We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 28 Abergavenny B&Bs / inns

Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant

3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Brecon Road, Abergavenny NP8 1EP, Wales (Formerly the Pantrhiwgoch)
Hotel amenities
Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant to your Saves list
Ranked #9 of 28 Abergavenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
wanda12 chester cheshire
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    58
    22
    9
    4
See reviews for
22
85
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (154)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (64)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (46)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
chester cheshire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had 2 nights here for £59 a night including breakfast - this was for a room with balcony over the river. The room has been refurbished recently and is very pleasant and comfortable. The bathroom is small but very easy and pleasant to use. You might struggle if overweight though (actually not may, you will). The river views are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just got back home from a wonderful four day break at this delightful Hotel and Restaurant . The staff were so friendly and helpful, our room was larger than we expected ,the Bed was more comfortable than our own and having a room with a balcony overlooking the river was worth the £5 a night extra. We were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for the weekend with friends. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful from check in right through to departure. Ask for a room at the back, the view from the room is stunning. Breakfast was lovely too. Would definitely return. Excellent walking territory, a few miles from Abergervenny so everything great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
cornel v, Front Office Manager at Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, the area is amazing and we always try to ensure to show case it, kind regards, Llanwenarth Team More

wales
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
41 hotel reviews
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I spent 2 glorious days here last weekend. We try when possible to have a hotel break once a month and we both agreed this was the best this year by far! We had a lovely room, light airy and clean with a fab little balcony looking out onto the river Usk. The only thing I would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
cornel v, Front Office Manager at Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review, we look forward to seeing you again in the future! Kind regards, Llanwenarth Team More

Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

We booked to stay at this hotel for one night. Its in the most beautiful surroundings and our room was overlooking the river. The bar staff were lovely and friendly. The breakfast was beautiful, the produce cooked was great quality. Our room was lovely and clean, we would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
cornel v, Front Office Manager at Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for your great words, we hope to see you again in the future, kind regards, Llanwenarth More

Isle of Lewis, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
43 hotel reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

We booked a table for two last Saturday to belatedly celebrate my husband's birthday. (I had been ill with flu for several weeks). We enjoyed a drink in the reception area before being shown to our table. I only ordered a very small meal as my appetite hadn't returned but that was no problem to them. We both enjoyed our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
cornel v, Front Office Manager at Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay in the hotel, kind regards, Llanwenarth Team More

lichfield
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

We had not stayed in Wales for a while despite our welsh roots! We had a perfect view from our bedroom with balcony. Beautiful surroundings. Our evening meal was amazing with friendly and attentive staff. Breakfast was excellent with a very good varied menu. Will defintely stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cornel v, Front Office Manager at Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review, Kind regards, Llanwenarth More

United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

We stayed for one night in September and thought that this hotel, at £69 for a double room and very hearty breakfast, was good value. The rooms are small, but clean and adequate and their saving grace must be that each of the riverside rooms have french doors onto a little veranda with table and chairs for two. The veranda... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
cornel v, Front Office Manager at Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for the feedback and comments, we believe the Llanwenarth is great value for money. Hope to see you again, kind regards, Llanwenarth More

Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

My wife and I stayed for two nights in September to visit the Food Festival in Abergavenny. Reception was handled by the lady in the pub and handled well. Very friendly and helpful. The room was smallish but suited our needs just fine. Cleaned well daily. The restaurant was a definite plus. Breakfast was good but not exciting. Maybe just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
cornel v, Front Office Manager at Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for your fantastic comments, we hope to have the opportunity to greet you again in the future, kind regards, Llanwenarth More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

What a disappointment!!!!!! Despite visiting the Llanwenarth Hotel and Restaurant several times in the past including a celebration for our Ruby Wedding Anniversary, this evening's experience was a total letdown. Despite booking a table for 7:15 pm we were still waiting to be seated at 7:55 pm and would still have been waiting now if my husband hadn't brought it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
cornel v, Front Office Manager at Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, We are extremely sorry for your experience, and apologise for this. We were severely understaffed which was very last minute and unexpected through sudden illness/injury. Our staff that day dealt with the situation as best as they could, However we never wish this to effect our clients experience in a negative way. Please contact us and ask for... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant

Address: Brecon Road, Abergavenny NP8 1EP, Wales (Formerly the Pantrhiwgoch)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant Abergavenny, Wales

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay