We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 29 Aberystwyth B&Bs / inns

The Glengower Hotel

3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   3 Victoria Terrace, Aberystwyth SY23 2DH , Wales
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Glengower Hotel to your Saves list
The Glengower Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
58%
Ranked #17 of 29 Aberystwyth B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
DavidCl19 London, England
  • Overview
  • Reviews (152)
  • Photos (44)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (60)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    58
    37
    11
    17
See reviews for
40
51
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for two nights during a walking holiday in West Wales. Right on the seafront, yet with very little traffic going by, we greatly enjoyed the wonderful sea view that filled the whole window in our room. It was a large room with en suite bath and shower, comfortable twin beds, and armchairs in the bay window to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
wales
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
14 hotel reviews
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in many hotels in Aberystwyth but it was our first time at The Glengower Hotel. We had room 14. The girl that checked us in was very friendly and helpful. The room was spacious, beds were comfortable and the views...well I can`t describe the views other than amazing...if you love the sea pay a little extra for a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dolgellau, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Having stayed here for the last 3 nights I have to say ...it was an excellent experience ..good hearty breakfast ...pleasant staff ...comfortable beds ...en suite rooms ..and superb views of the welsh coastline ..it's so near the sea ..perfect ...the sunset view was fantastic ...a place to go to chill out and read your book by the large bedroom... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Staffordshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Aberystwyth is a lovely place to spend a break retaining character whilst providing a varied selection of pubs, restaurants & venues for visitors and residents alike. The Hotel has a great location overlooking the sea with close proximity to Constitutional Hill and the coastal footpath. Arriving on a Sunday afternoon in early May it was not that easy to find... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
west mids
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We went to this hotel for a weekend break,had a lovely en-suite double room overlooking the sea. All very clean but it's an old building so you can sometimes hear people in the rooms above. Breakfast was small but very nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Retford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

location good overlooking the sea, pity nobody bothered to warn us the hotel was covered with scaffolding. also we were not informed at time of booking that our rooms were on the third floor and no lift.hotel shabby and in great need of refurbishment. the room comfortable and clean, however the window would not stay open . the en suite... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StangeandCompany, Manager at The Glengower Hotel, responded to this review

We are so sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent stay at the Glengower and that you were not notified about the scaffolding upon booking your stay at the hotel. We are working as fast as we can to get the job done so that we can remove the scaffolding as soon as possible (hopefully this will... More

Travelers are raving about these Aberystwyth hotels

Pontypool, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Stayed overnight May 2014 Nice quiet position on the sea front with a nice view under the scaffolding Room was spotlessly clean (Two single beds in different parts of the room which we thought was different) with good facilities but shower cubicle was a little small with a high step up into it The restaurant menu is reasonable but after... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
StangeandCompany, Manager at The Glengower Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Glengower. Yes unfortunately the temporary scaffolding does distort the stunning view that we are so lucky to enjoy day after day but hopefully it will be gone by the end of the month ready for some stunning summer sunsets! We are sorry that you... More

Stratford-upon-Avon
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We have recently returned from a short break in Wales, and had a lovely meal for 4 at the Glengower Hotel. We chose it because they do allow dogs in with you, so long as they are well behaved. Great service, good food and even a drinking bowl and biscuit for the dog.

Was this review helpful? Yes
StangeandCompany, Manager at The Glengower Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, we are glad you enjoyed your meal at the Glengower and yes we are always happy to let in a friendly (and well behaved!) fury friend. More

Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Nobody told us the facade is under construction and the whole building is covered by scaffold when we booked the room with sea view. Have to say we were disappointed. Wifi connection is very bad, almost none in the room, and unstable even in reception area. When we mentioned this to the manager (Ian?), he replied it must be the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
StangeandCompany, Manager at The Glengower Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you were disappointed with your recent stay at the Glengower. Unfortunately yes, the lovely sea view that we enjoy is currently interrupted by the scaffolding that is on the exterior of the building whilst the post storm damage is being rectified. We have tried to make guests aware of the ongoing work before their arrival... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Glengower Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Glengower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glengower Hotel

Address: 3 Victoria Terrace, Aberystwyth SY23 2DH , Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glengower Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Glengower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glengower Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated right by the beach on Aberystwyth’s Victorian promenade, this hotel offers wholesome pub food and sea views. It is a short walk from the centre of town, and free on-street parking is available. The Glengower Hotel has a private sun terrace with beautiful views of Cardigan Bay and is just a few steps from the beach. Aberystwyth University is about 1 mile away. There is free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The bar serves award-winning cask ales and a large selection of refreshments. The daily menu is available for lunch and dinner, and traditional Sunday lunches are also available. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
14

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer