We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Witchingham Bed & Breakfast

2.5 of 5 20 Walthew Avenue, Holyhead LL65 1AF, Wales
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Witchingham Bed & Breakfast
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Witchingham Bed & Breakfast
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    15
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
19
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (51)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Greymouth, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Witchingham B&B was more than we expected with privacy, lovely large bathroom, cosy bed and warm hospitality. Great breakfast excellent locality to town & harbour attractions. Very helpful tips on what to do & where to go. All-in-all a memorable stay. Thanks Claire & Jo

Was this review helpful? Yes
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

Decided to have a last minute trip to Holyhead and visit south stacks light house and stumbled upon this b &b. What a lovely little place. The rooms and bathrooms are good sized and clean. The bed was lovely and comfy. The communication from the b&b to myself was such a perfect extra and Jo came and introduced herself that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claire R, Owner at Witchingham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Many thanks for all your kind comments and your recommendation, we pride ourselves on providing clean and comfortable rooms and try to ensure that we contact each guest with useful information before they come to us. More

Redditch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in October. I had room 1 on the ground floor which was a spacious twin with its own en suite shower. The room was quite dark with two small windows that looked onto the wall alongside the drive. To be fair I was only there overnight and it was a miserable day. Breakfast was a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claire R, Owner at Witchingham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Many Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We have updated the bathrooms in rooms 6, 7 and room 2 & 4 shared bathroom. Room 1 is next on the list as it does have some damp, in fact we are due to have a new bathroom suite and shower delivered in the next couple of days for... More

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

We would definitely recommend the Witchingham B&B. Our room was no 7 on the second floor which had the bonus of a corner bath in the en-suite bathroom. You can see the sea out of the bathroom window. Both the bedroom and the bathroom were immaculate, and the bed was comfortable. We decided to have breakfast out in the end... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claire R, Owner at Witchingham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to write us a review, it was lovely to hear that you had such a lovely 5th Anniversary and we hope to see you for your 6th! More

Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

I booked this B&B online as it was convenient for the ferry. Contact with the owner by email and in person was excellent and the room was really nice. When we arrived though I found it difficult to get my heavy suitcase to the third floor room and off road parking was limited. Breakfast was extra and was disappointing in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claire R, Owner at Witchingham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thankyou for your feedback, without hearing about any problems, we cannot rectify them. I will ensure that the hot water boiler in the dining room is fixed and ensure that if there is only one choice of bread, that we provide white or 50/50. We do provide off road parking but as you say, it is a long drive up... More

Young, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

Comfortable, within short taxi ride from ferry terminal or 20 minute walk.Serve yourself breakfast and pay extra. This was booked for convenience while waiting for hire care next morning. I wouldn't stay in Holyhead for the excitement.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claire R, Owner at Witchingham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

I am pleased that you found the room comfortable and you are right, Holyhead is not the most exciting place to stay! However, we have some lovely walks and beautiful scenery close by for those who enjoy a more relaxing break. I am sorry that our self service breakfast didn't suit. We don't include it in the price as many... More

Villingen-Schwenningen, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014 via mobile

It's been our third time to spend a night at Witchinghams and we always felt it's a pity we're leaving for the ferry or train the next day: they make you feel really welcome in the rooms once you managed the stairs with your luggage. The rooms are perfectly clean and there's room enough in the wardrobe or drawers to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claire R, Owner at Witchingham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Many thanks for your all your kind comments, it is lovely that you keep returning to us - we consider that a great compliment! Hope to see you again soon. Claire More

Outwell, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

Clean, comfortable, good value and with extremely helpful and friendly staff/owners. The only (small) minus was the lack of a hot breakfast option, due to the owners not being on site (presumably because they have to have other jobs as well!). Having said that, "the help-yourself" alternative was more than adequate. Would definitely recommend Witchingham.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claire R, Owner at Witchingham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Many Thanks for your kind comments. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I am sorry that we do not provide a hot breakfast. We do inform all guests before they book a room and display that information on the website and booking detail. We used to provide a cooked breakfast but unfortunately, as many guests are in... More

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

We only had a very brief (1 night) stay at the Witchingham B&B, but it was very comfortable & clean. Only a short walk into town for food or pubs and our host was lovely. The location is very quiet, but so convenient to town and the ferry port. Would highly recommend the Witchingham.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claire R, Owner at Witchingham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thankyou so much for recommending our B&B More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014 via mobile

Loved staying at witchingham b&b it made it less stressful getting ferry to dublin in the morning,close to ferry port. We got a warm welcome too. Has everything you need in room brew tackle soaps and shower gels tv lovely comfy bed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claire R, Owner at Witchingham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Many Thanks for your kind comments Claire More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Witchingham Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Witchingham Bed & Breakfast

Address: 20 Walthew Avenue, Holyhead LL65 1AF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Holyhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Witchingham Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Witchingham Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Witchingham Bed & Breakfast Holyhead, Wales

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay