We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   93 Newry Street, Holyhead LL65 1HU, Wales
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Wavecrest to your Saves list
Wavecrest
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
61%
Ranked #10 of 22 Holyhead B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
pete n Wednesbury, United Kingdom
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    9
    12
    6
    5
See reviews for
6
21
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wednesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed there for one the staff were very helpful .The room was very good nice to see the sea from the room.The breakfast was great filled me for the rest of the day.Would stay there again.Big thank you to the staff at Wavecrest for a nice stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Just stayed for one night and although I was expecting a basic single room,was surprised that I was upgraded ,free of charge to a large double en-suite. I would not be guaranteed for this to hppen during busy season though! Breakfast was lovely and very filling. Indeed I did not require lunch as I was too full to consume anymore... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

As a couple of itinerant musicians on our way from the UK to Dublin via Holyhead we had mistakenly thought that we were booked in to Wavecrest (our fault). In spite of our late unannounced arrival the owner could not have been more helpful and friendly. The following morning he had already made a take-away breakfast for us before we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Peaceful and comfortable bed. A big breakfast to fill you up for the day. Easy walk to ferry and pubs. The promenade is a gentle walk which leads to the long breakwater. Plenty of information from the friendly owner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Treated well by all involved. I was given good recommendations for places to visit. There are some lovely places close by non more so than the South Stack. Owner drove me there without any charge. I phoned direct for a cheaper deal and it really was a good deal. Breakfast was great with a lovely veggie option. Will be back... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My husband and I traveled from Lancaster Pennsylvania to Dublin and then Wales and then London this spring. We hadn't done great planning and needed to reach a suburb of London by a certain time by train. Unfortunately, our assumptions about train schedules were incorrect but the Wavecrest owner came to our rescue by taking care of booking the train... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Had a warm enough welcome and the breakfast was superb. Information sheet in the room was a bonus for food in the area but I must sadly say the town is very tired and the room equally so. I have no complaints about the cleanliness but, and I've stayed in many, many B&Bs, this is over priced for what it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Maryport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Was greeted with "I have been trying to contact you at home as there is a problem with your booked room". Bit pointless ringing me in the Lake District when I am away I would have thought. With me hobbling on my walking stick he walked us a few hundred yards away to another B&B that he had got us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
holyheadcarl, Owner at Wavecrest, responded to this review

I attempted to telephone.(you had not forwarded your mobile) as the en-suite WC was leaking and had to be closed. I decided to re-loctae in a similar establishment that uses Late Rooms agency. I offered you a lift in my car for the short walk,however offered to walk. I carried your cases and offered my apolgises. Very unfair to mark... More

greenock
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This place was ok for a night or 2 but had some issues. Firstly wasn't very cheap considering it wasn't en suite. The door to our room was very very hard to close as it was seriously out of line with the lock. The shower wasn't great either and parking can be hard. The breakfast was good and the staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Despite poor feedback of Holyhead I was pleasantly surprised of the area. The owner was friendly and advised me to hire a bike and explore Holy Island. The coastline has to be one of the most stunning in UK. Cliffs and beaches. The country park is also a lovely too . Wavecrest caters mainly for Ferry customers I was here... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to Wavecrest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wavecrest

Also Known As:
Wavecrest Hotel
Wavecrest Hotel Holyhead
Wavecrest Holyhead, Wales
Address: 93 Newry Street, Holyhead LL65 1HU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Holyhead
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Holyhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wavecrest 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to Ferry Port and town centre. Ideal stopver for Ireland. Cater all timings. En-suite rooms available. TV in all rooms with multi choice. Teamaking and extra facilities in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Wavecrest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wavecrest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.