We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Swan Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
4.0 of 5
Hotel website
27-29 High Street, Arundel BN18 9AG, England (Formerly Arundel Swan Hotel)
Special Offer
TripAdvisor 10% Off
The Swan Hotel
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
britbug8 New York City
Add Photo Write a Review

291 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    164
    84
    29
    11
    3
See reviews for
31
169
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (291)
  • Mar-May only
    (62)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (90)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (78)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (61)
All months
New York City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My boyfriend and I stayed over on a Saturday and were pleasantly surprised by the modern decor, comfortable bed and amazing breakfast for the price. The decor of the rooms is lovely and it was super clean with modern finishes. The eggs benedict for breakfast is not to be missed!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here on a short break from London. The room was very nicely appointed, with a good sized, comfortable bed. Nice free toiletries as well. However, the room was a touch small, and it would have been nice to have had a bath as well. The shower was good though. One comment I would make is that the window couldn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LAtoasia, Thanks for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and particularly the food. Many people enjoy the peace and quiet away from big cities like London, so we're pleased you did too. Beata Slapikaite General Manager More 

Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great central location, super comfy clean and spacious rooms with a bed to die for, with generous tea and coffee making facilities and great food, including interesting choices for us veggies! Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dave R, We're thrilled to be considered 'super comfy'! Thank you for saying so. We hope you would consider returning to stay with us some time. Beata Slapikaite General Manager More 

Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

what is magical place to eat and stay in arundel,is in town centre very close to arundel deliciousness food and nice staff who is very attention to guest.place wherever you always need to relax ,stay and have nice food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear vilkas2015, We're delighted that you think we're "magical"! Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We hope to see you again. Beata Slapikaite General Manager More 

london
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We travelled to Arundel for a wedding and booked a 2 night stay at The Swan. Location is great, very pretty and well situated for the castle. We booked a standard double room with breakfast and had high hopes given the positive reviews and the pictures on The Swan website. We were allocated our room but was extremely disappointed to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BRANDYBABE96, We are very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied by your experience with us. I believe that there was a miscommunication and that the housekeeping team had not completely finished cleaning the room when you were checked in, and for this mistake we apologise. Our rooms are usually very clean and tidy and it's very unusual... More 

Looe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed here several times, always on my own for business, and have always been made to feel very welcome, at home and relaxed. The food is high quality and the rooms are individually decorated and very comfortable. The surrounding area is so nice to walk around, either as a lone traveller or a couple/family. Would recommend The Swan... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kate S, Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you are very comfortable here at The Swan and that you enjoy the decor and location. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Beata Slapikaite General Manager More 

Switzerland
Level Contributor
195 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 602 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

Great place to stay in Arundel. The rooms are done to a high standard and the 'executive' room was especially nice. Huge bed with fluffy duvet and extra blankets, seating area, and a nice bathroom with both bath and separate rain shower. Very comfortable and cozy, with the added bonuses of having a great pub downstairs as well as being... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear inkwave17 Thank you for your review - we're glad that you had an 'excellent' stay. We're also delighted to hear that you'll 'definitely come back', and look forward to seeing you again. Beata Slapikaite General Manager More 

Surrey
Level Contributor
93 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

The Swan is a step up from the usual pub with rooms/small hotel experience. This is probably because it was apparently refurbished to a high standard less than two years ago. Although there are only 9 rooms, they are at 3 levels/prices. We stayed in a middle/Superior room. It had its own individual style, which is unusual, but refreshing. (... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Albermarle Thank you for your comprehensive review of our hotel! We're pleased that you had a comfortable stay and that you enjoyed your meals with us. You're right about the different levels of accomodation, but we actually have 14 rooms, and some are on the 2nd floor. We hope that you would consider staying with us again. Beata Slapikaite... More 

Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015

We arrived very late due to several traffic problems during our six hour journey. The staff were exceedingly welcoming and took us to our room. As we were too late to eat they gave us directions to other restaurants that were still serving. Our room no16 was excellent with views of the castle. The bathroom was very spacious with stand... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Marinerette, Thank you for your detailed review of your experience in our hotel! We are happy to hear that you had a 'fabulous' time and that you could think of very few negatives. We do try to provide freshly baked shortbread biscuits daily and there should have been some in a tin on your tray, so we apologise if... More 

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2015

We got married in Arundel a few weeks ago and most of our guests including ourselves stayed at the Swan. We could not have hoped for a better place. Beata and her fantastic team have been a great help from beginning to the end, being so friendly, accommodating and professional throughout. Our guests including ourselves were very pleased with the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SHMLG, Thank you for your comprehensive review! We do appreciate when people take the time to give feedback for our sake and others, and are glad that you had such a 'fantastic' time with us. We pride ourselves on our ability to make our functions unique and personal, especially weddings. It is our pleasure to make your day special,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
0.1 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#4 of 7 in Arundel
3.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
3.5 of 5 stars 1,165 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Arundel
Premier Inn Arundel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
4.0 of 5 stars 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#3 of 7 in Arundel
4.0 of 5 stars 120 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arundel Park Hotel
Arundel Park Hotel
#7 of 7 in Arundel
3.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
3.9 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
4.5 of 5 stars 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay