We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Black Boy Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Northgate Street | Stryd Pedwar a Chewch, Caernarfon LL55 1RW, Wales
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Black Boy Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    154
    27
    10
    8
See reviews for
89
368
16
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (688)
  • Mar-May only
    (185)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (168)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (193)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (142)
All months
There are newer reviews for Black Boy Inn
See the most recent reviews
Skipton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

2nd time at the Black Boy . The hotel is Very good lovely rooms friendly staff good food. I. Just have 2 things to moan about .1st I like real ale you had a young lad behind the bar who did not know how to pull a pint of beer he kept pulling flat beer. The second one is the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for review ,so glad you enjoyed your stay .I will send memo to bar now to train staff as regards serving beer .Car parking is an issue as it is in all town centre sites .It has got worse lately as premier inn and travel lodge free parking has now turned to being charged. We have 39 spaces... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
9 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Only booked a couple of days ago, room very quaint, parking supplied, excellent central location for walking to The Castle etc. Very good breakfast that 'kept us going' all day - thank you. Only fault - noise from outside at night kept us awake.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the review.please return soon. More 

Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Highly recommend this place. Breakfast was amazing you can choose from menu. Rooms spacious, clean and comfy. Location perfect right near castle and main town. Staff friendly and approachable. Only issue was noise but this was due to over excited customers in the bar below over long weekend. This could have ruined our stay as we were kept awake til... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review ,glad you enjoyed the Inn .You are correct that it does get very busy at peak season. More 

Cardiff
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went here with the family for a meal. Warm welcome from friendly staff. The food was amazing with a great choice of drinks. My friend who came for easter couldnt speak Welsh and the staff translated a leaflet for him. He felt very at home. A really good clean and welcoming pub for everyone Welsh or not.

Was this review helpful? Yes
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review .The Black Boy is well known all over the world and we welcome guests of all a number nationalities every day . We welcome all here in Caernarfon and some go away with a few words of the welsh language. More 

Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a really good stay at Black Boy Inn over the Bank Holiday weekend. Despite being very busy, check in was pretty quick and the receptionist made us feel most welcome. Our room (room 2) was a good size and well furnished. No need to leave the hotel that evening as the bar and restaurant on site catered for our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review.Our bars close at 11.30 on weekends .and the Inn can get very busy. More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My partner and I stayed at the accommodation nearby. When we checked in, we felt that the staff was not very accommodating and they were not very patient with a payment issue we had. The room was nice and spacious however it was overlooking the street and on a bank holiday weekend it can get very loud because of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review .Not sure what the payment issue was, but i am sure it was rectified as staff are very careful as a lot people think they have already paid if booking has been made via an agent. More 

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

good pub food and drink with accommodation, friendly staff. 2 negatives, parking not nearby, but they do give you a permit to long stay near castle. Second negative My evening food was sea trout superb, but served with carrots and a tomato sauce. Combination did not work. Positives its a pub with excellent draft beer and quiet accommodation, brilliant location... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review .Car parking is an issue for all hotels etc in caernarfon ,but we do have 39 rooms and 39 spaces some being in the larger castle car park. we have to use these first. More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We came to North Wales for a Snowdon climb, after being on a cold mountain for a few hours we were definitely looking forward to filling our bellies with some glorious grub & we were not let down! I can say in all honesty, was the best meal I have ever had. My husband & I both had a Main... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review , we try to be in the middle as far as pricing is concerned . we are not fine dining venue or a 2 for £10.00 meal bar.We are the Black Boy which offers local produce when we can in all meals.served by local staff in an Inn that has been renovated with great care... More 

canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Our visit here turned out well when the maitre d finally took our order. Our server was too busy chatting. Food was excellent and well priced and we plan to return. Location is good and pub selection and service good too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review ,please call again. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Just left The Black Boy Inn after a 3 night stay . We visited last year and loved it so much we had to return ...a charming and historic hotel ... But with all mod cons!! Our room was immaculate and comfortable. The restaurant was superb and the bar was brilliant. The owner and all of the staff all really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your second stay at the Black Boy and have left the lovely review. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

296 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (157)
Viewed
Room/suite (37)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
0:13
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (139)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (31)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (83)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question