We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Maidenhead hotels

The Thames Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ray Mead Rd, Maidenhead SL6 8NR, England
The Thames Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Thames Hotel to your Saves list
52%
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Maidenhead
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
Pamela B Bristol, United Kingdom
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    28
    32
    10
    8
See reviews for
14
35
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (95)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (36)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent 2 nights in this hotel to break up our journey from Bristol to London. I was needing some out patient treatment in St Thomas's hospital on 22nd. We found a hotel where the staff were kind and really helpful. We ate both nights there. The Italian food was first class. Last eve as I was not too well... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Essex
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

External view and thoughts of the hotel upon approaching is that its very tired and dirty looking, reception isn't any better. I booked an executive room over looking the Thames between which was a noisy main road plus noise from pub below. The room is dated and has a dirty feel to it, I walked into the en suite to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
thrapston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Booked this hotel to stay over for a family wedding. Bleak reception entered through shabby front door should have alerted us of what was to come. Rang bell in reception numerous times before staff appeared.Reception very disorganised and dirty. Three storey climb up dark staircases ,dirty decor and greasy scuffed fire doors until at the top of the building we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ThamesHotel, Manager at The Thames Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John Thrapston, Thank you for your comments on your stay at the Thames Hotel. We always appreciate customer feedback as it helps us to improve the Hotel. I am sorry that on this occasion you felt that you did not get the best out of the Hotel. On your early arrival the receptionist had just helped some other customers... More

surrey
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
85 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

The decor of this hotel (inside and out) does not create a good first impression. It is very tired, and some of the facilities leave something to be desired - the shower in our room had barely any pressure. However, for a brief stay, it is a reliable choice in an area that appears to be seriously lacking in good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

serving London Pride is always a good start - efficient service - nice outside space - good value - friendly locals and a good atmosphere. Would certainly recommend for a quiet drink or an after work celebration

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Booked a family room for one night.room was on third floor,quite a climb! Could be difficult if you had really young children. Staff were great,very welcoming,and nothing was too much trouble ! The room needed some work,but good value for money,and the location right by the river was great.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
9 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Never stayed here as we live 5mins from here, we go here for a few pints very nice, nice bar snacks, great staff, we love this place for a nice relaxing. Time :-) grahame and Alison stroud of maidenhead , England

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dereham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

A bit of a climb to the top floor but worth it for the view, we were greeted by pleasant staff on reception and was offered help with our luggage. The room was good value for the location and comfortable and clean, waking to a sight of a sunrise over the river was a bonus. We took the oppertunity of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Comfortable room - bed and covers , nice towels and toiletries available ... All the staff were very friendly - especially when I got back at 12 for a drink before bed .Breakfast was excellent quality for a cooked breakfast ... Proper quality bacon and sausages - fresh mushrooms Ect.... Only downside was cleanliness - was ok in the room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
55 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I stayed here with my girlfriend for a night in june. the hotel was ok, twenty five minute walk from the town centre with a italian restaurant in the hotel.the breakfast was self service and lovely, we had a great view looking over the river thames and could even see brunels train bridge, plenty of parking in a quite part... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Thames Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thames Hotel

Address: Ray Mead Rd, Maidenhead SL6 8NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Maidenhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Thames Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your The Thames Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thames Hotel Maidenhead

77 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (50)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (38)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay