We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shaftesbury House Serviced Apartments

59-61 Station Street, Birmingham B5 4DY, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Shaftesbury House Serviced Apartments
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

25 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2015

Apartments are in a great location if travelling by train. The apartments are literally across the road from the south side entrance to Grand Central station. The apartment was very clean and fully equipped. Although the apartment was very nice, I would not say there was anything luxury about it. Downsides were that floor boards from apartment above were very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Les A
Hadnall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

Fantastic location for central Birmingham, right by the train centre entrance and John Lewis store. Really close to restaurants, Big Wok & Ming etc. Nice room with a small kitchen ideal for two people (stayed in a one bedroom apartment. Easy to pick up the keys with clear instructions, clean tidy and great price. Ideal for the German market and... More 

Helpful?
Thank mark h
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2015 via mobile

I arrived to find the key code did not work on so had to call an 0845 number to gain access. The room is shabby to say the least and has a hospital smell. Unfortunately the antiseptic cleaning fluid wasn't used on the furniture next to the bed and so I find myself lying next to a handprint of what... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew C

Travelers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Oxted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2015

The flat is ideally located for pretty much everything however...we arrived to a broken lift which meant a pretty long climb! The flat really needs some TLC - the chest of drawers is on its last legs, the bed is pretty uncomfortable and the shower pretty cheap. Unfortunately being RWC weekend there was pretty much constant noise from the surrounding... More 

Helpful?
Thank LeonyG
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
111 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2015 via mobile

It was my partners birthday so we decided to book this apartment after seeing the photos on the website. Unfortunately, the photos were better than the actual apartment itself considering its supposed to be rated 8.3, we can't see how. The apartment is located in the centre of Birmingham and opposite the train station. It was clean and tidy but... More 

Helpful?
Thank ch3ryl_t
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

The location here is excellent - extremely close to New St, and perfect for Chinatown or shopping trips. We stayed in a flat with the bed on the mezzanine, and it was spacious and well-appointed. Some of the furniture was a little tired, which in this price-point is a little disappointing - but this was made up for by the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kay H
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here on 14/02/2014 as we were watching a show at the Hippodrome. It's in such a good location, it only took us a few minutes to walk to the Hippodrome and it's only down the road from New Street (back entrance). It's great how there is no check in - they email you a code... More 

Helpful?
Thank chloe m
Northampton, England
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

I struggle to believe some of the reviews about these apartments. I stayed here in Aug 2014 with my teenage children. It was clean, well equipped and in a great location. There were some minor decorating issues but nothing major. There's a lift, satellite telly, fridge, dishwasher, multi storey parking and a ?24Hr convenience store nearby. it's close to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Firestarter29
138GeneralManager, General Manager at Shaftesbury House Serviced Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Firestarter29, Thank you for your feedback. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you would return in the future. With regard to the 'building work' at the redevelopment site for New St Station and John Lewis the main building work has indeed finished, they have now moved on to the cosmetic work and internal fit... More 

Lancaster
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

We are here now. One bed studio is exactly as it looks on the photo. Clean. Well equiped for self catering. Lift,TV and wifi worked rightaway. Getting in was simple but our room is opposite the lift. Maybe they could put a sign on the other door that leads to the other rooms. Yes there is building work opposite but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lancasterhappy
138GeneralManager, General Manager at Shaftesbury House Serviced Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Lancasterhappy, Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad that your studio was to your pleasing and that you were pleased with our central location. There is a closer parking facility just across the road at NCP New Street (St Jude's Passage) whereby we can arrange a discount ticket for overnight parking. The studio with separate bed area is indeed... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

due to working at different areas around the country, this was by far the worst stay I have ever experienced whilst renting this apartment out for the night. Constant parties next door throughout the night, could not get to sleep. no staff on the premises to help for any enquiries or questions. no security, anyone can just walk into the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kiranjit k
138GeneralManager, General Manager at Shaftesbury House Serviced Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Kiranjit, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feed back. In response to your review, I'd like to clarify that we do not tolerate parties within any of our Cityquarters serviced apartments. We have a strict policy on this and take a £150.00 deposit for any weekend stays to deter this. Cityquarters operate a 24 hour... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 138 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 stars 701 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 138 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 stars 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Birmingham
#91 of 138 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 stars 396 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#9 of 138 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 stars 1,921 reviews
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#14 of 138 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 stars 1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay