We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shelley Guest House

Lluest, Llanbadarn Fawr, Aberystwyth SY233AU, Wales
Hotel website
Special Rate
Holiday Cottage!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shelley Guest House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Shelley Guest House
Shelley Guest House
Shelley Guest House
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    11
    3
    7
    3
See reviews for
13
16
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (45)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Brynmawr
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

Stayed overnight. Arrived mid afternoon, keys ready. Lovely house, quiet location 5 mins from Aberystwyth town centre. Location down country lane, nice and quiet. Room very nice. Clean, tidy, well presented. Downstairs nice living room and kitchen. Continental breakfast was fine. Downsides are shared bathroom. Wooden floors means it's quiet noisy. If someone up early, then difficult to sleep through... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

This was pretty bad. Essentially the proprietor is in the wrong job as he has no idea that the comfort of the client should rank ahead of his own preferences, at least to a reasonable degree. The worst was having to leave to face a gruelling business day without any breakfast due to his laziness. Thankfully the man had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
shelley-guest-house, Owner at Shelley Guest House, responded to this review

Please note that the guest Is heavily involved with witchcraft and the occult. They run a home called Morgain House which is a centre for individuals involved with witchcraft. They also insisted that we removed certain pictures from the walls. We did in fact do this. We pride ourselves on the quality of our products. The meat was sourced from... More 

Petersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We were welcomed warmly,lovely breakfast, enjoyed the sauna. We had a family room which was adequate for our needs and we were able to come and go as we liked. A lounge which could be used like home. Hot drinks tray in room. Free wifi

Was this review helpful? Yes
Londres, Argentina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Very nice little guest house where you feel at home, nicely decorated, little towel and amenities in the room, the owners are very friendly! we arrived quite late from a long journey driving from London, they contacted us to know what time we would be arriving and left a note with the keys, but available any time, I enquired about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a great value holiday venue, this is the place to go to. Julian, Kate, and the other staff were very kind, friendly, and accommodating throughout our stay. We stayed in the downstairs bedroom number 4. A lovely room which has fabulous views of the garden and the starry sky at night (When not cloudy!) The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belper, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Just back from our third stay at the Shelley guest house and as always we have had a wonderful stay. Nothing is too much trouble for Julian and his staff and we love this quirky friendly place. I personally was very glad to see the return of Julian,s wonderful full cooked breakfast which is always a delight. Although our Son... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Berkshire - U.K
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I think the best way to summarise this stay is in bullet points as I feel if I write in full sentences I may have to use expletives; - There is not proper parking for more than one car, you have to park down a narrow road if you miss the chance to park on what is a mud pit.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
shelley-guest-house, Owner at Shelley Guest House, responded to this review

We are really sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at our guest house. I really feel that in this particular case the guests personal tastes were the main reason why they failed to enjoy their stay. We always look at reviews very seriously and we would like to add that the vast majority of guests really enjoy their... More 

Oakham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I'm writing this review a little late as we stayed back in March, but I had it on my to-do list to follow up, as we had a very pleasant stay at the Shelley Guest House and thought others should know about it. Our Sat Nav got us there ok, without having to ask for help! It is off the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Beautiful guest house in a lovely setting. We felt so welcome and at home. We sat in the sitting room whilst my son played the piano. Just wonderful. The beds were so comfy and the rooms so clean and airy. Our dog was also welcome as he was part of the family. OK it has shared bathrooms, but there were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Stayed here last week at the end of a long hiking trip from Cardigan. Pleasant atmosphere, you can tell as soon as you enter that you are being welcomed into somebody's home. Very comfortable beds, much appreciated by our aching legs! The house could do with some carpet and some thicker doors though, we were scared of talking too loud... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Shelley Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelley Guest House

Address: Lluest, Llanbadarn Fawr, Aberystwyth SY233AU, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Shelley Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelley Guest House Hotel Aberystwyth
Shelley Guest House Aberystwyth, Wales

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay