We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Maidenhead hotels

The Thames Riviera Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Bridge, Maidenhead SL6 8DW, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Thames Riviera Hotel to your Saves list
The Thames Riviera Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
63%
Ranked #5 of 12 hotels in Maidenhead
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Wodjer Amsterdam
  • Overview
  • Reviews (333)
  • Photos (69)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (108)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

333 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    136
    71
    39
    19
See reviews for
52
132
23
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Arrived on 19th August for two night stay. Fortunately for us we were moved to a room on a lower floor and as such the beds were in the wrong configuration. Having sent housekeeping to redo the beds, we found the mattresses badly stained, also some of the bedlinen, and the towels were very thin and frayed. Not being able... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I am travelling about 100 days per year and can still confidently say that this was one of my worst hotel experiences. It was not so much the worn-down furnishing, the tired look & feel or the disappointing balcony, but the appalling way this place is run. I needed to complete some work during the stay, so the WiFi was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul T, Manager at The Thames Riviera Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TravelBug402 Thank you for your recent review. I am sorry to hear that you were dis appointed with your recent stay and I will be speaking to the team to discuss your feedback and implement corrective action where appropriate. We have had no recent issues with Wifi and unfortunately the receptionist was not able to come to your room... More

Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I planned a one-week trip to Maidenhead and booked the Thames Riviera for its nice location, family-hotel look and garden terace. Long story, short: In my first night I killed 5 spiders in the bathroom and 2 in the room. They don't have insect nets, so I could not open the windows, because just outside the window there was probably... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul T, Manager at The Thames Riviera Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I have spoken to the front desk and they are not aware of this situation so I would be grateful if you could contact me direct at the hotel on 01628 674057 to discuss further. Regards Ian More

Amsterdam
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for three nights, Was what I expected and paid for. Good sized double room. Bigger than usual bathroom - lots of how water and clean towels. Hotel has own rest/cafe which seemed popular ( and was visited by non-hotel guests too ) Staff were polite, attentive and did all they needed to

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ian D, Manager at The Thames Riviera Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Wodjer Thank you for your comment on your recent stay at the Thames Riviera. We look forward too welcoming you back when you’re next in the UK Regards Ian Hotel Manager More

Manchester Area
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had nice warm weather for one night on business, the hotel beer garden along the Thames was a great idyllic spot. Enjoyed a standard double room at the front of the hotel (not Thames side or the lodges), overlooking a park, clean, well presented and reasonable size room for one night. Bathroom was clean. Lunch was well presented and no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul T, Manager at The Thames Riviera Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We do have a great location by the river and I was pleased to hear that you were able to relax and enjoy this wonderful weather we have currently in the garden. I do hope we can welcome you back soon to the hotel. Kind... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked this hotel due to attending a wedding in the town centre for one night, staff are very helpful and friendly . The fabric of the building is very tired and needs work also the inside needs a bit of TLC. Due to insects we had to keep the windows closed and a fan is provided, due to our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul T, Manager at The Thames Riviera Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jackie D Thank you for your recent review and I was pleased to hear that you found the staff friendly and helpful. It is through our customer's feedback where we learn what we do well and where improvements can be made which is very valuable to us. I can assure you that I will be speaking to the Taxi... More

Thatcham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked this hotel under a free gift experience voucher and were pleased we had - we wouldn't pay to stay there. We had paid £20 to upgrade to what we were told would be one of the "Executive rooms". However, when we arrived, we were given a tiny little room, which looked nothing like any of the photos we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul T, Manager at The Thames Riviera Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Aimee Gomm Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I was pleased to hear that my team were able to move you to a different room as you were not satisfied with the original one. I am not sure why you have only given 1 star however I have taken on board all... More

Wingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

A great place to use as a base for the swan upping ceremony BUT the best feature was the car park. The room in the annexe was stifling hot and the fan provided was only capable of circulating hot air. Guests are advised not to open windows for fear of importing insects from the river therefore the room was unbearable,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul T, Manager at The Thames Riviera Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Keith J Thank you for your review and I am sorry to hear that you were dis-appointed with your stay. I have taken your feedback on board and will where possible take corrective action. We do a weekly fire alarm test which is advised in guest directory in the room as guest safety is paramount to everything we do.... More

Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We were a large family party of 14 consisting of various ages celebrating a special birthday on a Friday evening. We were allocated one particular waitress (Monique) who was excellant! Not overbearing but was always there when we required. The food was outstanding. We had a large variety of meals across our large table, when they were served all were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul T, Manager at The Thames Riviera Hotel, responded to this review

Dear A S Thank you for your recent review and for celebrating your special birthday with us at the Blue River Café. I was pleased to hear that you found the food outstanding and that you were well looked after by Monique. I will personally pass on your kind comments to her with thanks. I apologise that the drink service... More

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This hotel has a stunning location right next to the Thames and is itself a unique old building - I found the staff to be generally very attentive, friendly and helpful. However I found the food to be really expensive and not really that special - I cant accept that charging 13 Pounds for a basic hamburger - eaten in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul T, Manager at The Thames Riviera Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Roger L Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and I was pleased to hear that you found the staff to be friendly and attentive. I really do value your feedback and I will be discussing with the team in order to implement corrective action where we can. The rates are set according... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Thames Riviera Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Thames Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thames Riviera Hotel

Address: The Bridge, Maidenhead SL6 8DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Maidenhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Thames Riviera Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Thames Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thames Riviera Maidenhead
Thames Riviera Hotel

69 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (49)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Maidenhead with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated on the banks of the River Thames by Maidenhead Bridge, this splendid Edwardian building provides the gateway to Maidenhead, just half a mile away. Car parking for guests. Housing a total of 52 bedrooms, with 18 situated in the Waterside Lodge which is sited to the rear of the main building. Many of the well appointed bedrooms offer superb river views and others balconies, which overlook the terraces and River Thames. The Hotel has a renowned restaurant and bar in The Blue River Cafe which has been the place to be for over a decade with its fantastic food and lively atmosphere. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
52

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Thames Riviera Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer