We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Chapel Forge

GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Lagness, Chichester PO20 1LR, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Old Chapel Forge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

97 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2015

We stayed in the Old Chapel, as a try out for our first break away with our pug puppies. I noticed some of the negative reviews , it's certainly not my opinion. Our bed was very comfortable & the room was extremly clean. Had a supply of DVD's for a rainy day too. The room was spacious and we had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stevie1954
Bushey, Herts
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2015

Sandy had been very accommodating because I had to change my dates due to my father's discharge from hospital being delayed. Unfortunately even with her instructions we had difficulty finding the b&b. Best advise arrive in daylight if possible. We stayed in the king size suite. The room and bathroom were of good size. However the bed was very uncomfortable... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kasler
lagness, Owner at Old Chapel Forge, responded to this review

Sorry you did not enjoy your stay and breakfast. The room has a bath with a shower mixer on the bath tap so not to be compared to a power shower. You were so upset not you could wash your hair in the shower and I offered you a jug as you were so worried about your hair. The breakfast... More 

Surrey
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2015

Very disappointed so much so we left a day early and still paid for the night. In fairness the owner did offer us the other double room in house for our final night, but it was much smaller and 4'6'' bed and closer to the road, so we declined and decided to cut our break short and return home as... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank katdSurrey
lagness, Owner at Old Chapel Forge, responded to this review

Sorry you did not enjoy your stay! The reason for leaving early you had stated was due to work commitments & you had to shorten your stay by one night to three and may not stay the third night ,so I did not charged for night you cancelled. Paid & then said the bed was not to your liking, I... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2015 via mobile

Quiet location. Small room but all well kept with generous size bathroom. Only a 5 minute drive to the pier! Where you can find a selection of eaterys and even 18 hole crazy golf. Parking available at venue but be sure to slow down on approach.

Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2015 via mobile

My husband and I spent one night here on 5th August as surprise for my birthday. The place is just beautiful. Spotlessly clean, rooms Are spacious and fully equipped. Grounds beautifully maintained and all those little touches that make it extra special. The owner is a lovely lady, very helpful and extremely welcoming she even upgraded us to the Chapel... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tracie117
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

The Old Chapel Forge is beautiful and set in the most charming gardens, run by a fantastic lady called Sandra who is so lovely and friendly (always dressed and presentable) she welcomes you into her kitchen for one of the most amazing breakfast you will ever eat and uses local produce, In our room we found a folder with all... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vicky P
lagness, Owner at Old Chapel Forge, responded to this review

I am so glad you had a lovely stay at old Chapel Forge and i look forward to welcoming you again soon! Sandra More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

We spent 2 nights @ the Old Chapel Forge on our trip around England. While nice and close to Chichester and Portsmouth it it memorable for what it did badly than anything remarkable. Do not expect any local guidance on what to see and do other than the obvious of Portsmouth ... it was just so opposite to everything else... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Heather3159
lagness, Owner at Old Chapel Forge, responded to this review

I can only imagine that you must stayed at another B&B as I am the only owner, female, single and live on my own. I can assure you I am never not dressed for breakfast. Do hope you experience of the UK got better. More 

Bedfordshire, England.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

I cannot recommend the Old Chapel Forge enough! I stayed here with a friend and had a fantastic time. The house is set back off the road in a beautiful garden. Sandra, the owner, is so friendly and welcoming. The room was clean and homely. The food was delicious and there was a great choice. Staying at the Old Chapel... More 

Helpful?
Thank rebeccakday
lagness, Owner at Old Chapel Forge, responded to this review

So pleased you loved your stay at Old Chapel Forge and we look forward to you staying again for Goodwood Horse-racing! Have to see if I can get some hot tips for you! Sandra More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015

We arrived very late at night from Australia had to wake Sandra up she was very good about it, we stayed for about 17 nights and we were lucky enough to stay in 3 of her rooms. We had everything we wanted and she was very helpful we come home late and so the breakfast menu was put in very... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank lily1molly2
lagness, Owner at Old Chapel Forge, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. Missed you after you stayed 17days! Hope the journey home was good and it was a pleasure to meet you both, keep well!! Sandra More 

surrey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

Took a bit of finding.....we wanted rural, and we got it! The car park was situated just metres away from our room. We had a short walk down the garden and entered the property through a private front door. i was very impressed with our room, two comfortable beds, a small settee, T.V with digital channels, a D.V.D player, even... More 

Helpful?
Thank mandieSurrey
lagness, Owner at Old Chapel Forge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Old Chapel Forge and we look forward to welcoming you again soon! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chichester
4.0 mi away
Premier Inn Chichester Hotel
4.1 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#1 of 9 in Chichester
4.5 of 5 stars 586 reviews
4.0 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#8 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 stars 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bognor Regis Hotel
2.9 mi away
Spire Cottage
Spire Cottage
#1 of 1 in Hunston
5.0 of 5 stars 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay