We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 28 Abergavenny B&Bs / inns

Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant

3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Brecon Road, Abergavenny NP8 1EP, Wales (Formerly the Pantrhiwgoch)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant to your Saves list
Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
76%
Ranked #13 of 28 Abergavenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    50
    22
    9
    3
See reviews for
22
75
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
loughton
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The room was ok. Bathroom very small spot lights only one working out of three, toilet flush button broke wrong plug for sink . Shower soap dispenser dirty full of age old soap glass shelf and sink pedestal could all do with a good clean.To much clutter everywhere. On the other hand staff are very helpful breakfast was delicious. But... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I booked and paid for a one nights stay in a double room with balcony overlooking river. It was to celebrate our 30th Wedding anniversary. When we arrived we were told that they had no booking for us. I was so upset that our special day had been ruined but all they would say was sorry and offered nothing to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cornel v, Manager at Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and once again I am sorry you feel this way, as I pointed out on your arrival we never book a room without sending out a confirmation e-mail which you said you never received. I have searched and cannot find any booking from yourselves and as you cant remember when you booked this or who... More

Horndean
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent a couple of nights and found the location to be excellent. We had a room with a view overlooking the River Usk and the the hills beyond. Conveniently close by road to Abergavenny town (about two miles away), Crickhowell and Brecon. The room was clean and tidy. The bathroom, although adequate, had a shower that had a water... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This stay was a Groupon deal. The outside of the hotel does need a bit of a tidy up. I can see that work is being done to improve the hotel. The room was clean and tidy and was cleaned every day. We upgraded to a balcony room which was lovely but the garden did need some attention. This will... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Staffordshire, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel has lovely views over the river, a good restaurant and nice staff. Room 203 has a small balcony overlooking the river. However the room and bathroom are very small. The heated towel rail in the bathroom would not turn off and consequently the room was also very hot. The shower had very poor water pressure. Despite these comments... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My Husband and I were joined by 13 other family members and friends for a surprise Sunday Lunch for my cousin and wifes 50 Wedding Anniversary. We received a warm welcome by staff and it was arranged for us wait in the conservatory until cousin and wife arrived. Sunday Lunch is either 2 or 3 courses (your choice) found the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Welling, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and friends stay at this Hotel back in June 2014 I can recommend if you stay here book a room with a balcony the views are fantastic the only down side is the rooms could de with updating but I dont want to put the place down they are doing improvements as the new owner only took over... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is friendly and the room functional and adequate with balcony views across wonderful open countryside. Breakfast has an excellent menu choice and is very good. The hotel allows access to the areas of surrounding natural beauty in the Sugar Loaf mountain, Llangors Lake and Pwll Frach water falls near Talgarth, a walker's paradise.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here having got a deal off the internet. The views from the rooms with balconies are beautiful overlooking the river usk and the hills beyond really pretty. Considering the hotel is on a main road room was very quiet. Room itself was very clean. Bathroom was tiny! Bed was very uncomfortable could feel every spring... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HARROGATE
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for two nights while visiting relatives. Room was good, clean with everything we needed except for one thing which I find is missing in a lot of hotels - a grab rail for the shower; ok for youngsters but at 73 I need something to hold on to. The view from the balcony was amazing - river with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant

Address: Brecon Road, Abergavenny NP8 1EP, Wales (Formerly the Pantrhiwgoch)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant Abergavenny, Wales

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Abergavenny with
any amenities