We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Black Boy Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Northgate Street | Stryd Pedwar a Chewch, Caernarfon LL55 1RW, Wales
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
What travelers say:
Very good
(20)
Car park
(8)
Poster bed
(4)
Black Boy Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    154
    27
    10
    8
See reviews for
90
366
15
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (686)
  • Mar-May only
    (183)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (168)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (193)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (142)
All months
Bolton
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

I will start by saying we didn't stay at the black boy Inn, we only ate in the restaurant. The food was delicious, it wasn't a long wait but they forgot our little boys meal completely. They were not particularly apologetic about this and then bought out only half of his dish. When we asked for the rest of his... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

i must apologize to you regarding this matter of staff rudeness. It is very unusual for us to get complaints , but we have 75 working at the Inn . If you could contact me directly i would be able to identify the staff concerned. More 

Northants
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Whilst this is lovely character property with beautifully decorated and clean rooms I would not return. On my booking it stated check in of 2pm. We had arranged tickets to an attraction 30 minutes away based on a 2pm check in. When we arrived we were told policy had changed and we could not check in until after 3pm. No... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

Sorry for the misunderstanding as regards check in time , these have been changed for the summer to 3.00pm due to late check out of previous nights customers.A s regards the tables in dining areas we do not use as bar tables later in the evening as they will be laid for breakfast. Again we apologize for any misunderstanding More 

Frankfort, Maine
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I took a side trip to Wales while visiting my daughter at school in Dublin last fall. This is a lovel Inn with a nice restaurant and bar right inside. My room was right above the office but that was not a problem. It was quiet and very comfortable. Apparently the Welsh like it hot because both the pub and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review ,so glad you enjoyed your time at the Inn More 

Birmingham, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice food, home made chips in a wire basket and lovely home made onion rings which were available as a side order. Not the cheapest of meals but well worth it. I had the same rump steak special both nights in a row. Stayed at the travel lodge down the road as this hotel was not available the 2... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review .Both the accommodation and dining areas to get very busy at peak season .Why not visit us at a quieter time of the year More 

Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We didn't actually stay here as we were visiting for the day but we did eat here and its one of the best meals I've had in the area. Menu has a good choice and we couldn't decide so just went for the sunday roast, and not what we expected ! I opted for the turkey and the wife had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review , please do come and stay at the Inn. More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We called for a drink and also ate there Lovely place with a great menu. Good food for kids too. It has accomodation too. The beer is great. A very cosy and relaxed atmosphere. Definately come back here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

Lovely review thank you. More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked The Black Boy Inn after reading reviews and they were all spot on .We stayed for 2 nights in a deluxe double on top floor 223 ,the room was clean ,spacious and really comfortable ,being six foot two had to duck a couple of times because of the low beams,but was warned before booking, but it didnt spoil the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

We rely so much on our staff as all other hotels do. we are so lucky here to have polite staff and good food produced in our kitchens. Thank you so much for the review. More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
99 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had been to the pub on more than one occasion previously but never stayed here and wasn't expecting a huge amount. How wrong I was. The rooms are enormous, modern, comfortable and clean with free WiFi and parking. It's located right in the centre of town so within walking distance of pretty much everything (the castle is around a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for thee review.Please do come back again. More 

Skipton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

2nd time at the Black Boy . The hotel is Very good lovely rooms friendly staff good food. I. Just have 2 things to moan about .1st I like real ale you had a young lad behind the bar who did not know how to pull a pint of beer he kept pulling flat beer. The second one is the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for review ,so glad you enjoyed your stay .I will send memo to bar now to train staff as regards serving beer .Car parking is an issue as it is in all town centre sites .It has got worse lately as premier inn and travel lodge free parking has now turned to being charged. We have 39 spaces... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
9 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Only booked a couple of days ago, room very quaint, parking supplied, excellent central location for walking to The Castle etc. Very good breakfast that 'kept us going' all day - thank you. Only fault - noise from outside at night kept us awake.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the review.please return soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

296 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (157)
Viewed
Room/suite (37)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
0:13
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (139)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (31)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (83)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question