We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Caernarfon hotels

Celtic Royal Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bangor Street, Caernarfon LL55 1AY, Wales
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Celtic Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Celtic Royal Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
85%
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
keentraveler20 Ontario, Canada
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    165
    57
    11
    11
See reviews for
95
190
16
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The town has a very run down air about it as the slate mines have closed but the main attraction is the castle which is magnificent and well worth visiting. The hotel was ridiculously expensive. Really not worth the price. Maybe they were "gouging" as there was a wedding and a holiday weekend. An attraction pre booking for us was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ramsbottom, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

good hospitality, nice place, quite central, good breakfast, can accomodate for vegetarians. good parking within hotel grounds. with asda store opposite, plenty of nice places to eat within the village. we had tapas one night and italian the other, very good

Was this review helpful? Yes
celticroyalhotel, Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Christine, We appreciate your time in reviewing the Celtic Royal Hotel. We pride ourselves on offering high standards and friendly staff and were pleased with your comments highlighting this with good hospitality, nice place and good breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future Kind regards, Customer Care Department More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Me and my husband have stayed here three times, but not by choice. His work books us here because it is close to the office. The first time we stayed the rooms were well kept and the food in the bar and main dining room was good. The last time we stayed the rooms were not as well kept and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
celticroyalhotel, Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Christine, We are sorry you felt your stay was not as positive as in previous visits. We have passed on your comments to our housekeeping, maintenance management team who have looked in to the points raised and have rectified the issues immediately. We were very disappointed to hear you felt breakfast service was poor as high standards and customer... More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Chose this place as a last minute booking for a weekend break. Expected better considering the price paid and the reviews. The quality of the room was average. Toilet seat broken, shower valve was so stiff required two handed heaving to get the water going, toilet/bathroom smelled of urine (before we used it!). Despite a 19 month old baby being... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
celticroyalhotel, Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your positive comments regarding the staff. We were extremely disappointed to hear you had issues with the bathroom facilities. Please note had you informed reception at the time we would have ensured immediate action was taken to solve the problems. Please be assured all maintenance, housekeeping issues have now been dealt with. Your booking was... More

Essex
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked this hotel via an internet search, so didn't know what to expect, upon arrival we were pleasantly surprised, the room rate included breakfast and £20pp towards a meal in the hotel restaurant, we decided to eat in the restaurant on the first night and if it wasn't good we would find a local restaurant to eat on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
celticroyalhotel, Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, We were overjoyed to receive your excellent feedback. High standards throughout the hotel is of utmost importance to us and we were delighted with your comments on how excellent the food was in the restaurant and that you found the beds very comfortable and had a very good night’s sleep. We will be delighted to welcome you back... More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Rooms have no air conditioning or even ceiling fans it gets hot in the rooms and hallways. The windows open a bit but not enough to make a difference. The beds are horrible. I requested a different mattress. The replacement was worse. The third try resulted in a usable one. The shower had mold & the drain didn't work leaving... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
celticroyalhotel, Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, We were very disappointed to hear your feedback about your recent stay with us. You informed reception on the first night of the issue with the mattress in your room. The Duty Manager came to check and arranged for it to be changed straight away, you informed us you were still not happy and the mattress was changed... More

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for three nights in August 2014, really excellent restaurant meal on one night and breakfast each morning. Room was ok for price paid although a little tired,(scratches on furniture, only secondary double glazing making opening a window difficult and fixed shower head). Pool and spa very good but on arrival night(Saturday) pool closed at 8pm but spa closed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
celticroyalhotel, Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Howard, We were delighted with your positive feedback on the excellent restaurant meal and breakfast. We were sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the room. Please be assured that high standards is of the utmost importance to us and we are continuously investing in general maintenance and updating the hotel facilities and bedrooms. We hope to welcome... More

Tipton, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here 29/08 for one night, so glad it was only the one night. We had a family room, I stated on booking wanted a easy accessible room (Wife 6 months pregnant) and comfortable beds, on the back of some reviews saying they were bad. We had a double a single and a foldup bed, the double was so bad... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
celticroyalhotel, Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your positive comments regarding the pool, food and Wifi. We are sincerely sorry to hear your feedback regarding the mattress in the room, however if you would have informed our front office team in person or by telephone we would have been more than happy to resolve the issue by changing the mattress immediately. We... More

Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel was old which has a certain appeal however with only one small slow lift it was a long wait to get to rooms or use the stairs. Breakfast organization was terrible with the buffet in passage ways and very congested.

Was this review helpful? Yes
celticroyalhotel, Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your constructive criticism. We have looked into the issues raised with regard to the breakfast organisation. However we get many compliments and positive feedback regarding the efficiency of our breakfast service team throughout the year. The lift is both suitable for guests and hotel requirements. The hotel prides itself on constantly improving standards to ensure... More

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited this hotel, with a coach party and couldn't believe it when we arrived. As we entered the beautiful wooden staircase which dominates the foyer made it look like a five star hotel. (In fact there was a wedding with the bride and groom posing for their photographs on the balcony). We were certainly not disappointed with our room,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
celticroyalhotel, Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, We were delighted to receive your positive feedback and that you found the reception area beautiful, room spacious, really good food and that staff were friendly and helpful. We hope to welcome you back in the near future Kind regards, Customer Care Department More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Celtic Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Celtic Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Royal Hotel

Address: Bangor Street, Caernarfon LL55 1AY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Celtic Royal Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Celtic Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Royal Caernarfon
Hotel Celtic Royal
Celtic Royal Hotel Caernarfon, Wales

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Caernarfon with
any amenities