We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The New Ellington

#21 of 89 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
23 - 25 York Place, Leeds LS1 2EY, England
Hotel amenities
The New Ellington
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #21 of 89 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Lillywhite1 London, England
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    118
    62
    24
    18
See reviews for
22
239
13
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (457)
  • Mar-May only
    (101)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (125)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (112)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (119)
All months
London, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is a solid hotel - sizable rooms, comfy beds, good amenities, friendly staff. But something lets it down in the overall summation - it's a bit soulless somehow, and the gin bar in particular was empty and vacuous. However, the biggest downside was the breakfast. The waiter took our order, then brought back the completely wrong order. The menu... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
leeds uk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here Easter sunday, rooms lovely, location great and service efficient. Only downside was noise from lift and backstreet room looked onto. Would definitely stay again but requested a higher floor.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

we had a two night stay here..the staff were all very friendly and helpful esp the young man serving breakfast both mornings... The room was quiet and clean and full of lovely little extras like the coffee machine...the hotel's location is on a quiet street about 10mins from the main shops and restaurants which for us is an ideal location... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
TheNewEllington1, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review

Dear Geminiblueswife, Thank you for taking the time to share with the Trip Advisor Community your experience and thank you for choosing to stay with us. I was delighted as were the team with your kind comments concerning all aspects of your stay and that you enjoyed not our unique city location but the extra touches in the rooms. Should... More 

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just returned from two nights staying in this beautiful hotel. I can honestly say it was one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed at; the staff were friendly, helpful and knowledgable; the hotel has great character and although is a rather a modest size is extremely classy and comfortable and on top of this the food was outstanding!!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
TheNewEllington1, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review

Dear Phee B, Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Leeds and for taking the time to enjoy your comfortable stay with the Trip Advisor Community. I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that found the team helpful and friendly and that you enjoyed our luxurious beds we are re-known for. I have... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful hotel, centrally located with parking nearby. The young lady on reception was very helpful and friendly however there were a couple of aspects which disappointed !! The Gin Bar wasn't open or appeared not to be staffed in the evening, in fact we did not see a living soul in the bar area night or day . Also we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheNewEllington1, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review

Dear Sarahlou43, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. I was delighted to read to that you found the team welcoming and friendly. However I was extremely disappointed to read that we didn’t meet your expectations. We are transparent across all booking channels that there is regeneration work taking place in the area which... More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Overnight stay for business. Lovely hotel, great customer care and welcome from reception. Benefit of having a coffee making machine, fresh milk and small fridge. Good WiFi connection too. Will definitely use again if up in Leeds.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TheNewEllington1, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review

Dear JDB61 Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip advisor Community. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your business trip with us and you found our customer service welcoming. I was delighted you took advantage of our Nespresso Coffee Machines, Fresh Milk and our fantastic new WiFi service. If you would... More 

Ljubljana, Slovenia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is on a one way street and quite easy to find. It is a few minutes walk from the old town. The lobby is nice and comfortable, staff is helpful. The rooms are very nice and full of little details. My room (102) was looking on the inner side and offered a nice sleep.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TheNewEllington1, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review

Dear Jan O Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip advisor Community. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and enjoyed some of the finer details that our rooms have to offer. If you would like to stay again please let me know so I can arrange the... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We booked and came down the same night as a spontanous trip and we were not disappointed. We only stayed in the basic double room but it was anything but! I was particularly impressed with the coffee maker and the double shower room which was huge! Breakfast was lovely and so was the restaurant. It's worth a visit just for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TheNewEllington1, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review

Dear PJLiley Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip advisor Community It was a pleasure to read that you were left very happy with your stay with us. I was particularly happy to read that you enjoyed some of the standard features in our rooms, and that you enjoyed our A La Carte Breakfast.... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

This is the 2nd time my partner and I have stayed and we cannot not recommend it enough. Although slightly pricier than average, it comes through in the service of the staff and rooms and restaurant. Only 15 mins walk into centre so a convenient location

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TheNewEllington1, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review

Dear Tablb45 Thank you returning to The New Ellington and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip advisor Community. It was a pleasure to read that after a return visit you would still highly recommend us. It was also great to read that you found us value for money and this was reflected in... More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here in February on business. Located within walking distance of the station and close to the business district. Could not fault the staff or the standard of the room however there was nobody to be seen in the bar area and the restaurant was empty when I visited. Good for a business stay but not if you are looking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TheNewEllington1, General Manager at The New Ellington, responded to this review

Dear 556HAH Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor Community. It was a pleasure to read that you could not fault the staff or the room during your visit. Our Gin Garden does liven up later on in the evening, and especially at weekends, so why not return at the weekend and soak... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

155 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (98)
Viewed
Room/suite (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (57)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question