We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Windsor Castle Hotel

Hotel website
Hotel deals
18 High Street, Windsor SL4 1LJ, England
Special Offer
MERCURE SPRING OFFER
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Windsor Castle Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mercure Windsor Castle Hotel
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    355
    150
    58
    32
See reviews for
197
490
36
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1039)
  • Mar-May only
    (255)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (315)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (256)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (213)
All months
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Mercure Windsor Castle Hotel for a recent business trip. This is my second time staying at this hotel, and the level of service on this trip even surpassed my initial stay. There was a bit of confusion around my reservation upon my arrival, Aaron quickly sorted it out for me and was kind enough to upgrade... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Mercure Windsor Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear pdesmond33, Thank you very much for your recent reive and such positive feedback about Aaron and Ashley in particular who I will be delighted to share this with. We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, David Hayden General Manager More 

Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Decided on this venue for the look of the lovely armchairs to relax in and have a very long relaxed lunch.The staff were very friendly and keen to make ones visit enjoyable. Both had light lunch of sandwiches and stayed for a good couple of hours reading and watching the world go by ! Very relaxed atmosphere. Pretty good menu... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Mercure Windsor Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peter W, Thank you for your recent review and feedback. I was delighted to read you found our ambience and service friendly and keen resulting in a positive experience for you. I hope we can welcome you back to the Windsor in the near future. Kind Regards, David Hayden General Manager More 

Dorset
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On reading other reviews, the one entitled afternoon tea ,disappointing struck a chord with me. My mum gave my husband and I a Castle and Tea gift voucher which we used for our Anniversary. We were really impressed with everything about our castle visit and looking forward to our tea. We had no problems concerning the voucher at all but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Mercure Windsor Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jasad, Thank you for your recent review and please allow me to express my apologies that we did not deliver a personalised experience for you. Please be assured I will follow this up with my team to ensure that we focus on giving all guests the same level of service. I'm pleased you did enjoy your sandwiches and scones... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As someone who travels quite a bit, I have high expectations when it comes to customer service. With that said, I was highly impressed with the level of professionalism the staff portrayed. My colleagues and I were visiting from the US for a business trip and spent 7 nights in the hotel. From the moment we arrived, we were welcomed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Mercure Windsor Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Amy B, Thank you for your review and comments following your stay with us. I'm delighted you had a good stay with us and for the feedback you gave us in relation to the professionalism and service attributes of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and appreciate your recommendation. Kind Regards, David... More 

Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Although I was there for business, I could not fail to appreciate the lovely old hotel and friendly staff. I had a great room of the top floor and a wonderful view. A very enjoyable stay made better with nice food and lots of attention !

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Mercure Windsor Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Christine B, Thank you for your review and positive comments about the the hotel and the team. I'm delighted you had an enjoyable stay with us whilst here on business and hope we could welcome you back on a leisure break in the near future. Kind Regards, David Hayden General Manager More 

Los Angeles, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Location is great -- I had a beautiful view of Windsor Castle from my room, which was just a two minute walk away (really -- it wasn't even five minutes). Hotel is old, but rooms are clean and breakfast was fine. Parking lot was convenient. A wing of the hotel is under construction (I'm not sure that the construction was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Mercure Windsor Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MoreTrips001, Thank you for your recent review and feedback. Please be assured that we take the safety of our guests very seriously and comply with all the relevant Health, Safety and Security legisation within the UK. The hotel is covered by CCTV and we carry out regular checks on all the floors of the hotel. We do not challenge... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Down to Windsor for a friends wedding, the castle hotel well situated if arriving by train as we were, both stations a 5 minute walk as is just about everything else! The castle of course as well as shopping, river and some great pubs. Couldn't fault the hotel, nothing was too much trouble, breakfast great and staff friendly! Will definitely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Mercure Windsor Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Richard E, Thank you for your recent review following your stay at the hotel and for the positive comments about your experience and the team. I hope we can welcome you back to Windsor and the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, David Hayden General Manager More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff were most helpful and friendly. The public rooms were lovely and the hotel was very clean. The selection for breakfast great and the service efficient in the restaurant. However room 114 was very dark as the only window overlooked a brick wall. This was particularly disappointing as we found out on the day of our departure that in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Mercure Windsor Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 121mid, Thank you for your recent review and positive feedback about the team and our hotel presentation. Thank you also for your comments about the room which I am delighted to inform you is being fully modernised within the next 3 months which will hopefully address the points you raise. Once again thank you for taking the time to... More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for mine and my partners anniversairy, hotel was very clean and quiet staff were lovely and very friendly and the location was fab. Definitely looking at staying here again. Only downside was that it was a bit loud outside in the morning as there were lots of tourists getting on coaches etc.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Mercure Windsor Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bobin B, Thank you for your review and I was delighted to read that you are definitely looking to stay with us again. I hope this is the case and that we see you again soon in Windsor. Kind Regards, David Hayden General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

151 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (124)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (30)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (37)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question