We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Witchingham Bed & Breakfast

Certificate of Excellence
20 Walthew Avenue, Holyhead LL65 1AF, Wales
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Witchingham Bed & Breakfast
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Witchingham Bed & Breakfast
Add Photo

54 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    32
    16
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
21
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (54)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
St Helens UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Rooms were very comfortable and had all the usual facilities. Bike storage was made available and basic breakfast provided for an extra £4 which was sufficient for our needs. We used this place as a start for a cycle tour of North Wales.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claire R, Owner at Witchingham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind comments, I hope you enjoyed the remainder of your bike tour Best regards Claire & Jo More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

Lovely B and B with a very welcoming host. I particularly liked the self service breakfast which meant that we didn't have to decide in advance whether we wanted to eat or what time we would have breakfast. Also, we asked if we could have a later checkout as I was there to meet the late boat from Dublin and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Claire R, Owner at Witchingham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind comments, we try to help out if we can with individual guest requests. Hope to see you again soon, Regards Claire & Jo More 

Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

Really nice B&B with a very comfortable room that has most of the things that you could need. It's really easy to park the car just in front of the house. Unfortunately the breakfast is not that much so we don't recommend to take it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greymouth, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

Witchingham B&B was more than we expected with privacy, lovely large bathroom, cosy bed and warm hospitality. Great breakfast excellent locality to town & harbour attractions. Very helpful tips on what to do & where to go. All-in-all a memorable stay. Thanks Claire & Jo

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

Decided to have a last minute trip to Holyhead and visit south stacks light house and stumbled upon this b &b. What a lovely little place. The rooms and bathrooms are good sized and clean. The bed was lovely and comfy. The communication from the b&b to myself was such a perfect extra and Jo came and introduced herself that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Claire R, Owner at Witchingham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Many thanks for all your kind comments and your recommendation, we pride ourselves on providing clean and comfortable rooms and try to ensure that we contact each guest with useful information before they come to us. More 

Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in October. I had room 1 on the ground floor which was a spacious twin with its own en suite shower. The room was quite dark with two small windows that looked onto the wall alongside the drive. To be fair I was only there overnight and it was a miserable day. Breakfast was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claire R, Owner at Witchingham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Many Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We have updated the bathrooms in rooms 6, 7 and room 2 & 4 shared bathroom. Room 1 is next on the list as it does have some damp, in fact we are due to have a new bathroom suite and shower delivered in the next couple of days for... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

We would definitely recommend the Witchingham B&B. Our room was no 7 on the second floor which had the bonus of a corner bath in the en-suite bathroom. You can see the sea out of the bathroom window. Both the bedroom and the bathroom were immaculate, and the bed was comfortable. We decided to have breakfast out in the end... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claire R, Owner at Witchingham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to write us a review, it was lovely to hear that you had such a lovely 5th Anniversary and we hope to see you for your 6th! More 

Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

I booked this B&B online as it was convenient for the ferry. Contact with the owner by email and in person was excellent and the room was really nice. When we arrived though I found it difficult to get my heavy suitcase to the third floor room and off road parking was limited. Breakfast was extra and was disappointing in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claire R, Owner at Witchingham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thankyou for your feedback, without hearing about any problems, we cannot rectify them. I will ensure that the hot water boiler in the dining room is fixed and ensure that if there is only one choice of bread, that we provide white or 50/50. We do provide off road parking but as you say, it is a long drive up... More 

Young, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

Comfortable, within short taxi ride from ferry terminal or 20 minute walk.Serve yourself breakfast and pay extra. This was booked for convenience while waiting for hire care next morning. I wouldn't stay in Holyhead for the excitement.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claire R, Owner at Witchingham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

I am pleased that you found the room comfortable and you are right, Holyhead is not the most exciting place to stay! However, we have some lovely walks and beautiful scenery close by for those who enjoy a more relaxing break. I am sorry that our self service breakfast didn't suit. We don't include it in the price as many... More 

Villingen-Schwenningen, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

It's been our third time to spend a night at Witchinghams and we always felt it's a pity we're leaving for the ferry or train the next day: they make you feel really welcome in the rooms once you managed the stairs with your luggage. The rooms are perfectly clean and there's room enough in the wardrobe or drawers to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claire R, Owner at Witchingham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Many thanks for your all your kind comments, it is lovely that you keep returning to us - we consider that a great compliment! Hope to see you again soon. Claire More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay