We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Brecon hotels

The George Hotel

George Street, Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park LD3 7LD, Wales
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The George Hotel to your Saves list
The George Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
59%
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Brecon
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
SteveTheAstonFan England, United Kingdom
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    48
    29
    19
    15
See reviews for
20
53
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Location is great for a touring base with market towns and the Beacons on your doorstep. Town centre is next road along and has good range of shops bars and restaurants. Hotel has friendly & helpful staff. Rooms are above average size and traditional style- some minor improvement wouldn't go amiss and this is planned in January. Pub has ample... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wales, UK
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
49 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in the main hotel building for one night. With the age of the property I would guess that they are limited to what improvements that they can do in the rooms. Our room was large and the bed was very comfortable with very clean sheets. The bathroom was adaquate for our needs although the water supply is a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carrigaline, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff were extremely helpful, we arrived after our luggage, this was already in our rooms waiting for is. The food was lovely and the service was fantastic. The hotel was able to cater for bikes too and they were left in a safe location. Overall a fantastic stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Initially booked the Wellington but switched to this place as they were more accommodating when we arranged the booking and so glad we did .Stayed here for two nights as we were attending a wedding near by.A charming hotel with very friendly and helpful staff, our rooms were at the top in the attic, loved the dips in the floor... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Barcelona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

An ancient, right and a spacious hotel room. In relation to the kindness one finds throughout Wales, staff may be a little bit cold and distant, but the location is excellent and they serve a lovely breakfast. The hotel pub is also very good for dinner, although a bit expensive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
midlands england
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the George for two nights, being part of the support team for the Sea Summit Challenge, The room we had was room 9, and no complaints could be made, the bed was very comfortable, the decoration was in good condition, the bathroom large. The staff were very friendly and the food looked very good, but cant comment... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I held a function at the hotel, the room was excellent and lots of character, the bar staff and assistant manager were excellent and constantly checked everyone was ok. However the hot buffet we ordered came out and one dish, the rice was missing. Does not sound a major complaint but if you are having curry and mushroom stroganoff it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager-GeorgeHotel, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rooney1234 Very sorry to read some of your issues on TA. Yes, we did make an error on the rice during your buffet (it was omitted from our copy at the hotel - this booking was taken some time ago under previous management so we were going from that). I regret not going through absolutely everything with your prior... More

Braintree, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed room 2 awful ensuite stained carpet painted wall tiles now peeling rusty dirty shower frame and loose cistetrn handle. Some attempt to upgrade main bedroom with new wallpaper and paint. Good quality cooked breakfast well located in centre of Brecon. No parking permit available so had to renew the car parking ticket by 8 am in the long stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We went to this hotel for a meal a few weeks. We enjoyed our meal. The staff were friendly and the food was just like pub food. We would go back again. We couldn't find many places to eat we thought it was a wetherspoons.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

One of the better pubs over the jazz weekend, friendly staff. Clean and tidy, good food. Plenty of beer. Large area with nice beer garden. Nice decor, right in the centre of all the action and centre of town, plenty of parking close by. Plenty of security.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The George Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: George Street, Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park LD3 7LD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Brecon
The George Hotel Brecon, Wales

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)