We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Salisbury accommodations

YHA Salisbury

Milford Hill, Salisbury SP1 2QW , England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added YHA Salisbury to your Saves list
YHA Salisbury
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
60%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014
Melina_Santos Exeter, United Kingdom
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    18
    6
    6
    6
See reviews for
4
12
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The customer service was on the whole very good - very friendly and helpful staff (apart from the chef who snapped at me for ringing the bell at breakfast a 3rd time when I got no response the first 2 times) and a nice location, but for a hostel, it was such a rip off. I booked a private twin... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Me and my friends were at YHA Salisbury during a bank holiday! We had a great time, the hostel is very nice, great location, very clean, good, secure and healthy environment! Salisbury is a lovely city and YHA Salisbury is a great option for students and short money travellers!

Was this review helpful? Yes
salisbury-manager, Manager at YHA Salisbury, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. More

Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

we chose Salisbury YHA for an overnight stay while visiting Salisbury and surrounding areas. The YHA was easy to find, close to the town centre, nicely tucked away from the hustle and bustle. On arrival we checked in and friendly staff guided us to our room. Slightly disappointed to see that the old wooden bunkbeds were still in use, we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
salisbury-manager, Manager at YHA Salisbury, responded to this review

Many thanks for all of your constructive comments, and glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us. The YHA is undergoing some major refurbishments presently around the country and we hope that we will be soon on the list. More

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

The hostel has an excellent location. The facilities are decent, though it could be cleaner. Its very good for travelers on a tight budget. Check in time is 13:00 hrs, they were quite strict about the check in timings. The linen is very clean. The heating was adequate. The kitchen facilities are decent. the breakfast is about 5 GBP. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
salisbury-manager, Manager at YHA Salisbury, responded to this review

The Bus Station is Salisbury has recently closed (March 2014) and bus stops can be found throughout the city. The coach park is about a 10 minute walk which handles intercity buses and National Express. We are very glad that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast for £4.99 which offers excelent value to enhance your stay with us serevd 07.30 -09.00.... More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Tired property - in need of renovation. Needs work to make it disabled friendly. Bar is cramped, Wonderful location close to town. Appeared to be run by a one man staff. Toilets need deep clean/repair.

Was this review helpful? Yes
salisbury-manager, Manager at YHA Salisbury, responded to this review

We do have a small team, but this gives us more opportunity to interact with guests. Toilets are deep cleaned each day by the housekeeping team, and we are sorry that they did not reach up to your expectations on this occassion. Any repairs are attended as soon as we are notified of any failure. We hope to see you... More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Full of damp and mould. You never ask for anything and get it. Requested for a room from mould and damp and was still given a room with asbestos, mould and damp. Awful is the way to describe this hostel. Bearing in mind that it is located in a very prominent town, Salisbury I think the owners should do something... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
salisbury-manager, Manager at YHA Salisbury, responded to this review

Thank you William for your comments. We are all a little confused by your comments. My team are on hand to help you at any time and most of the comments on this site reflect this. If there are cleanliness issues, we attend to them as soon as we are made aware, but often it is caused after the team... More

Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Unfortunately due to sickness I never made it to YHA Salisbury. I emailed the Manager explaining as such and asked under the circumstances whether he would consider accepting my late cancellation but he decided to charge me the full rate of what would have been my stay there. A little mean I think...............

Was this review helpful? Yes
salisbury-manager, Manager at YHA Salisbury, responded to this review

The YHA has a very generous refund policy, being able to cancel upto 24 hours notice if booked directly with us on our website. If we receive only a few hours notice then we do have to make a charge as others may have been denied a much sought after bed. The cancellation policy is clearly displayed on our YHA... More

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

It's a beautiful building, minutes away from the city centre on foot. The staff is friendly and helpful. However you get what you pay for, and I hadn't stayed in a YHA for a long time but I was told that other cities have much better, newer premises (e.g. Stratford-upon-Avon, Canterbury). I just hope they haven't pulled the plug on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
salisbury-manager, Manager at YHA Salisbury, responded to this review

Thank you for your constructive comments. Power sockets are limited in such an old house, but there are numerous sockets around the building if there are insufficient in a room at any one time. There was an issue with one of the eleven showers, and this has been replaced. More

Aachen
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Location: The location is ok, about a 10.15 minute walk to the city centre. The house is really beautiful and old and very quiet surroundings! Rooms: Well... the rooms of this hostel are really not comfortable! The mattresses on the beds were so worn that they formed a hollow in the centre in which one must lie by force. Also... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
salisbury-manager, Manager at YHA Salisbury, responded to this review

So glad that you enjoyed your stay. Power sockets are limited in such an old period house with the technological demandsput upon it, but the team here do all that we can help you, you have only to ask. More

Krakow, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The hostel is located in a lovely spot (surrounded by trees) so no traffic woke me up in the morning :) My dorm was basic, but clean and quite comfy, a duvet cover and a bed linen included in the price. There were no bedside lamps, though. There's breakfast with some veggie options for 4,99. Showers and toilets are ok... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to YHA Salisbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Salisbury

Address: Milford Hill, Salisbury SP1 2QW , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty lodging in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your YHA Salisbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YHA Salisbury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.