We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The River House Backpackers

59 Fitzhammon Embankment, Cardiff CF11 6AN, Wales
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The River House Backpackers
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The River House Backpackers
The River House Backpackers
The River House Backpackers
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    35
    8
    1
    4
See reviews for
17
39
82
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (272)
  • Mar-May only
    (47)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (98)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (56)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (71)
All months
Dinard, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had a four-night stay at Riverhouse Backpackers last week: 38 pupils aged 15 to 17 and 4 adults and everybody loved the place. The hostel is clean, well decorated and calm. The breakfast buffet is great: delicious and large quantity of food.The managers Abi and Charlie and the housekeepers were very welcoming and helpful. We are teachers at a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hostel is by far one of the best experiences of my 6 week trip. The owners make you feel incredibly welcome and offer free tea and coffee, as well as 1 pound dinners, free beer and cider night and free dessert night. The TV room is a social place to meet other travelers and also a great place to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lovecardiff1, Owner at The River House Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you , what a honest and lovely review. Hope to welcome you back again More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Apart from Cardiff being rather dull in general, with pretty unfriendly people... I usually enjoy the atmosphere and experience of hostel living. However, this place made my stay even worse! Honestly, I don't mind cats... But having one wake me up in the morning, IN MY ROOM, was really uncomfortable. Then watching it climbing on the breakfast table the following... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lovecardiff1, Owner at The River House Backpackers, responded to this review

I am repeating the previous answer as this is clearly written by a student from Newcastle University. Their group leader wrote the previous review titled ' Not a place for group' If you did find us 'rude' it was dealing with your obnoxious behaviour, that needed to be dealt with accordingly so you would not cause any distress to my... More 

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I cannot say that everything about this stay was negative, but it has certainly left a bad taste in my mouth. I stayed on two separate weekends with two groups of twenty students each. First, the good: The hostel was very clean. The breakfast was excellent. The night receptionist was lovely. The wifi signal was strong Despite these things, this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
lovecardiff1, Owner at The River House Backpackers, responded to this review

After being open for 8 years and doing our best to excelled in the industry, we were shocked to have such an unruly group/group leader stay with us. Upon their late arrival, our night shift staff tried to check the group in room by room. This is to ensure proper orientation and safety for each guest and also to let... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived early, 2am, they received us without issue. other than our noisey bunk mate that snored like a truck it was a very pleasant stay. Toilets and showers were clean. Decor was pleasant. Breakfast spread was amazing with yogurts cereals and toast. Free tea and coffee. Lovely lounge area. Pretty kitties.. do be aware of that if allergic. Very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
lovecardiff1, Owner at The River House Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, come and stay again ;) More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was not pleased with my stay. There was a cat while I was eating and it was cute but I don't need animals where I eat. The room was cold. The service was not good because the owners were rude. Breakfast should include eggs there was only bread shame. The sinks were broken and the ceilings were dirty. Do... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lovecardiff1, Owner at The River House Backpackers, responded to this review

I wish you had mentioned something during your stay as we would have been pleased to rectify anything while you were here but instead you said nothing. No eggs at breakfast - I'm sorry, did you confuse us with a hotel??? Taps broke- One tap was broken during your stay.It is fixed now. Newflash - Things break ;) Cold room... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Love this place. Almost definitely the best hostel I've stayed in. The location is great, and it is especially convenient for those traveling to Cardiff by train as it is about a 5 minute walk from Cardiff Central Station. Very close to the city centre without being too close for comfort (i.e. noise, traffic, what have you...). Owners Abi and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
lovecardiff1, Owner at The River House Backpackers, responded to this review

So happy you enjoyed Cardiff, Hope to welcome you back again soon ;) Kind Regards Abi and Charlie More 

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place is like no other. This place has a personality. Clean, friendly and the owners would go over the top to assist and make the stay here absolutely pleasant. Great location. Close to everything in Cardiff. Breakfast is delicious the regular treats that the hostel provides for the people staying is a fantastic idea. Absolutely amazing place with great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
lovecardiff1, Owner at The River House Backpackers, responded to this review

Lovely guests is what truly makes us special. Hope you come back to visit again soon Kind Regards Abi More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

It is a hostel with good location next to the stadium. The toilets are clean. Breakfast included and delicious. Every night with a surprise as free chocolate cake or chicken curry for just £2 each and all prepared by the owners!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
lovecardiff1, Owner at The River House Backpackers, responded to this review

Glad you liked it ! thank you for writing a kind review. See you soon. Abi and Charlie More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

tgis hostel is the best hostel by far the staff are really nice and they make everyone feel welcome cant fault this hostel for anything cause there is nothing bad to say the staff are there to help not to be shouted at or abused i would love to say thanks for wonderful times when i stay

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
lovecardiff1, Owner at The River House Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Riverhouse. See you soon ;) Kind Regards Abi and Charlie More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The River House Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River House Backpackers

Address: 59 Fitzhammon Embankment, Cardiff CF11 6AN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The River House Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The River House Backpackers Hotel Cardiff
The River House Backpackers Cardiff, Wales

59 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (46)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay