We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Brecon hotels

The George Hotel

George Street, Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park LD3 7LD, Wales
Hotel amenities
The George Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added The George Hotel to your Saves list
59%
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Brecon
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
ypressalientfundi Crawley, United Kingdom
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    48
    30
    19
    15
See reviews for
20
53
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (149)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (52)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (42)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed one night. Clean, quiet, comfortable bed, friendly service, superb breakfast. (Didn't have my evening meal there, so I cannot comment on that.) Main public areas are a bit drab & that threadbare & torn carpet on the main staircase does need replacing before the next summer season. Parking in the main car about 5-10 mins walk away next to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

Location is great for a touring base with market towns and the Beacons on your doorstep. Town centre is next road along and has good range of shops bars and restaurants. Hotel has friendly & helpful staff. Rooms are above average size and traditional style- some minor improvement wouldn't go amiss and this is planned in January. Pub has ample... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wales, UK
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
50 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We stayed in the main hotel building for one night. With the age of the property I would guess that they are limited to what improvements that they can do in the rooms. Our room was large and the bed was very comfortable with very clean sheets. The bathroom was adaquate for our needs although the water supply is a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Carrigaline, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

The staff were extremely helpful, we arrived after our luggage, this was already in our rooms waiting for is. The food was lovely and the service was fantastic. The hotel was able to cater for bikes too and they were left in a safe location. Overall a fantastic stay

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Initially booked the Wellington but switched to this place as they were more accommodating when we arranged the booking and so glad we did .Stayed here for two nights as we were attending a wedding near by.A charming hotel with very friendly and helpful staff, our rooms were at the top in the attic, loved the dips in the floor... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Barcelona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

An ancient, right and a spacious hotel room. In relation to the kindness one finds throughout Wales, staff may be a little bit cold and distant, but the location is excellent and they serve a lovely breakfast. The hotel pub is also very good for dinner, although a bit expensive.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
midlands england
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We stayed at the George for two nights, being part of the support team for the Sea Summit Challenge, The room we had was room 9, and no complaints could be made, the bed was very comfortable, the decoration was in good condition, the bathroom large. The staff were very friendly and the food looked very good, but cant comment... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

I held a function at the hotel, the room was excellent and lots of character, the bar staff and assistant manager were excellent and constantly checked everyone was ok. However the hot buffet we ordered came out and one dish, the rice was missing. Does not sound a major complaint but if you are having curry and mushroom stroganoff it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager-GeorgeHotel, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rooney1234 Very sorry to read some of your issues on TA. Yes, we did make an error on the rice during your buffet (it was omitted from our copy at the hotel - this booking was taken some time ago under previous management so we were going from that). I regret not going through absolutely everything with your prior... More

Braintree, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Stayed room 2 awful ensuite stained carpet painted wall tiles now peeling rusty dirty shower frame and loose cistetrn handle. Some attempt to upgrade main bedroom with new wallpaper and paint. Good quality cooked breakfast well located in centre of Brecon. No parking permit available so had to renew the car parking ticket by 8 am in the long stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We went to this hotel for a meal a few weeks. We enjoyed our meal. The staff were friendly and the food was just like pub food. We would go back again. We couldn't find many places to eat we thought it was a wetherspoons.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Do you own or manage The George Hotel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: George Street, Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park LD3 7LD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Brecon
The George Hotel Brecon, Wales

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay