We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Waverley Hotel Bangor

Holyhead Road | Station Road, Bangor LL57 1LZ, Wales (Formerly The Regency Hotel)
The Waverley Hotel Bangor
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    9
    5
    2
    9
See reviews for
5
3
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (39)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I visited the Waverley on Sunday 21st June 2015 for the first time. We were greeted by the friendly Manager and Staff, who were so courteous and helpful and very welcoming. The Sunday dinner was second to none. Generous portions of perfectly cooked meat, vegetables to everyone's liking. They even packed up the remaining meat for us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a GREAT time, met many friends. The staff were great also, whatever you needed wasn't a problem. The rooms very clean and the food superb. I would reccomend to anyone, I would be greatly suprised if you were dissappointed. Value for money? Definitely

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Terrific weekend! Excellent location. Very convenient to the train station and to town. They have a delicious selection of local beers. The food was good and reasonably priced. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The Waverley now hosts the long running traditional music a song session in Bangor on a Friday night. The history of this session stretches back to the nineteen sixties! We arranged a weekend session for one of our long standing friends who has health issues. We have nothing but praise for the way we were treated. They sorted out my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed here for my brother stag do. The rooms were all satisfactory. The hotel is somewhat basic but friendly and clean. Exactly what we needed and we were very well looked after. I would definitely come again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed 2 nights. Playing music at the hotel with friends. Shared a room. Well located oposite rail stn. Clean,friendly. Rooms basic, old style. Food exelent. Regular bus to city centre or a pleasent walk there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wales
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

A fantastic weekend of playing live music with friends from far and near. The welcome and facilities were fantastic. Good food reasonably priced and excellent locally brewed real ale. Accommodation was excellent. Very helpful and pleasant staff and appreciation of the music made for a super event

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

Upon entering with my family we had to wait for a staff member to attend to the bar. When the bar maid appeared and we questioned the possibility of food we were given a menu and left to it. Whilst ordering food the staff were unsure of the prices and we had to wait while they were checked and totalled... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5

Travelers are raving about these Bangor hotels

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

Staff were a little abrupt (bordering on rude) on check-in. The room was a disgrace. I knew in advance it would be three single beds, but had no warning that two of them weren't fit to be slept in. The matress on one was so worn that you're effectively lying on the hard solid base, and on another the springs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Hayley M, General Manager at The Waverley Hotel Bangor, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of your concerns. I would like apologise sincerely that you felt the service you received was not up to standard, I would certainly hope that this instance was an unfortunate one off, but I can assure you that all the issues you have raised will be investigated by the senior... More 

St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015 via mobile

We stayed at The Waverley overnight while visiting friends. We were made very welcome by the owner and her staff. We had a comfortable, clean en-suite room and a good breakfast. The hotel is ideally situated close to the station and town centre and is ideal for visiting Angelsey and North Wales.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities