We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Coychurch, Bridgend CF35 6AF, Wales
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    47
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
62
70
4
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (233)
  • Mar-May only
    (60)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (56)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (63)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (54)
All months
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stay at this hotel...it is quite simply the best hotel around. Its not the perfect mix of modern & historical ambience, fantastic food and excellent facilities that makes this place so special... its the staff - who go out of their way to ensure your stay is perfect and that your every need is met. Just do it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our friends surprised us with a nights stay with dinner and breakfast. The hotel was very quiet . Upon arrival we were greated by a friendly helpful member of staff. The room was lovely and clean,however the balcony could of done with tidying up. The evening meal was superb. Again , friendly staff. We enjoyed chilling out in the beautiful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
coedmwstwr, Front Office Supervisor at Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are delighted to read that you had a comfortable and relaxing stay with us here at The Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel and had an enjoyable dining experience. Following your comments we have completed a full clean of the balcony area to the room that you stayed in... More 

Stamford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for 2 nights, wonderful staff from start to finish, not only in the hotel , but in restaurant, lovely smiley faces and nothing too much trouble. Hotel has a superb atmosphere and ambience, lounge has cosy fire and plenty of comfortable seating, great bar. Great bedroom,comfortable bed and large bathroom with bath and separate shower (room 8). Good free... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
coedmwstwr, Front Office Supervisor at Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review on your recent stay with us here at The Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel. We were delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyable dining experience. Our chefs were especially happy to see that their efforts to produce fine dining dishes using locally sourced products and... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First visit to this hotel to find at 2 o'clock our room was not ready but staff made us welcome with a free drink. We had a lovely room in the Coach House which was large, nicely furnished and with a large bathroom that judging by the style had recently been refurbished. Slightly disappointed with the food in the restaurant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
coedmwstwr, Front Office at Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate all feedback. I'm sorry your evening meal was not quite the experience you were expecting. I hope it will not deter you from coming back and using the hotel again. We hope are glad that you did enjoy your experience with us, overall and hope that... More 

Bridgend, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I visited here just after Mother's Day for afternoon tea with my family that I bought as a Mother's Day gift We was greeted by a lovely waiter and shown to a lovely laid up table in front of a open log fire absolutely lovely we was then brought our pots of tea and the most amazing food ever it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
coedmwstwr, Front Office Supervisor at Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed the afternoon tea and your mother was happy with her Mother's Day gift. We look forward to welcoming you all back in the future. More 

Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

regular diner at this restaurant, which is the best in the local area, gone up a level recently, would not hesitate to take clients here from afar, which is a rarity when based here!! great atmosphere in this place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
coedmwstwr, Front Office Supervisor at Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. Your kind comments and greatly appreciated. We are very please to read that you enjoyed your dining experience at our Eliot Restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future! More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Great hotel friendly staff and good clean rooms. The hotel has a great bar area where you can sit and tuck yourself away for privacy. the rooms have a bath robe and cuddly toy to keep you company. There was a bath in my room which was a nice touch. the room was clean and tidy with free wifi in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
coedmwstwr, Front Office Supervisor at Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey. We are very glad to know you were pleased with the hotel overall. The entire team at the Coed-Y-Mwstwr are fully committed to guest satisfaction and pride ourselves on our attention to detail and customer care. Viewing your ratings reassures us that we are maintaining the standards that... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015 via mobile

I stayed for one night for work and loved it. Service, food and cleanliness were at the highest level. I would recommend anyone to stay here for work or pleasure. I was very impressed with breakfast too, again consistently good service and presentation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
coedmwstwr, Front Office Supervisor at Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey. We are very glad to know you were pleased with the hotel overall. The entire team at the Coed-Y-Mwstwr are fully committed to guest satisfaction and pride ourselves on our attention to detail and customer care. Viewing your ratings reassures us that we are maintaining the standards that... More 

Lindlar, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

Stayed for 2 night in March 2015 in the famous Coed-Y-Mwstwr in Bridgend. Had a very nice room with big windows on the front site of the hotel entrance. Couln't belief the tight way to the hotel. Stuff is very friendly, typical British or better ...Welsh.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
coedmwstwr, Front Office at Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are glad to know you were pleased with the hotel and the service you have received. Viewing your comments confirms that we are attaining the high standard that we set for ourselves. We would like to thank you for your stay and continued business at the Coed-Y-Mwstwr... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

We arrived the day before the wedding for a 2 night stay. The approach roads were narrow, winding and dark at night so we decided to stay in the hotel for our evening meal. Both starters and main course were excellent - and we couldn't manage a sweet. Service was great and prices, including wine were reasonable for such good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
coedmwstwr, Front Office at Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We are glad to know you were pleased with the hotel overall. Viewing your comments confirms that we are attaining the high standard that we set for ourselves. We are looking into the few points you have raised and have discussed them with the relevant departments. We... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question