We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 28 Abergavenny B&Bs / inns

Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant

3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Brecon Road, Abergavenny NP8 1EP, Wales (Formerly the Pantrhiwgoch)
Hotel amenities
Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant to your Saves list
76%
Ranked #14 of 28 Abergavenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Saabselr Charlotte, North Carolina
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    55
    22
    9
    4
See reviews for
22
78
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (146)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (64)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (38)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My wife and I stayed for two nights in September to visit the Food Festival in Abergavenny. Reception was handled by the lady in the pub and handled well. Very friendly and helpful. The room was smallish but suited our needs just fine. Cleaned well daily. The restaurant was a definite plus. Breakfast was good but not exciting. Maybe just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

What a disappointment!!!!!! Despite visiting the Llanwenarth Hotel and Restaurant several times in the past including a celebration for our Ruby Wedding Anniversary, this evening's experience was a total letdown. Despite booking a table for 7:15 pm we were still waiting to be seated at 7:55 pm and would still have been waiting now if my husband hadn't brought it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
cornel v, Front Office Manager at Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, We are extremely sorry for your experience, and apologise for this. We were severely understaffed which was very last minute and unexpected through sudden illness/injury. Our staff that day dealt with the situation as best as they could, However we never wish this to effect our clients experience in a negative way. Please contact us and ask for... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

My wife and I booked in using a voucher to make it more affordable for us. It has been our experience in the past that voucher customers receive a lesser standard of service or quality. Definitely not the case here. The manager and staff were gracious and polite at all times, nothing seemed to be too much trouble. The room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
cornel v, Front Office Manager at Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for your great review, we are very proud and of the positives mentioned in it, Kind regards, Llanwenarth Hotel & riverside restuarant More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My partner and I recently bought a voucher for a weekend at the llanwenarth and desperate for a weekend away, we lowered our expectations. As we pulled into the car park, we were pleasantly surprised by the beautiful scenery, and although on a main road, we did not find this to be a problem as it made our travelling around... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cornel v, Front Office Manager at Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Si/Madam, Thank you for your great review, the sharing Lamb platter has become a big hit on our A la carte menu. Very happy you enjoyed what the Brecon Beacons National Park and surrounding area has to offer! Kind regards, Llanwenarth More

Cardiff
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I visited this restaurant for lunch with friends yesterday . I had not visited previously . The dining room with a window table overlooking the River was stunning today . The sun was shining and t really was a beautiful location. The food was well cooked and plentiful. The hotel is undergoing some minor refurbishment and some parts are still... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
cornel v, Front Office Manager at Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for your review, Kind regards, Llanwenarth More

Blackwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As a group of 8 visiting the annual food festival, we chose this hotel for the location. The hotel is only 3 miles outside Abergavenny so ideal for a short taxi ride into town. The Hotel is calm and relaxing. Bedrooms were clean comfortable, would recomend the balcony room with its lovely views. Have re booked for next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
cornel v, Front Office Manager at Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we hope you can visit again, Kind regards, Llanwenarth More

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The lady on reception was wonderful couldn't do enough for you, she was the only one on at the time so ran round doing everything well done. Room was nice we upgraded to a better view, which was nice you would have appreciated more if you were staying for longer, the bed was comfortable and the room had all the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
cornel v, Front Office Manager at Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we have passed the comments to Housekeeping and staff. Many thanks, Llanwenarth. We hope you can stay longer next time... More

loughton
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was ok. Bathroom very small spot lights only one working out of three, toilet flush button broke wrong plug for sink . Shower soap dispenser dirty full of age old soap glass shelf and sink pedestal could all do with a good clean.To much clutter everywhere. On the other hand staff are very helpful breakfast was delicious. But... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
cornel v, Front Office Manager at Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant, responded to this review

We do apologise for the room having these problems, thank you for letting us know. These things have now been corrected. Please would you also let us know, what you mean by 'clutter everywhere', where was it. Again, we do apologise, Thank you, we look forward to hearing from you, Kind regards, Llanwenarth More

Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked and paid for a one nights stay in a double room with balcony overlooking river. It was to celebrate our 30th Wedding anniversary. When we arrived we were told that they had no booking for us. I was so upset that our special day had been ruined but all they would say was sorry and offered nothing to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cornel v, Manager at Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and once again I am sorry you feel this way, as I pointed out on your arrival we never book a room without sending out a confirmation e-mail which you said you never received. I have searched and cannot find any booking from yourselves and as you cant remember when you booked this or who... More

Horndean
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent a couple of nights and found the location to be excellent. We had a room with a view overlooking the River Usk and the the hills beyond. Conveniently close by road to Abergavenny town (about two miles away), Crickhowell and Brecon. The room was clean and tidy. The bathroom, although adequate, had a shower that had a water... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cornel v, Front Office Manager at Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant, responded to this review

Thankyou for your great review, Kind regards, Llanwenarth More

Do you own or manage Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant

Address: Brecon Road, Abergavenny NP8 1EP, Wales (Formerly the Pantrhiwgoch)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant Abergavenny, Wales

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant