We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Malvern

Certificate of Excellence
Grovewood Road, Great Malvern WR14 1GD, England
Hotel amenities
The Malvern
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Great Malvern
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
R0sie287 Tiverton, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

612 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    280
    212
    71
    34
    15
See reviews for
56
263
26
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (612)
  • Mar-May only
    (189)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (170)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (124)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (129)
All months
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I have lived in Malvern for years and recently decided to visit the spa with a friend for the use of the facilities. On arrival I explained how I had recently been to Bath Spa (A far larger and better Spa) and had used the facilities for a reasonable £25pp. A member of staff told me access was only permitted... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were surprised when we drove up at the box like shape of the building and it was in the middle of a retail park so nowhere to walk to for a good pub. This is more of a Spa with a hotel attached, rather than a hotel with a spa. Spa facilities were excellent, although there were not many... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MalvernMalvern, Manager at The Malvern, responded to this review

Hello Rosie Thank you for your feedback and review. It is great to hear you had a good spa break with us but I am surprised at your comments regarding the heat rooms. All facilities were in working order this weekend and there are instructions in both the welcome pack and around the spa area on what each heat room... More 

Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Used to visit here a lot when we lived in Malvern so decided to stop when visiting friends. First time in the hotel and it was fine- average at best. The room was showing signs of age- mould around the shower and the desk was scratched. This was not particularly off putting but the spa also needed a bit of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MalvernMalvern, Manager at The Malvern, responded to this review

Hello Dom Thank you for your feedback. We are constantly monitoring and updating areas of the hotel and spa but as I am sure you appreciate it is not possible to do everything at once. The ice machine is in place but unfortunately the fountain has been cracked and so was removed for safety purposes. The replacement for this will... More 

Cambridgeshire
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My sister and I made a return visit to this hotel for a relaxing break and were really disappointed to find that somehow, our booking had got lost. The staff were mortified that this problem had occurred and worked so hard to find us other '5*' accommodation close by. They made sure that our weekend was ruined and managed to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MalvernMalvern, Manager at The Malvern, responded to this review

Hello Heather I am so sorry to hear about the mix up with your booking but am delighted we resolved this speedily for you. It is lovely to hear from repeat guests and especially nice to receive your comments regarding eth staff service and food quality. I look forward to your 3rd visit in the not too distant future. Lynsey... More 

Herefordshire
Level Contributor
100 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My daughter treated us to a spa day here. My husband is in his 80's and rather shy when in such places. The staff were amazing particularly Jane Randall who was exceptionally kind, caring and amusing with us. the aura is the best I've encountered having visited many spas and all the staff look and behave in a very welcoming... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MalvernMalvern, Manager at The Malvern, responded to this review

Hello there I am delighted you both had such a a lovely time with us and that you enjoyed all aspects of our facilities. There is no age barrier to 'spa-ing' and as you found we have visitors of all ages! We pride ourselves on our customer service and it is clear you experienced this throughout your stay. I hope... More 

Worcestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My daughters 18th Birthday needed to be one to remember.After having searched hard for a local Spa day experience I chose The Malvern. Thank you for such a lovely day! Staff were very friendly (especially Sara) and very helpfull. The spa was wonderfull very well thought out it has everything you need including an indoor/outdoor therapy pool. The treatments were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MalvernMalvern, Manager at The Malvern, responded to this review

Hi Joanna I am so pleased we helped to make your daughter's 18th Birthday so special. It is lovely to receive feedback like yours and I very much look forward to welcoming you back at The Malvern very soon. Lynsey Kettlewell, General Manager More 

London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked afternoon tea as birthday treat for elderly mother-in-law and was disappointed from outset. Indeed if hadn't paid when making booking would not have stayed. Had to go and find staff to sort out where afternoon tea was served. Shown into bar area devoid of any atmosphere but full of folk using spa fasciitis wandering round in dressing gowns and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MalvernMalvern, Manager at The Malvern, responded to this review

Hello there I am very disappointed to read your review of your visit to The Malvern and it is clear how disappointed you were with the afternoon tea. I would like to investigate this further and would be grateful if you could contact me with your details so that I can come back to you. My email is cat.east@themalvernspa.com Cat... More 

London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arrived for the night for a relaxing stay - room was clean and good quality. Reception staff were friendly Nice coffee and lounge for chilling Decided to eat out locally at the swan which which was very nice with v friendly staff and v nice food - bit of character. Spa is nice- great saunas but what was quite interesting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MalvernMalvern, Manager at The Malvern, responded to this review

Hello Jacinta Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am very pleased you had such an enjoyable time with us. We do advertise a heated indoor-outdoor hydrotherapy pool as opposed to a swimming pool but I am sorry you were disappointed we do not have a full swimming pool too. It is clear you enjoyed all... More 

Baughurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is really a spa with rooms and not quite what we expected or wanted. Good points - food was excellent, staff pleasant and bed very comfortable. Issues for us - we rang to get directions and the phone simply wasn't answered. We ordered drinks but the order was put aside and forgotten, when it did arrive the tray... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MalvernMalvern, Manager at The Malvern, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry to learn you were disappointed with your visit. We are a spa hotel and as such the majority of our guests do visit for the spa facilities. As with many similar establishments, guests are permitted in the dining room at breakfast and lunchtime in robes. I am sorry you were disconcerted... More 

Worcester, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I live near the Spa but have never stayed. I noticed a late deal and decided to book an overnight stay at the end of a hard week at work. Location – Malvern is a beautiful town surrounded by beautiful countryside and stunning view. Unfortunately the spa is on a light industrial estate. Its not unpleasant but its not the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MalvernMalvern, Manager at The Malvern, responded to this review

Hello Mandy Thank you for taking the time to post your extensive review. It is great to hear that as a local resident you have visited the club. The location was chosen specifically as it is next to the site of an original bore hole for Malvern spring water which we use throughout the hotel. We are pleased to be... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Steam room(12)
  • Very good(11)
  • Industrial estate(10)
  • SPA FACILITIES(5)
  • Light lunch(4)
  • Evening meals(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

59 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Malvern
1.8 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 11 in Great Malvern
4.0 of 5 stars 685 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
4.5 of 5 stars 630 reviews
4.1 mi away
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant
12.6 mi away
The Elms
The Elms
#1 of 1 in Abberley
4.0 of 5 stars 466 reviews
2.8 mi away
Stanbrook Abbey
Stanbrook Abbey
#1 of 1 in Callow End
4.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay