We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Malvern

Certificate of Excellence
Grovewood Road, Great Malvern WR14 1GD, England
Hotel amenities
The Malvern
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Great Malvern
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Darrenandthewife Birmingham, United Kingdom
Add Your Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    194
    62
    34
    13
See reviews for
46
231
24
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (552)
  • Mar-May only
    (154)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (145)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (124)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (129)
All months
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Good points: Spa area is good, particularly the outdoor area. Food was ok and the restaurant staff were really friendly and accommodating. Clean and tidy throughout. Gym is really good and well equipped. Bad points: Check in is too late at 3pm- we arrived at 2pm and weren't offered anywhere to sit etc so wandered round the poor shops nearby.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We booked a one night Spa deal with full massage to break an onward journey. The massage by Teresa was great, however the place was car showroom / knocking shop by design located in an industrial park, the food by corporate chef assembled by a trainee with machinery and although the staff were very jolly and young they couldn't handle... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MalvernMalvern, Manager at The Malvern, responded to this review

Hello Neil I am so disappointed to read your review and would be happy to discuss your issues directly with you. Please email your contact details to enquiries@themalvernspa.com so that we can take this forward. It is great that you enjoyed your massage so much but I am very concerned about your comments regarding the hotel and restaurant. Our location,... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Having been to a couple of other spas, priced around the same range, we were expecting a little more of the Malvern. It was a nice enough stay, Sunday to Monday, but the service was not brilliant. To begin with, arrivals do not seem to be staggered. One or two staff must check in a flurry of people, all arriving... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MalvernMalvern, Manager at The Malvern, responded to this review

Hello Darren Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback but I am so disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Unfortunately we do not have any control over nearby building works and we too are disappointed that this may block some of the view. Many of our hotel rooms do have views of the... More 

cannock
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here 20th march, on arrival staff were very polite, told us to call reception if there wasn't any robes in our room, rang reception and they was at our room within 2 minutes, the outdoor and indoor pool are very relaxing and so are the saunas and steam rooms, we ate in the restaurant and the food was faultless,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MalvernMalvern, Manager at The Malvern, responded to this review

Hi Scott Thank you for your review and recommendation. I am so pleased to hear you both had a wonderful stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon. Lynsey Kettlewell, General Manager More 

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I have been to many spas but none that give you the complete package like The Malvern. I am astounded that people complain of the location where the hotel is, do they not check before booking. Would they rather it be on a busy high St with lots of noise, whereas infact the location is quiet and tranquil and if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MalvernMalvern, Manager at The Malvern, responded to this review

Hi Pauline Thank you for your review and feedback- I will ensure this is shared with all of the team. I am delighted you continue to enjoy your visits to The Malvern and that you always experience the excellent customer service we pride ourselves on. I hope to see you again very soon. Amy Downton, Assistant Spa Manager More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Mainy great things to say about this place, we stayed here for a few whilst on our honeymoon to unwind after our wedding Pros - Amazing spa & pool area - we stayed mid week so didn't find it to be busy for us Loved the outdoor pool area Spa open most of day didn't close till 10pm!! Very relaxing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MalvernMalvern, Manager at The Malvern, responded to this review

Hi Grace Thank you for your review. I noticed you stayed quite a while ago- September 2014 and can confirm we have made some changes since then. It is a shame the Jacuzzi bath was not working on your visit and I am sorry about this. The room toiletries are now provided by The White Company. It is unusual to... More 

UK
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
53 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband had booked this as a birthday surprise for me. Location was a bit strange being on a out of town retail park, but it looked very modern as we pulled up. We were checked in quickly and got to our room. The room was an OK size but the bed was rather small. It also need a bit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MalvernMalvern, Manager at The Malvern, responded to this review

Hello there Thank you for your review and for your feedback. It is great that you enjoyed your Birthday stay but I am concerned by some of your comments regarding cleanliness/tidiness of the bedroom. These are thoroughly checked by our Housekeeping Manager and I will be discussing this with her. Your restaurant comments have been shared with Cat and the... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for what was supposed to be a relaxing break and thought this would be relaxing, peaceful day and not stressful as it was night before our wedding and we had traveled form London ! The complex is on a trading estate, a very strange location, with terrible views out the windows. The rooms are very small, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MalvernMalvern, Manager at The Malvern, responded to this review

Mr Conway, thank you for your comments and I am pleased you enjoyed some aspects of your stay, particularly the treatments. It is a shame you have used this forum to advise of all of these issues as in your letter to us your only concern was the bed size. We would have been happy to discuss and address all... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Went to the Malvern with some girl friends in February for an overnight spa break. I had been once before as it's a good place to convene for friends that live spread across all four corners of England and Wales! The spa treatments are excellent. I've been impressed both times by the subject matter knowledge of the staff, they are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MalvernMalvern, Manager at The Malvern, responded to this review

Hi Rachel Thank you for your feedback on your recent repeat visit to The Malvern. I am delighted you and your friends had such a lovely time with us and that you thoroughly enjoyed the pool and treatments in particular. I look forward to seeing you all again soon- perhaps for a wedding debrief! Lynsey Kettlewell, General Manager More 

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My daughter booked us both into Malvern Spa for a mother's day treat and we had a great time. The look of the spa didn't really portray how lovely it is inside and the staff were all very friendly. We both had facials which were sheer bliss, followed by a light lunch of salad. The pool area, sauna, steam rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MalvernMalvern, Manager at The Malvern, responded to this review

Hello there I am delighted to learn you had such a lovely Mother's Day treat with us. It is clear the day had the desired effect of pure relaxation! We too hope to see you again very soon! Lynsey Kettlewell, General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question