We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 28 Abergavenny B&Bs / inns

Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant

3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Brecon Road, Abergavenny NP8 1EP, Wales (Formerly the Pantrhiwgoch)
Hotel amenities
Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant to your Saves list
76%
Ranked #10 of 28 Abergavenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
Mike G
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    57
    22
    9
    4
See reviews for
22
82
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (150)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (64)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (42)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
There are newer reviews for Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The lady on reception was wonderful couldn't do enough for you, she was the only one on at the time so ran round doing everything well done. Room was nice we upgraded to a better view, which was nice you would have appreciated more if you were staying for longer, the bed was comfortable and the room had all the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
cornel v, Front Office Manager at Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we have passed the comments to Housekeeping and staff. Many thanks, Llanwenarth. We hope you can stay longer next time... More

loughton
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

The room was ok. Bathroom very small spot lights only one working out of three, toilet flush button broke wrong plug for sink . Shower soap dispenser dirty full of age old soap glass shelf and sink pedestal could all do with a good clean.To much clutter everywhere. On the other hand staff are very helpful breakfast was delicious. But... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
cornel v, Front Office Manager at Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant, responded to this review

We do apologise for the room having these problems, thank you for letting us know. These things have now been corrected. Please would you also let us know, what you mean by 'clutter everywhere', where was it. Again, we do apologise, Thank you, we look forward to hearing from you, Kind regards, Llanwenarth More

Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

I booked and paid for a one nights stay in a double room with balcony overlooking river. It was to celebrate our 30th Wedding anniversary. When we arrived we were told that they had no booking for us. I was so upset that our special day had been ruined but all they would say was sorry and offered nothing to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cornel v, Manager at Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and once again I am sorry you feel this way, as I pointed out on your arrival we never book a room without sending out a confirmation e-mail which you said you never received. I have searched and cannot find any booking from yourselves and as you cant remember when you booked this or who... More

Horndean
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

We spent a couple of nights and found the location to be excellent. We had a room with a view overlooking the River Usk and the the hills beyond. Conveniently close by road to Abergavenny town (about two miles away), Crickhowell and Brecon. The room was clean and tidy. The bathroom, although adequate, had a shower that had a water... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cornel v, Front Office Manager at Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant, responded to this review

Thankyou for your great review, Kind regards, Llanwenarth More

Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

This stay was a Groupon deal. The outside of the hotel does need a bit of a tidy up. I can see that work is being done to improve the hotel. The room was clean and tidy and was cleaned every day. We upgraded to a balcony room which was lovely but the garden did need some attention. This will... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cornel v, Front Office Manager at Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we strive constantly for improvement, and are fixing some cosmetics around the old 16th century building, whilst framing the magical view overlooking the River Usk. Many kind regards, Llanwenarth Hotel More

Staffordshire, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

The hotel has lovely views over the river, a good restaurant and nice staff. Room 203 has a small balcony overlooking the river. However the room and bathroom are very small. The heated towel rail in the bathroom would not turn off and consequently the room was also very hot. The shower had very poor water pressure. Despite these comments... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
cornel v, Front Office Manager at Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, We do not have the Strongest water pressure its true, but 'Very poor' seems a very harsh. We are very grateful for your feedback and have corrected to Valve on the tower rail, thank you for bringing this to light. We hope you return soon, Many kind regards, Llanwenarth More

Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

My Husband and I were joined by 13 other family members and friends for a surprise Sunday Lunch for my cousin and wifes 50 Wedding Anniversary. We received a warm welcome by staff and it was arranged for us wait in the conservatory until cousin and wife arrived. Sunday Lunch is either 2 or 3 courses (your choice) found the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
cornel v, Front Office Manager at Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, We are extremely happy you enjoyed the meal and anniversary. Thank you for your positive review/feedback. Many kind regards, Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant More

Welling, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

My wife and friends stay at this Hotel back in June 2014 I can recommend if you stay here book a room with a balcony the views are fantastic the only down side is the rooms could de with updating but I dont want to put the place down they are doing improvements as the new owner only took over... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cornel v, Front Office Manager at Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Many thanks for your review and feedback, we have 17 rooms, 15 of them overlooking the river and 10 of them with balcony's. We hope you return soon, Kind regards, Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

The hotel is friendly and the room functional and adequate with balcony views across wonderful open countryside. Breakfast has an excellent menu choice and is very good. The hotel allows access to the areas of surrounding natural beauty in the Sugar Loaf mountain, Llangors Lake and Pwll Frach water falls near Talgarth, a walker's paradise.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
cornel v, Front Office Manager at Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for your review, we are spoilt with views at the Llanwenarth. Many kind regards, Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant More

Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here having got a deal off the internet. The views from the rooms with balconies are beautiful overlooking the river usk and the hills beyond really pretty. Considering the hotel is on a main road room was very quiet. Room itself was very clean. Bathroom was tiny! Bed was very uncomfortable could feel every spring... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cornel v, Front Office Manager at Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for your review, we do attract many people after 'peace and a break' from it all, we are happy to hear you enjoyed yourselves and hope you may visit in the future. Kind regards, Llanwenarth More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant

Address: Brecon Road, Abergavenny NP8 1EP, Wales (Formerly the Pantrhiwgoch)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant Abergavenny, Wales

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay