We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Great Malvern hotels

The Malvern

4.0 of 5 Spa   |   Grovewood Road, Great Malvern WR14 1GD, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Malvern to your Saves list
The Malvern
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
81%
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Great Malvern
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
ElClassico2014 Chipping Campden, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (481)
  • Photos (47)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (82)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

481 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    177
    52
    30
    11
See reviews for
41
197
24
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chipping Campden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Booked this on-line, it looked fab with all the facilities. However, a bit of an unusual location on arrival, in fact I thought my sat nav was wrong because we drove to a business centre, this Hotel is located in the middle of office and commercial properties. The reception was not your normal Hotel reception but you just felt like... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MalvernMalvern, Manager at The Malvern, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and I am pleased you enjoyed using the spa facilities at The Malvern. We are a spa hotel and the majority of guests stay with us for this reason. As has been mentioned in previous reviews we are on the edge of a weekday business park. All of the buildings are modern and a maximum... More

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband organised this surprise night away to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The hotel itself is situated on an industrial estate which gives a rather unfavorable initial impression, but inside the ambiance is much better. Efficient but busy reception staff made check in and out swift and straightforward. The spa staff were welcoming but it would have been nice to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MalvernMalvern, Manager at The Malvern, responded to this review

Hello there Thank you for your review and I am delighted you had a great time with us. The building is situated on the edge of a weekday business park but as you soon noticed, it's what's inside that counts! I am delighted you enjoyed the restaurant and that we were able to cater for your needs and hope to... More

uk
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Smart clean hotel with nice welcome at reception and comfortable room. Restaurant pleasant but nothing special but staff friendly. What makes this place stand out is the pool area and access to usual spa facilities off the salon.A good spot to wind down and relax. It is unfortunate that , although you can see the glorious Malvern Hill in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MalvernMalvern, Manager at The Malvern, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your review and I am pleased to note you enjoyed your stay and especially the spa facilities. I hope you will visit us again soon. Lynsey Kettlewell, General Manager More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've been to Malvern spa for a day spa on a number of occasions but this time choose to make it a spa weekend. Overall it's a beautiful spa with luxurious surroundings and fantastic service. We booked a package which included spa access, a treatment each (we both had full body massages which were fantastic), dinner in the hotel restaurant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MalvernMalvern, Manager at The Malvern, responded to this review

Hello Tom Thank you for your review- it is always good to hear from regular visitors. It is clear you have always enjoyed your visits, including treatments, facilities and meals. However, I am disappointed that you did not enjoy the bar and restaurant area on this visit. It is most unusual to receive poor comments about our food and restaurant... More

Hereford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Been to The Malvern on several occasions and loved it every time! Very clean, amazing staff, beautiful rooms, superb ambiance and definitely worth every penny! The food is fresh and well presented and all the treatments I have ever had have been a real treat! Would recommend this to anyone!

Was this review helpful? Yes
MalvernMalvern, Manager at The Malvern, responded to this review

Hi Hollie Thank you for your review and I am so delighted that, as a regular visitor, you continue to enjoy every visit so much. Your recommendation is much appreciated and we hope to see you again very soon. Lynsey Kettlewell, General Manager More

Warwick, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is perfect for relaxing. Which is what we intended to do. Swimsuit, slippers and robe, straight to the hydrotherapy pool. Thoroughly rejuvenating. Our room was clean, spacious, with smart modern decor. Shower was amazing. Definitely book a treatment before you arrive, the relaxation room was bliss. Dinner service was friendly and helpful. Made us feel very welcome. When... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MalvernMalvern, Manager at The Malvern, responded to this review

Hi Lucy Thank you for your review. I am so pleased you both had such an enjoyable and relaxing time with us. I hope you will come back and visit us again very soon for a repeat performance! Lynsey Kettlewell, General Manager More

Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not being a couple that are used to fancy hotels, my partner decided to treat me to a romantic 'posh' night away. Location - The hotel, although in an industrial estate, looks over the Malvern Hills which I personally thought was fantatsic. Greeting - Every single member of staff greeted us with a genuine smile and couldn't have made us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MalvernMalvern, Manager at The Malvern, responded to this review

Hello there Thank you so much for your lovely constructive review. I am delighted you both enjoyed your stay so much and that you experienced not only our great customer service but also every aspect of The Malvern. Relaxation is key and it is clear we achieved that for you! We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Lynsey... More

Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

For an expensive spa I must admit I was very disappointed. The place was scruffy, the restaurant was poor (lady who served us lovely) but staff just standing around chatting and our food took over1/2 hour to one out and was just a omelette and poached eggs. The relaxation room was also not great the staff chatting in the corridor... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MalvernMalvern, Manager at The Malvern, responded to this review

Hello there Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent visit. I am so disappointed to read your comments and that you did not enjoy your time here. As can be seen from our many previous positive reviews, it is most unusual for our guests to leave dissatisfied. I will ensure your feedback is shared... More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed overnight and both had spa treatments, despite being initially disappointed by the location it proved to be an enjoyable night away. All the staff without exception were pleasant and accommodating, a big plus point. Our hotel room was clean and spacious the views aren't the most amazing but thats not really what we went for,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MalvernMalvern, Manager at The Malvern, responded to this review

Hi Gemma Thank you for your review. I am delighted you both enjoyed your stay and 'saw beyond the location'. It is great to learn you enjoyed your treatments but I am disappointed to note one was cut short. This is most unusual and I hope you did discuss this with the Spa Manager at the time I look forward... More

Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My boyfriend surprised me with a spa break at the Malvern and we throughly enjoyed it! We had a very warm welcome at reception in which the lady gave us a short tour of the facilities and directed us to our room. The room was very spacious with slippers and robes on the bed waiting for us to begin our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MalvernMalvern, Manager at The Malvern, responded to this review

Hi Kate Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I am delighted you both enjoyed your surprise break at The Malvern. It is great that you enjoyed using all of the facilities and restaurant and I hope we will see you both again soon. Lynsey Kettlewell, General Manager More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Malvern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Malvern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malvern

Address: Grovewood Road, Great Malvern WR14 1GD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Great Malvern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Malvern 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Orbitz and Venere so you can book your The Malvern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malvern Hotel Malvern

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Great Malvern with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
32

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Malvern staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer