We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Maidenhead hotels

The Thames Riviera Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Bridge, Maidenhead SL6 8DW, England
Hotel amenities
The Thames Riviera Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Thames Riviera Hotel to your Saves list
62%
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Maidenhead
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
a2b14 Kent
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    139
    74
    41
    19
See reviews for
53
135
24
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (342)
  • Mar-May only
    (76)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (114)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (95)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (57)
All months
Kent
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Lots of good, and some not so good things about this hotel which is very much a quirky character hotel set in a fab location, easily accessible from the M4. Room lovely, but so, so hot, luckily a fan was supplied! (It wasn't a particularly hot day either). Spotted heating vents nearby so not surprised the room was so hot.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul T, Manager at The Thames Riviera Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your recent review and feedback which we do value highly as that helps us to improve our service further. Unfortunately we do not have a lift or air conditioning however we do provide a fan in every room and also we have two partially accessible rooms located on the ground floor in Lodge building. I... More

Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

At first we were a little disappointed at the beginning of our two night stay to be shown to a separate building which is certainly not of the style of the main hotel, and not at all what we were expecting. We pointed this out to the manager who was very professional and accommodating (Thank you!). We were shown to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul T, Manager at The Thames Riviera Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Skinnywitch692 Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I was delighted to hear that you had a pleasant experience with us and also that we were able to accommodate you with an alternative room to your satisfaction. I was also pleased to see that you found all the staff friendly and helpful and... More

Roedermark, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice small Hotel with good bar and restaurant. If the weather allows than guest can sit also outside right at the Thames. The quality of the room depends very much on what room you get - they vary quite a loot with regards to noise from the street, fumes from the kitchen and view. The rooms in the backyard building... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul T, Manager at The Thames Riviera Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your recent review. I was pleased to hear that you liked the Restaurant & Bar and that you also enjoyed your cooked to order breakfast. Our rooms do vary in size and position due to the nature of the building and I am pleased to say that we have a maintenance programme in place which... More

Cheshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here at the weekend as we were attending a wedding near by. When we arrived the room we were allocated was a little disappointing, considering we were by the river, the view from our window was a brick wall. We spoke to reception and they happily moved up to another room and we were very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul T, Manager at The Thames Riviera Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lucymarie0208 Thank you for your recent review. I was pleased to note that you found the hotel and staff nice, it was also good to read that the staff ensured that you were offered assistance and alternative room when requested. With our location next to the river we have the constant challenge with insects and we ensure our cleaning... More

Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked this hotel last minute (Sept 2014) as usually Holiday Inn was full. Then read the reviews. I was expecting a nightmare. Far from it! If this was on the banks of Lake Garda or similar tourist destination expect to pay 3 times or more, as it is its just a few mile from that other tourist hot spot (London)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul T, Manager at The Thames Riviera Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hungryfish2014 Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I was delighted to hear that you found the room and food excellent. We are always striving to improve further our levels of customer service and delivery so I am glad that you experienced that on arrival at the hotel. We are indeed lucky with... More

Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My partner Liezel and I stayed at the Hotel recently for my birthday. As the restaurant in the Hotel, is one of our favourite places to eat,and we love its picturesque setting, we thought we would stay for the night.We were not dissapointed. We stayed in a room in the main Hotel, which was big, very clean and tastefully furnished,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul T, Manager at The Thames Riviera Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jakesey3 Thank you for your recent review and a belated Happy Birthday from all of us at the Thames Riviera. I was really pleased to hear that my team helped make the occasion a memorable one for you and look forward to welcoming you again next year if not sooner. Kind Regards. Paul More

Virginia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I haven't seen all the rooms at the Thames Riviera so will speak only about the two I occupied during my last visit, neither of which was optimal. The first, in the main building, was located above the exhaust/AC vents from the kitchen, which were loud and sent fumes into my room when I opened the window. It also faced... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ian D, Manager at The Thames Riviera Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SROViginia Thank you for your recent comments at The Thames Riviera. Please could you contact me further at the hotel to discuses these points further. Kind Regards Ian - Hotel Manager 01628 674057 More

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I walked into the front door and found a waterfall coming from the ceiling - not a good start. The food was not recommended by the staff I spoke to, so I found a nearby establishment for dinner. The room had a dank smell, and was in a separate block (avoiding the water leak), it was reminiscent of a student... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul T, Manager at The Thames Riviera Hotel, responded to this review

Dear PeterHopton Thank you for your recent review. Unfortunately I cannot really respond to your comments as it was almost a year ago and like myself most of the team were not in the hotel at that time. I would like to say that we have worked hard on our standards and customer service throughout the past year and hopefully... More

Essex, England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We stayed at the Thames Riviera for one night to attend a wedding at Monkey Island. We were a little worried after reading some of the recent negative reviews but we needn't of worried! Room was clean and well presented with a comfortable bed and plenty of wardrobe space. We arrived 2 hours before check in as we had the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ian D, Manager at The Thames Riviera Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lauraapegirl Thank you for your recent stay at The Thames Riviera, I will pass your comments onto the team. And we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards Ian Hotel Manager More

Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Arrived on 19th August for two night stay. Fortunately for us we were moved to a room on a lower floor and as such the beds were in the wrong configuration. Having sent housekeeping to redo the beds, we found the mattresses badly stained, also some of the bedlinen, and the towels were very thin and frayed. Not being able... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ian D, Manager at The Thames Riviera Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Christine R Thank you for your feedback for stay at The Thames Riviera, We are currently auditing our bedroom needs, as you had your money refunded by the manager on duty. I can only apologise once more for the inconvenience caused. Regards Ian Hotel Manager More

Do you own or manage The Thames Riviera Hotel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Thames Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thames Riviera Hotel

Address: The Bridge, Maidenhead SL6 8DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Maidenhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Thames Riviera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Thames Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thames Riviera Maidenhead
Thames Riviera Hotel

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (50)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near The Thames Riviera Hotel