We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Chichester hotels

The Nags Head

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 St Pancras | St. Pancras, Chichester PO19 7SJ, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Nags Head to your Saves list
The Nags Head
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
64%
Ranked #8 of 9 hotels in Chichester
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
Rachael H
  • Reviews (57)
  • Photos (14)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (12)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    18
    11
    4
    6
See reviews for
12
22
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We ate here on a very busy Sunday evening (fathers day) for my daughter's birthday with family and overall had a good meal, however there is some lacking with service and attention to detail. Upon arrival we were given a menu but no drinks menu and as we'd entered via the rear of the building hadn't been anywhere near the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chichester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went here with my son this evening, very busy, but we did not have to wait at all. The food/staff/ambience were brilliant. Very clean, all the staff were very smiley and made you feel comfortable. You must try this place, you will not regret it. Very yummy !!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gosport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

After reading some of the reviews I was very surprised that there were some negative ones on here. We visited The Nags Head for a late lunch today. We found them purely by chance when we parked in a different car park! We were seated immediately and drinks arrived promptly. We ordered the duck salad, the chicken salad and a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

My husband and I went to the Nags Head for a meal after shopping. The Pub decor has certainly improved but the food was expensive and not very good. I had fish & chips, my husband had a beef burger. My fish was very small, lots of batter hardly any fish and it was very dry. My husband liked the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheNagsHead, Owner at The Nags Head, responded to this review

thank you for your comments. we try to make a effort to respond to constructive criticism as this can only help are business grow and improve. we were however slightly confused as when the owner cleared your plates and asked if everything was ok they were empty and you had no complaints which in after reading this we were confused.... More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

My partner and I have eaten at the Nags for many years and always find the service and food very good. However, I must admit we had not been for a while and decided to return a couple of weeks ago on a Saturday evening at gone eight o'clock so it was not particularly busy. Firstly, it would appear the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We were also at The Nags Head for a family meal at the same time as the comment below. To say they were not busy is extremely unfair. The restaurant was to the roof with very happy customers and wonderful food. The staff were all very bubbly and as every year it was a great all round experience considering the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Selsey, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Went to the nags last night to celebrate a family birthday. After finally getting served we then waited over an hour for food. Even though our meals were nice the waitress service was very poor. We was not happy with the way we was treated and when we complained they said they had staff shortage and were busy. They certainly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheNagsHead, Owner at The Nags Head, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. We pride ourselves in quality service, and it is unfortunate that your experience wasn't stellar on such an important occasion, this will be looked into. Your late arrival during our busiest period of the night did put extra pressure on the kitchen. Our food is freshly prepared, which does take time,... More

Shanklin, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We booked a night with this hotel at a reduced price via www.laterooms.com and received emailed confirmation of our booking complete with booking reference number. Unfortunately we were then told by the hotel, only an hour before we were due to arrive, that there had been a mistake on the pricing and they refused to honor it!!! This left us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheNagsHead, Owner at The Nags Head, responded to this review

Thank you for expressing your concern with our room prices. Unfortunately, we do not offer our rooms for £1. This was a very poor error made by a third party website, seeing as our rooms have never been offered for £1 on our own website. We are also sorry that when we offered you a discounted price due to the... More

Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I booked into this place on business. I got a good rate on a comparison website. To be fair - it was worth what I paid - but not worth the usual asking price. Why? Well, I've had to give this some thought. Essentially it is a pub. It had big screens in the public bars and as I arrived... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

We dropped in for a quick sandwich and were not disappointed. They used fresh bread, and not the sliced "plastic" variety, filled with plenty of tasty fresh ham and salad in one and generous portions in the club sandwich. Overall we were pleasantly surprised and would gladly return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Nags Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Nags Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nags Head

Address: 3 St Pancras | St. Pancras, Chichester PO19 7SJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Nags Head 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your The Nags Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nags Head Hotel Chichester

14 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The NagsSituated in the heart of Chichester, The Nag's Head is the perfect venue for visiting the city. Whether you're popping in for a drink, having a meal, or staying a while, the ambience of this traditional tavern with modern touches will suit everyone.Our barWe are proud of our heritage, which is reflected in the ambience created by our lovingly restored bar. We offer a good range of drinks & non-alcoholic beverages, and quality home-made food.Our restaurantOur carvery remains a firm favourite, offering outstanding meals alongside our main restaurant menu. Our chefs use freshly prepared, local and seasonal produce, served in a friendly & relaxed atmosphere.Our accommodationOur eleven tasteful, individually designed rooms are all en-suite, with television and tea & coffee making facilities. Our excellent full English breakfast is included in the price.Our well-placed TV screens enable viewers to watch a selection of live sporting events, either within our bar area or on our large screen within the lounge area. Enjoy the match with a drink or snack from our bar menu. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
10

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer