm. Afternoon tea was good but not wonderful. Could not fault the cakes but some of the sandwiches were dry notabley the white bread brie & cranberry. The others were fine & a good selection. Smoked salmon, beef & horseradish... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Mgf, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to read that your afternoon tea experience did not live up to your expectations. I can assure you that your comments have been taken on board and will be addressed by our Executive Chef. I have passed your comments on to our Spa Manager to ensure the areas are checked... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed at this 5 star luxury hotel first week of august for two nights. Well what can I say mediocre at best right from the start. My partner and I upgraded to the honeymoon special (flowers on bed etc) to walk into our very basic standardised room with guess what... no honeymoon special in sight! We raised this query with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Angela1623, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to learn you were disappointed not receiving your package whilst staying with us. I have fed your feedback to our Head Housekeeper to address. I hope you will accept my apologies in this regard and I hope that it now has been resolved to your satisfactory. Kind regards Graeme Barclay More 

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is a very nice hotel let down by the parking arrangements. The hotel car park is very small and usually full. Valet parking is available but this was not made clear in the letter that I was sent confirming my booking and I think that it should be.

Was this review helpful? Yes
StDavidsH0tel, Manager at The St. David's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear philap Thank you for posting your review. I would like to apologise for your disappointment with our car park and to assure you that your comments regarding advising guests on confirmation will be shared with our reservations Team. I trust that you will not be deterred from returning to the hotel in the light of this experience. Kind regards... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I was surprised the rooms were not of a better standard tho the beds were a good size. The carpet was heavily stained in places. Breakfast was average at best. Staff seemed uninterested and otherwise busy. Very noisy during the night. Poor response on telephones.

Was this review helpful? Yes
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Loguey40, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with your stay. I can confirm that the hotel is currently undergoing a refurbishment program to address concerns such as yours. I shall ensure your other concerns are passed to the relevant managers to investigate and implement and necessary... More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Fantastic location with outstanding views and lovely,helpful staff but nearer 4 star than 5. If it was in an ordinary location it would not rate 5 stars........maybe 4.5! Spa nice but not exceptional, same for breakfast but very nice rooms with stunning views and we enjoyed our stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear kathi572013, Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us to celebrate your Fathers Birthday. I am glad to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel as well as the unique views that the position offers. We hope to welcome you back again very soon. Kind Regards Graeme Barclay General Manager More 

Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Hubby booked as surprise for our 40th wedding anniversary - Room pleasant enough - robes and towels disappointingly grey and hard .Breakfast service poor - clearing own plates as table too small to continue courses - 25 minute wait for poached eggs - although set up debit card at reception still asked to pay for drinks - all in all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear grandmamcbride, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am disappointed to read that you did not experience the high levels of service and comfort that we usually deliver to all our guests. I assure you that your comments will be passed to the relevant managers for any training needed. It is company policy not to... More 

Pembroke
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Visited here as a special break away with my partner after a stressful few months. I feel as though I have wasted a whole £130 on a room at this hotel. It was nothing special compared to a premier Inn only extra was the view and a ipod docking system which I don't own. The room itself wasn't anything special... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear emz91_12, Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry to learn that your stay with us did not meet your expectations in regards of the room, breakfast, spa facilities and car parking. I shall discus your comments with our team here at St David's. Kind regards Graeme Barclay More 

Los Angeles
Level Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Some good, some bad, some great. GOOD: the bathrooms are big, wonderful bathtub, the bed was wonderful and it was a beautiful building. BAD: I felt like the staff has been directed to be pompous. I met some really nice and helpful staff but the "sir" and "ma'am" came off as disingenuous and distancing. Also the restaurant of overpriced, they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear David E, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Am delighted that you St David's to be a "Truly Great Hotel" and thank you for your feedback regarding the manner of our staff. It is important to us that the staff are highly polite and courteous, yet friendly and approachable. With regards to the "buttcheeks" in... More 

Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We booked a suite since we were travelling with our son. When I first called to book I was told that I would have to book two rooms since no additional bed could be put in the room. Since I was not happy with this, I asked to speak to the hotel directly. They of course said that we could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear LadyEJ, Thank you for posting your review. I am sorry that you experienced difficulties during your initial booking process with central reservations and glad to read that when contacting the hotel direct, these were sorted out for you. I am sorry that you found your Junior Suite to be cramped when adding an extra bed to the room. Unfortunately,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

876 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (622)
Viewed
Room/suite (154)
Viewed
View from room (87)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (134)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
Other (190)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (248)
Viewed
Amenities (47)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Bedroom (48)
Viewed
Executive Master Suite (72)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.6 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#5 of 79 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 stars 1,482 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#16 of 79 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,944 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 79 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay