We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dalesgate Hotel

406 Skipton Road | Utley, Keighley BD20 6HP, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Dalesgate Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

64 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed in the hotel last Saturday night and the room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was tasty to set me up for the day. I was on the top floor and the ceiling is uneven but this gives the venue some character in my opinion. I would stay again if I were in the area.

Helpful?
Thank Jason J
Level Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2015 via mobile

We only needed somewhere to crash for the night. We had a room on the top floor, the slanted ceiling didn't really bother us. The shower was hot however it was very weak. I don't think I would have been able to wash hair (thankfully I'd brought my dry hair shampoo!). The location is good,only £5 to Keighley centre for... More 

Helpful?
Thank James M
Rochester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2015

the rooms have very low drop ceilings, that includes the bathroom, there website claims that there do evening meal and there do not do this at all, the beds are so uncomfortable its like sleeping on the floor this hotel is a horrible hotel and would not recommend to anybody to stay in,

Helpful?
2 Thank 441matt
Stephen A, General Manager at Dalesgate Hotel, responded to this review

I was somewhat surprised to read your comments, bearing in mind you were here for three days and never mentioned any of the issues you raise above and the fact we spoke for a good ten minutes while you were waiting for a taxi on your departure day, there was ample opportunity to have discussed & possibly resolve any issues... More 

Travelers are raving about these Keighley hotels

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2015 via mobile

Visiting yarndale for the weekend, saw the mixed reviews and was wondering what the hotel was like. Dated decor but can't fault the staff. Good location. Well worth considering if you're looking for a hotel in the area.

Helpful?
Thank mswep
Stephen A, General Manager at Dalesgate Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments, we were pleased to hear you had a pleasant stay, I am not sure which room you had but we have redecorated 50% of the bedroom stock and work will commence on another within the next two weeks. More 

Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2015

We booked this hotel from Spain. We needed 2 nights' stay to attend a family wedding. One problem is that we always travel with our eldrly dog, not wanting to leave him behind in Spain. He has toured extensively over most of Europe & is a well seasoned traveller. Most hotels charge a small fee for allowing dogs to stay.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Moya D
Stephen A, General Manager at Dalesgate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we were pleased you had an enjoyable stay, we will look into your suggestion regarding extra towel rails in the bathroom. We hope you got back home without any delays and hope we may be of service again if you happen to be in the area. More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015 via mobile

Arriving at the Hotel, couldn't see the car park, so had to park across the road and go and ask directions. Entering the hotel reception it smelled of smoke as people smoke just outside and the smoke Drifted in. Very basic hotel. We were in the attic rooms, very low ceiling,some fittings needed attention. Bed was comfy, linen very clean.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dianne M
Stephen A, General Manager at Dalesgate Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments, as you ultimately found our car park is directly behind the building off the main road and extends the length of the building. With regard to the rooms on the top floor, why they were designed that way is something of a mystery, but as you will appreciate there is no quick fix to resolve this... More 

Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2015

After some initial confusion over the room booking which was sorted out quickly and efficiently we found the rooms comfortable, clean, tidy and quiet. The children had a shared room opposite which was very convenient. Breakfast was good quality with the staff being friendly and helpful. We only had one night here as we were passing through but it's a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dave S
Stephen A, General Manager at Dalesgate Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments, we were pleased to hear you had a pleasant stay and hope we may be of service again at some future date. More 

wigan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015 via mobile

Southport to Scarborough and we stopped here en route. Very good caring staff and well set out rooms. Very clean and the towels were the best to use after a shower. One comment. We were in room 4 and the hairdryer is on one wall and the mirror on another. I am sure a small mirror could be put on... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank joan f
Stephen A, General Manager at Dalesgate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments we were pleased to hear you had a pleasant but brief stay, I believe the mirror in that room had fallen off the dressing table & smashed and we were in the process of sourcing a replacement. If you happen to be passing this way again we hope we may be of service again. More 

Penrhyndeudreath, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

My wife and I had three nights at The Dalesgate. We used it as a base to do a "mini" tour of the Dales. It was an excellent base for this purpose, with easy road connections into The Yorkshire Dales. The staff were friendly, helpful, informal (in a good way) and professional.The rooms were clean and tidy (except for the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme W
Stephen A, General Manager at Dalesgate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay. We very much appreciate the feedback. We were pleased to hear you had a pleasant stay and hope we may welcome you back at some future date. With regard to heating, we have 3 seperate boilers which provide the hot water & central heating,one for each section... More 

Blackpool
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here with another couple whilst attending bronte vintage gathering. We were delighted with our rooms which were spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable beds. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Our breakfasts were really good and couldn't fault in any way. What a bargain - we didn't expect this quality for the price we paid.

Helpful?
Thank bvpg
Stephen A, General Manager at Dalesgate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we were delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We very much appreciate you taking the time & trouble to share your experience with us & prospective guests. We hope you also enjoyed the Vintage gathering and the weather was a bonus. We hope we may be of service again if you attend... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keighley
3.8 mi away
The Old White Lion Hotel
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Bradford North (Bingley) Hotel
5.7 mi away
Rendezvous at Skipton
Rendezvous at Skipton
#3 of 4 in Skipton
4.0 of 5 stars 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 stars 3,676 reviews
5.4 mi away
Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel
3.8 mi away
Wilsons of Haworth
Wilsons of Haworth
#3 of 21 in Haworth
5.0 of 5 stars 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay