We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Waverley Hotel Bangor

Holyhead Road | Station Road, Bangor LL57 1LZ, Wales (Formerly The Regency Hotel)
The Waverley Hotel Bangor
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    4
    2
    6
See reviews for
1
1
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (23)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (2)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
London, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed on a recent Zipwire trip. Zipwire was cancelled but stayed anyway. The food was very good. Salmon cooked to perfection and my friend said best ever lasagne. But the rooms OMG they were dire .Looked like it had not been cleaned in an age, clean linen in a dirty smelly room,also the corridor floor was creaky and the carpet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I wish that I'd bothered to check Trip Advisor before I checked into the Waverley Hotel on Thursday night. It's had a few negative reviews and I would probably have moved on and stayed somewhere else. But, I was tired after a day of riding and just wanted somewhere to rest. I saw the hotel, checked if it had rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very disappointed. Room was small with mould on ceiling and also in bathroom. Curtains very thin which let in the street lighting. Very noisy as over bar area and very noisy guests on floor above. Evening meal disappointing .., not what pre ordered - staff saying it was an old menu. Certainly won't be going again !

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Hayley M, Owner at The Waverley Hotel Bangor, responded to this review

Dear customer, we feel that this review is an unfair assessment, you had booked with us for the zipwire, and booked a meal with us on the evening for your large group. We had spent the day preparing your pre orders, and turned bookings away as you occupied most of the hotel, and then your party rang only 2 hours... More 

Walsall, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Old, creaky, building. Noisy throughout the night with doors slamming, temporary toilets flushing themselves and every movement in the corridors on the creaky floors heard in the bedrooms. I booked a room with a bathroom and was told on arrival that 'you might not have any water so there is a shared bathroom next door if you need one' -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Hayley M, Owner at The Waverley Hotel Bangor, responded to this review

Dear customer, we feel that this review is an unfair assessment, you had booked with us for the zipwire, and booked a meal with us on the evening for your large group. We had spent the day preparing your pre orders, and turned bookings away as you occupied most of the hotel, and then your party rang only 2 hours... More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went there for food today, food was okay but don't expect everything it says on the menu, non of the extras ie coleslaw and side salad where given! Also as we were eating a group of very drunk people came over to us and start mumbling crap! Was a very unpleasant experience, wouldn't recommend this place to anyone if they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited this hotel as we wanted to expolore snowdon anglesey. Staff were efficent, friendly and professional. The hotel was very comforable and the food was to a very high standard. We will definafely be back and highly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I stayed here with my husband and son on Saturday 21st March as we had travelled here to go to Zip World and this was one of the only places that would take our booking and we'd only lose the refund if the Zip ride got cancelled. We arrived at 2.30pm and checked in fine. We were greeted by a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Beaminster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

I stayed here overnight on 18th March before my final day's cycling to Holyhead. The room was big enough for my needs though I reckon it would have been cramped had there been two of us staying in it. The TV signal was a bit rubbish at times; nothing worth complaining about as far as I am concerned but a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

All quite clean but there were some damaged parts - broken tiles and loose woodwork in the bathroom, for example - although it's fairly obvious the renovation works are continuing. It's right opposite the train station, meaning that the light from there shines straight into the rooms at the front. Also there was quite loud music pumping out until gone... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Anglesey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Absolutely Fantastic!!!! Great service!!! and Lovely Food!!!! We arrived at Ten To seven and was seated right away after getting a drink from the bar. we did not need to see menu as we had pre-booked,we was informed as we had done so a free bottle of wine was included with our meal. We could not fault anything at all,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question