We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Caernarfon hotels

Menai Bank Hotel

North Road, Caernarfon LL551BD, Wales
Click for phone number
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Announcement
SEAVIEW ROOMS
Menai Bank Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Menai Bank Hotel to your Saves list
84%
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Jackie M Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    43
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
27
54
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (126)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (49)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (31)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for 2 nights in a king size room with an en suite and comfortable queen size bed. Staff very helpful and friendly, nothing too much trouble. It has a very good breakfast with all tastes catered for. A good location not far from the town centre, all very clean and at a very good price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your favourable comments and for taking time out to review us. More

Reading
Top Contributor
331 reviews 331 reviews
80 hotel reviews
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for two nights and had an enjoyable stay. It is easy to find and is on the Main Street opposite Morrisons supermarket with parking at the rear for approximately 6 cars. We were warmly welcomed and shown to outer room, which was very large. The hotel is split on many levels and has free wifi and is only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and the photos of Room 20! We are glad you enjoyed your stay. More

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Did not feel welcome from the start. We arrived in the rain and after being trapped in a traffic jam. (Long weekend in Wales. )Told immediately our room was not ready, by at least two different people. We only arrived 1 1/2 hours early. We left in the rain to check out the town. Finally at 3 pm we got... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I understand you made your booking by telephone and requested a standard double (which is one 4’ 6” bed). So not sure what you mean by only a Double? Maybe it was a Twin (2 Single beds) you required? The Double allocated is fitted with a memory foam mattress with a sprung base. We get... More

Carlisle
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

What a great hotel this is, super friendly host and staff, great breakfasts and a truly lovely hotel. We stayed here for a couple of nights before going off to a festival, we thought this was a reasonably priced place with good reviews and so booked, got given room 9, attic room with a fantastic view. This room is on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for a lovely review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward hopefully to seeing you again. Room Tip: Room 9 has a skylight and at this time of year (Sep/Oct) the harvest moon fills that room with wonderful moonlight :-) More

Manchester
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

This is not a purpose built hotel but a conversion of 3 Victorian villa style houses which means that there were some imperfections. These minor imperfections were well outweighed by the warm welcome and continued attention from Rebecca, the comfortable beds, the clean spacious room and the wonderful breakfast that we'd opted to take. In addition, there was free car... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for a very constructive review. It's as descibed1 More

Cheadle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

Room was dirty, bath plug didn't fit, television turned on with light switch, the window broken and the room noisy. However, the initial greeting was pleasant although I can see why the place is up for sale.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review

You have not mentioned which room you were in so we have double checked all the rooms with bath and could not find any problem with any bath stopper. We have also checked all those bedroom windows and could not find any broken! Regarding your comment about the light switch for the TV we can only assume you mean the... More

Ankara, Turkey
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
62 hotel reviews
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Yes, Patrick is very helpful, but we found the room to be very basic. The building is old and it shows. The location is convenient, as it is within walking distance from the town center. A supermarket and small shopping arcade are even closer. Free parking is a definite plus. However, the room rate, which does not include breakfast, is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We realise the hotel is old (c.1860). If we upgraded further all the rooms it would take us into another price level. We think we fit well into the convenient basic accommodation bracket you describe. Your comments are noted. Thank you again. More

Runcorn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for an overnight stopover. From the minute you come in and are met by Patrick you are made to feel very welcomed The hotel is situated in a great place overlooking the straits and Anglesey beyond. You are also only 10 mins from the castle and promenade The hotel boasts a lovely breakfast room,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review

What can we say after that 5 star review..only a big 5 star Thank you :-) Look forward to seeing you again DV. More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Looking for an overnight stop on our way to a leisurely next morning rendezvous in Abersoch from Huddersfield this was just what we needed. Warm welcome, pleasant clean room and a smashing breakfast served with a smile.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review

We are always pleased to read reviews where people have found the hotel a relaxing place to stay. Thank you for your review. Hopefully we will see you again. More

Maidstone
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Extremely good stay, very good value for money. 20 minute drive to climb Snowdon which was ideal. Patrick very accommodating, didn't hear a peep from the other guests. Would definitely recommend to others and when we return next year would definitely stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking time to review us. We look forward to having you back next year hopefully. Thanks again. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Menai Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menai Bank Hotel

Address: North Road, Caernarfon LL551BD, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Menai Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menai Bank Hotel Caernarfon, Wales

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay