We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The George Hotel

George Street, Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park LD3 7LD, Wales
Hotel amenities
The George Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brecon
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
jobaar London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    54
    33
    27
    22
See reviews for
26
63
12
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (177)
  • Mar-May only
    (45)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (52)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (46)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (34)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here over Easter, and although I was less than impressed with our family room on the top floor, we did ultimately enjoy our trip thanks to the local area, good weather and the hotel breakfast! We arrived and found the hotel was very old, which we love, but in need of some refurbishment on the rather grand staircase... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Booked this hotel without reading any reviews, as the photos of the rooms on the website looked fine, and the description as "comfortable rooms, modern bathrooms" were all we expected for the mid range price we paid. We didn't check out the room until the evening, at which point it was too late to change as we had a tired... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Michelle F, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Amyharris13 Very sorry to read your review today. Can I firstly say that I have not had your details passed on and have gone through the emails, and junk, and cannot find an email from yourself. Please either call me on 01874 623422 or email again on enquiries@george-hotel.com and I will be pleased to help. Our hotel is having... More 

Pontyclun, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed here for a 2 night break with friends. Shown to my room dirty sheets left on floor from previous guests not a good start. Mould found around bath taps. Shower pole fell off wall. Dirty carpet . Medicine stains found on side table. Room not cleaned on second day. Lovely breakfast and staff.Shame lovely building needs updatng . Won't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michelle F, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sian509 Thank-you for your feedback, and I do apologise for showing you to your room before it had been finished by house keeping. We will be having a small face-lift on the rooms starting on Monday and our owners are having a full re-furbishment starting in the summer. If you would like to return to us after that please... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Had lunch at The George yesterday with family. Eaten there many times before & have been satisfied. Yesterday's experience was very poor, no welcome, no one brought menus or asked us if we would like a drink. We sat at a table previously used & no one wiped it down. We had to get our own cutlery & ask for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michelle F, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Starry2000 Very sorry to read the review of your lunch. I will be going through it at this weeks staff meeting and all front of house staff will be re-trained from start to finish. I would love for you to return, and if you chose to do so, please contact me directly on enquiries@george-hotel.com and I will make sure... More 

Pontyclun, South Wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel needs a total refurb, the staff were friendly but the cleanliness left a lot to be desired the only good thing was the breakfast. the location was perfect but that was the only good thing about this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michelle F, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 57Dawn17 Thanks for your review on TA. Sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations. The hotel is having a small face lift starting on Monday, and we are due a full refurbishment in the summer. If you would like to stay with us again, please contact me directly on enquiries@george-hotel.com and I will make... More 

Haslemere, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed for one night at Easter. I arrived at 7.30 pm and was greeted by someone who didn't want to welcome anyone, didn't try to smile and just went through the motions. I asked if food was available and was told they'd finished serving food at 7 pm, "because it was a bank holiday". The room (9) was in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michelle F, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pzeden I am sorry to read your review on TA. Our rooms are due to have a refurbishment this coming summer and myself and the staff are very excited about this as we know the potential this historic hotel can deliver. The staircase is listed and very large (built in 1645) so unfortunately we have to make the best... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the George as part of a recent conference in Brecon alongside some Belgium and German partners - Its pleasant enough, the staff are friendly, rooms were clean, bed was comfy and breakfast was really good, however I just felt the place had lots of potential and so much more could be done! The main areas that let... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Builth Wells, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I took my daughter here for lunch as I had previously had good food here. The lunch menu was a disappointment, I fancied a sandwich but the list of sandwiches was strange to me. I am not a fussy eater but the sandwich fillings seemed to be attempting to be gourmet and were unappealing to me. I chose a cheese... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michelle F, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Llanfair75 I am disappointed to read your review on TA in regards to your lunch. Yes we do try a bit harder to make our sandwich menu interesting, however it has proved pretty popular and we regularly get comments on how tasty they are. The salsa in your sandwich was a tomato chutney and unfortunately on that day we... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I recently stayed at The George Hotel. Brecon. I was very disappointed with the cleanliness standards of our room, especially our bathroom (please see photographs which I have uploaded for the management's perusal - as the management were not available when I requested to raise the issue during my stay). The carpet in the room was filthy, especially in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Michelle F, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jenny1234567890 I am very sorry to read your review on TA. We are doing a small face-lift on our bedrooms starting on Monday, with a fuller program of repairs due for the summer. Brecon is a hard water area and this does effect our shower heads from time to time. Unfortunately due to our location being in the centre... More 

Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I arrived at this hotel after a long trip and working day to find that my confirmed booking was misplaced and there wasn't a room ready for me. I was advised the management team had walked out. A very pleasant young woman who was working behind the bar, waitressing and having to deal with hotel guests at the same time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michelle F, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sharon H I am very sorry to read your review on TA, and can only apologise for the confusion of your booking on arrival. We are planning a face lift of the bedrooms this summer to improve our offer and I would be happy to offer you a stay once this has taken place. If you would like to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question