We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 22 Birmingham accommodations

Shaftesbury House Serviced Apartments

59-61 Station Street, Birmingham B5 4DY, England (Ladywood)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Shaftesbury House Serviced Apartments to your Saves list
Shaftesbury House Serviced Apartments
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
41%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014
Lancasterhappy Lancaster
  • Overview
  • Reviews (17)
  • Photos (10)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (2)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    2
    2
    6
See reviews for
1
6
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We are here now. One bed studio is exactly as it looks on the photo. Clean. Well equiped for self catering. Lift,TV and wifi worked rightaway. Getting in was simple but our room is opposite the lift. Maybe they could put a sign on the other door that leads to the other rooms. Yes there is building work opposite but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

due to working at different areas around the country, this was by far the worst stay I have ever experienced whilst renting this apartment out for the night. Constant parties next door throughout the night, could not get to sleep. no staff on the premises to help for any enquiries or questions. no security, anyone can just walk into the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
138GeneralManager, General Manager at Shaftesbury House Serviced Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Kiranjit, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feed back. In response to your review, I'd like to clarify that we do not tolerate parties within any of our Cityquarters serviced apartments. We have a strict policy on this and take a £150.00 deposit for any weekend stays to deter this. Cityquarters operate a 24 hour... More

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

PLEASE DO NOT STAY HERE! THEY WILL NOT REFUND YOUR MONEY AND VERY BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE. do not stay here!! They will not refund your money and very bad customer service! did not return my deposit because i had more then 2 people visit the apartment. Nothing had been broken, no spillages, everything was tidy when we left. even the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
138GeneralManager, General Manager at Shaftesbury House Serviced Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Sunil R, Thanks for taking the time to leave your comments. Your hired an apartment for two guests recently. A neighbouring guest called our 24 hours helpdesk to complain about the noise coming from your apartment. The same guest had knocked on your door previously and asked you to turn the noise down, you clarified this information with us... More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I regret to have taken this service apartment for two weeks. it will work for you if everthing is in place and do wish nothing breaks at time of your stay, as no one will be around to help you. yes they have got a number for maintenance but the customer service and respect is what you wont get. the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The apartment was nice. Check in service of collecting keys out of safe was different but I suppose it done the job. Everything you needed was there. Need to bring toiletries. The building work on New Street station was happening throughout the night which was disturbing but really couldn't be helped. Overall ok stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheffield, UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Absolutely terrible in all ways! The sofa had broken springs, the bed felt like a camp bed (as another reviewer describes it). Inadequate space and EXTREMELY noisy next to the pub next door. You might as well have been in the pub itself as the music blasted until 2-3am Complained and got absolutely no where but extremely bad attitude. They... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I have stayed here many times, 3 or 4 times in the basic studio, once in the Duplex, and once in the top floor studio with separate bed area, and I really like it here, Burne jones house is maybe slightly better, but Shaftesbury House is normally a couple of quid cheaper although both properties are run by the same... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Do not pay to park here, actually don't even bother staying here. There are far better hotels in better locations for a better price. And they will probably value your custom rather than make you feel like there doing you a favour by allowing you to stay!! The wierd check in arrangements where you get your keys out of a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Shaftesbury House for one night on a Saturday in April 2013 with my best friend. Booked through late rooms which had the best price at the time. As I was staying for only one night on a weekend they do take a £150 deposit from you, and mine was refunded within 4 days of my Departure. They even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011 via mobile

The whole apartment is no bigger than a hotel room. It is in a less than desirable area with very loud traffic etc. The room is so standard and the bed is a pull out bed in the living room! Terrible!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Shaftesbury House Serviced Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Shaftesbury House Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaftesbury House Serviced Apartments

Address: 59-61 Station Street, Birmingham B5 4DY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Shaftesbury House Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaftesbury House Serviced Apartments Hotel Birmingham

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Number of rooms
17

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer