We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Swan Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
4.0 of 5
Hotel website
27-29 High Street, Arundel BN18 9AG, England (Formerly Arundel Swan Hotel)
Special Offer
TripAdvisor 10% Off
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Swan Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

327 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I really don't like being Negative. I would have given the place a five rating but the service was bit of a let down. We arrive at the door. There was no front of house to speak of which is OK, but we were waiting 5/10 minutes and the service seemed confused then we were given the room keys. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank 977matt
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed in executive, room 9 for three nights. We payed 150 a night b&b and received a night free for staying during January which was gratefully received. The restaurant/bar area is lovely looking. OK atmosphere. Male bar tender with dark hair had an awful attitude... why he's in the hospitality industry I don't know! There was a very talented female... More 

Helpful?
Thank Z0ek22
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Z0ek22, Thank you for taking the time to give a detailed review. We apologise if the crème brulees that you had were darker than you prefer - my assistant manager remembers serving them to you and would not have brought them to you if she considered them to be burnt. With regard to your breakfast on the first morning,... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My partner booked the rooms for a Friday & Saturday night, we now the area fairly well, and Arundel is well placed to explore the coast, and the South Downs. The hotel / pub os owned by Fullers, so was a bit disappointed we didn't have any local ales on offer. The service, food and general comfort was top notch.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stephen W, Thanks for your comments! I'm delighted that you thought that the service, food and general comfort was "top notch". It is unfortunate that we do not have our own car park, but it's true that the pay and display car park behind is only until 6pm, and then after that time you can put a little money... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed just one night so wasn't worth making a fuss about if but my room was cold because the window wouldn't close. Room was clean and bed fairly comfortable. Breakfast was good but dinner just average. Could hear someone walking across the floor in the room above, ask for a first floor room as it makes a lot of noise.... More 

Helpful?
Thank nonemuss
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear nonemuss, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are sorry you had difficulty with your window, however if you contacted a member of staff we would have been happy to help you. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast, however we would be interested to know what would have made the dinner better... More 

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel is ideally placed in the centre of Arundel. Staff were friendly and helpful . Rooms were ok, everything you need for a night away. Unfortunately the food was not good. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and were very disappointed with the food. 3 of 6 main courses were returned. Would not eat here again.

Helpful?
Thank Teepeebee
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Teepeebee, Thank you for your review. As previously discussed on your booking.com review, we are sorry to hear that the food was not to your liking, however we are pleased to hear that the staff were friendly and helpful. Beata Slapikaite General Manager More 

Liss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Although very cold outside, hotel was lovely a warm throughout - and heating stayed on all night - but could be adjusted to suit. Food quality very good and room 12 was pretty quiet - some early morning noise one day

Helpful?
Thank CultureVulture0
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CultureVulture0, Thank you for your review. It's important for the rooms to be nice and warm at this time of year! It's also nice to know that you thought the food quality was 'very good' and that generally the rooms were quiet. We hope you would come and stay with us again. Beata Slapikaite General Manager More 

Taunton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had an excellent stay at the Swan. Lovely, warm and cosy pub. Staff very friendly and helpful. The king size bed was really comfortable and our room was quiet even though it faced on to a street. Excellent breakfast using high quality ingredients.

Helpful?
Thank smudger1002013
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear smudger1002013, Thank you for reviewing us - we're thrilled you had an 'excellent' stay and hope you would come and stay again! Beata Slapikaite General Manager More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped for the one night before a meeting in Brighton. I'd driven past Arundel before and thought it looked interesting. The hotel is in the middle and very easy to get to. There is a pay and display car park behind it which is free from 6pm until 8am so there is adequate parking. The room I stopped in (no5)... More 

Helpful?
Thank marsbar63
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear marsbar63, Thank you for your complimentary review. I'm delighted that you were comfortable and thought the food was very nice, but equally glad that my staff are "pleasant and professional"! We do usually try to provide our own fresh biscuits (I don't believe in packets!) so I'm sorry if none were provided when you stayed - if you choose... More 

Somewhere South of Watford
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016

Spent a weekend in Arundel recently and stayed here without any previous knowledge. Large, nice looking old pub (now more of a gastro pub, but still with a popular bar area) ideally located in the heart of Arundel. One issue is that it does not have its own car park, and you have to use the 'pay & display' public... More 

Helpful?
Thank Illalwaysbeabaggie
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Illalwaysbeabaggie, Thank you for your comprehensive review! It's true that we do not have our own car park, but the car park behind is only 60p an hour and it is possible to 'top up' some money the night before (after the current day is over, at 6pm). I'm pleased you thought that your room was homely, but sorry... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights over new year. The location is excellent and cannot be faulted. There is no parking but a carpark immediately behind which charges £7 for 24 hours. The room was light and airy. Very modern decor. The rug in the room was a tad grubby and the shower not particularly powerful but these minor points. Room... More 

Helpful?
Thank naticle
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear naticle, Thank you for your review! It is great to hear that your room was light and airy. I have passed the comments on to my housekeeping department regarding the rug and shower to see if anything can be done to rectify this. I am sorry to hear that the New Year's Eve food was not up to our... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (56)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
0.1 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#4 of 7 in Arundel
3.5 of 5 stars 380 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#6 of 7 in Arundel
3.5 of 5 stars 1,317 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Arundel Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#3 of 7 in Arundel
4.0 of 5 stars 144 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arundel Park Hotel
Arundel Park Hotel
#7 of 7 in Arundel
3.5 of 5 stars 71 reviews
12.1 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay