We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Thames Riviera Hotel

3.0 of 5 The Bridge, Maidenhead SL6 8DW, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Thames Riviera Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Thames Riviera Hotel
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    140
    74
    42
    20
See reviews for
54
136
24
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (345)
  • Mar-May only
    (76)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (114)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (98)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (57)
All months
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed in this hotel overnight. Booked an executive room, goodness knows what the basic rooms are like. Did not stay in main hotel but in a grotty looking lodge at the back. The smell of mustiness hit you as soon as you opened the door and the whole place could do with a refurbishment. Our room was supposed to have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Nice venue for a get together. Staff very helpful and attentive. However, breakfast offered a good choice but was supposed to offer a hot buffet. The food was cold as was the coffee in thermos type containers. We mentioned this when checking out and we were then not charged. Good customer service. Receptionist was very helpful and friendly and was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul T, Manager at The Thames Riviera Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sandra H Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I would like to personally apologise for the poor experience which you had at breakfast and was pleased to see that this was rectified to your satisfaction. I will be following up with the team to ensure we have taken corrective action to prevent... More

New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We are on a business trip, this place seem to have all we needed. We too we're redirected to an old run down unit at the back. It is very run Down and stank, the sheets on the bed did not even fit over the bed properly, either did the top blanket, I asked for another blanket, which they bought... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul T, Manager at The Thames Riviera Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Astikuta Thank you for your recent review and I do apologise that you were dis appointed with your stay. I have spoken with my Head Housekeeper to go through your feedback and implement corrective action. As you can see from previous reviews cleanliness is an area we are always complimented on but unfortunately we have left ourselves down on... More

Kent
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lots of good, and some not so good things about this hotel which is very much a quirky character hotel set in a fab location, easily accessible from the M4. Room lovely, but so, so hot, luckily a fan was supplied! (It wasn't a particularly hot day either). Spotted heating vents nearby so not surprised the room was so hot.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul T, Manager at The Thames Riviera Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your recent review and feedback which we do value highly as that helps us to improve our service further. Unfortunately we do not have a lift or air conditioning however we do provide a fan in every room and also we have two partially accessible rooms located on the ground floor in Lodge building. I... More

Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

At first we were a little disappointed at the beginning of our two night stay to be shown to a separate building which is certainly not of the style of the main hotel, and not at all what we were expecting. We pointed this out to the manager who was very professional and accommodating (Thank you!). We were shown to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul T, Manager at The Thames Riviera Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Skinnywitch692 Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I was delighted to hear that you had a pleasant experience with us and also that we were able to accommodate you with an alternative room to your satisfaction. I was also pleased to see that you found all the staff friendly and helpful and... More

Roedermark, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice small Hotel with good bar and restaurant. If the weather allows than guest can sit also outside right at the Thames. The quality of the room depends very much on what room you get - they vary quite a loot with regards to noise from the street, fumes from the kitchen and view. The rooms in the backyard building... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul T, Manager at The Thames Riviera Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your recent review. I was pleased to hear that you liked the Restaurant & Bar and that you also enjoyed your cooked to order breakfast. Our rooms do vary in size and position due to the nature of the building and I am pleased to say that we have a maintenance programme in place which... More

Cheshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here at the weekend as we were attending a wedding near by. When we arrived the room we were allocated was a little disappointing, considering we were by the river, the view from our window was a brick wall. We spoke to reception and they happily moved up to another room and we were very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul T, Manager at The Thames Riviera Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lucymarie0208 Thank you for your recent review. I was pleased to note that you found the hotel and staff nice, it was also good to read that the staff ensured that you were offered assistance and alternative room when requested. With our location next to the river we have the constant challenge with insects and we ensure our cleaning... More

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Booked this hotel last minute (Sept 2014) as usually Holiday Inn was full. Then read the reviews. I was expecting a nightmare. Far from it! If this was on the banks of Lake Garda or similar tourist destination expect to pay 3 times or more, as it is its just a few mile from that other tourist hot spot (London)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul T, Manager at The Thames Riviera Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hungryfish2014 Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I was delighted to hear that you found the room and food excellent. We are always striving to improve further our levels of customer service and delivery so I am glad that you experienced that on arrival at the hotel. We are indeed lucky with... More

Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

My partner Liezel and I stayed at the Hotel recently for my birthday. As the restaurant in the Hotel, is one of our favourite places to eat,and we love its picturesque setting, we thought we would stay for the night.We were not dissapointed. We stayed in a room in the main Hotel, which was big, very clean and tastefully furnished,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul T, Manager at The Thames Riviera Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jakesey3 Thank you for your recent review and a belated Happy Birthday from all of us at the Thames Riviera. I was really pleased to hear that my team helped make the occasion a memorable one for you and look forward to welcoming you again next year if not sooner. Kind Regards. Paul More

Virginia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

I haven't seen all the rooms at the Thames Riviera so will speak only about the two I occupied during my last visit, neither of which was optimal. The first, in the main building, was located above the exhaust/AC vents from the kitchen, which were loud and sent fumes into my room when I opened the window. It also faced... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ian D, Manager at The Thames Riviera Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SROViginia Thank you for your recent comments at The Thames Riviera. Please could you contact me further at the hotel to discuses these points further. Kind Regards Ian - Hotel Manager 01628 674057 More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Thames Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thames Riviera Hotel

Address: The Bridge, Maidenhead SL6 8DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Maidenhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Thames Riviera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Venere, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Thames Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thames Riviera Maidenhead
Thames Riviera Hotel

74 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (54)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay