We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Thames Hotel

3.0 of 5 Ray Mead Rd, Maidenhead SL6 8NR, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Thames Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Thames Hotel
The Thames Hotel
The Thames Hotel
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    30
    33
    11
    8
See reviews for
14
35
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (99)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (36)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Firstly, for the price and its location it's kind of OK... However it should not be riding on this alone. Rooms need a serious revamp, bathroom door had a foot shaped whole in it, the decor was very outdated, our door lock did not work properly and no water in the room?!?! Staff overall were friendly, though the chef in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014 via mobile

Booked the Thames Hotel as a last minute deal and was pleasantly surprised on arrival. Location on the river was very nice and as a family of four with two children under 6 we booked a family suite which was spacious. The staff were friendly and helpful and the Trevi restaurant was great. The hotel overall was pretty dated and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Scotlandwell
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

I had flown done to Heathrow to attend a family funeral and was able to get a room at The Thames hotel. After leaving Heathrow I headed towards the railway station as marked on the road map. That was when I realised that the centre of maidenhead had had a makeover and my map was not responding! After driving round... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014 via mobile

Booked for one night whilst visiting relatives in the area and was disappointed in the general shabby appearance of the place. hotel rooms appear to be in a time warp! Tired and outdated decor. Comfortable enough for one night but glad I'm not staying longer! Breakfast was good and staff very polite and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

We spent 2 nights in this hotel to break up our journey from Bristol to London. I was needing some out patient treatment in St Thomas's hospital on 22nd. We found a hotel where the staff were kind and really helpful. We ate both nights there. The Italian food was first class. Last eve as I was not too well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Essex
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

External view and thoughts of the hotel upon approaching is that its very tired and dirty looking, reception isn't any better. I booked an executive room over looking the Thames between which was a noisy main road plus noise from pub below. The room is dated and has a dirty feel to it, I walked into the en suite to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
thrapston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Booked this hotel to stay over for a family wedding. Bleak reception entered through shabby front door should have alerted us of what was to come. Rang bell in reception numerous times before staff appeared.Reception very disorganised and dirty. Three storey climb up dark staircases ,dirty decor and greasy scuffed fire doors until at the top of the building we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ThamesHotel, Manager at The Thames Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John Thrapston, Thank you for your comments on your stay at the Thames Hotel. We always appreciate customer feedback as it helps us to improve the Hotel. I am sorry that on this occasion you felt that you did not get the best out of the Hotel. On your early arrival the receptionist had just helped some other customers... More 

surrey
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
86 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

The decor of this hotel (inside and out) does not create a good first impression. It is very tired, and some of the facilities leave something to be desired - the shower in our room had barely any pressure. However, for a brief stay, it is a reliable choice in an area that appears to be seriously lacking in good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

serving London Pride is always a good start - efficient service - nice outside space - good value - friendly locals and a good atmosphere. Would certainly recommend for a quiet drink or an after work celebration

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Booked a family room for one night.room was on third floor,quite a climb! Could be difficult if you had really young children. Staff were great,very welcoming,and nothing was too much trouble ! The room needed some work,but good value for money,and the location right by the river was great.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Thames Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thames Hotel

Address: Ray Mead Rd, Maidenhead SL6 8NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Maidenhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Thames Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your The Thames Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thames Hotel Maidenhead

78 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay