We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Certificate of Excellence
Church Street, Birmingham B3 2NR , England
Hotel amenities
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #47 of 136 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013
tejenks66
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    285
    141
    69
    30
See reviews for
72
372
27
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (834)
  • Mar-May only
    (222)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (175)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (197)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (240)
All months
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Vin & Bistro
See the most recent reviews
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stayed in a room on the first floor, very nice room with large spacious bathroom. The shower was awesome - a huge moon shower head & brilliant water pressure. Staff were very friendly and professional. Will definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HdVMgr, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear "tejenks66" Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay on TripAdvisor. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed everything about your stay and thank you for highlighting our friendly team. I am very lucky to have them. My team and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Best regards and... More 

Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

As you walk in, it is a magnificent building, but the room was overpriced. Although you gained by having a large bathroom with a large bath in it and the proper coffee machine was a nice touch. The only place to sit was on the bed. There was one comfy chair but it was located right by the door and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HdVMgr, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Charlotte Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel du Vin Birmingham. It is great to read that you thought the service, location and cleanliness all scored 5 out of 5 and that you enjoyed the breakfast so much. The Bistro is at the heart of our operation and following your enjoyable breakfast you must try dinner with us... More 

Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Having used this hotel's services previously, we decided to take Afternoon Tea. The room was sparse, bland and hardly decorated for Christmas. No atmosphere. Table wobbly. We had a glass of champagne that was lovely. The tea was cold and the pot was so small that it wouldn't have contained a mugful. The crockery was sticky!!! Tea was not replenished.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HdVMgr, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear skm99Birmingham Thank you for your Afternoon Tea review. I am sorry to hear that the experience was so disappointing despite the enjoyable champagne. It doesn't sound like you made us aware on the day of your disappointment. There is always a manager on duty and we would certainly would have wanted to know that you were not happy with... More 

Midlands,UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

My partner and I visited today for the four course Sunday brunch. First impressions walking into the hotel was 'wow, this is lovely'. I notice people are mentioning the lobby area is dark, however I thought this gave the area a rather old fashioned gothic appeal and I liked it. Upon entering the bistro we were warmly welcomed and shown... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HdVMgr, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear miss_chaz Thank you for joining us for Brunch on Sunday, I am pleased to hear how much you enjoyed it. The four courses for £24.95 is proving very popular and both the Bistro and Private Dining rooms are now full most Sundays. This does seem to have impacted on the pace of your dining experience and for this I... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stayed on Friday night. Unusual and attractive building. Quietest rooms are over looking courtyard. We had a very large room, massive bed and bathroom, rack rate £155. Paid extra for breakfast, service in restaurant for breakfast very poor, extremely slow, with other tables complaining, issues looked like they were in the kitchen. Lift was broken on the Friday night but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HdVMgr, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Stellachristine Thank you choosing to stay at Hotel du Vin Birmingham. I am delighted to hear you were so pleased with the location of the hotel, your room and the massive bed & bathroom but of course disappointed to hear of your frustrations over breakfast and on check out. The service experience you describe is not typical so I... More 

Higham Ferrers
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay at the Hotel du Vin to celebrate our wedding anniversary and visit the Christmas markets. We decided to upgrade to a Studio suite (Freixenet) as it was a special weekend but were really disappointed by the overall condition of the furnishings and the room looked really tired - definitely not worth £239 for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HdVMgr, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear "H G's" Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel du Vin and for sharing your experience online. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the Bistro experience including the service you received from our Sommelier. It is great to hear that you plan to return and we look forward to welcoming... More 

Birmingham
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

I had an afternoon tea here with eight friends to celebrate my retirement. The tea was hot, fresh and frequently replenished, the sandwiches, scones and cakes delicious and the service excellent. Altogether a lovely experience and well worth the money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HdVMgr, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear "Italiaphile_7" Thank you so much for choosing to celebrate your retirement with us for Afternoon Tea, for your kind words and for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. I am over the moon to hear that your event was such a success and wish you a very enjoyable retirement. I hope you are planning to spend some moments... More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I stayed in the Sandeman room on second floor. After a rather arrogant and quite unhelpful staff member initially said room was ready for check in and then changed his position, things deteriorated. The toilets in used on the ground floor were awash with urine, and it looked like the toilet was broken. There should be a higher level of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HdVMgr, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear "Rockdrive22" Thank you for your review on Hotel du Vin Birmingham. I am so sorry to hear of your disappointment and the way in which we have let you down during your stay. You are right to point out that the hotel is due to undergo a refurbishment of our bedrooms and in fact this has already begun. With... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Staff in the bistro are great, polite and helpful. Room was clean with a big deep bath. Parking is an issue at this hotel. Traffic warden very quick to ticket. Receptionist was to the point with a snap in her voice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HdVMgr, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear "DavisonBud" Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay, in particular your clean, large bedroom and friendly Bistro team. You mentioned that parking is a problem at the hotel. It certainly doesn't need to be but you are right , the traffic... More 

Bath
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

stayed one night with friends to visit the Christmas markets.Room excellent We have a 6 foot bed at home the one in this room was about 9ft square with a bathroom with roll top bath and very large walk in shower. It was the bollinger suite so get it if you can.first class breakfast cooked to order with fantastic selection... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HdVMgr, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear "JRedfern" Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor about your Hotel du Vin experience. I am so pleased you enjoyed it so much, particularly your Deluxe Room, Bistro Breakfast, Location and the Friendliness of the team. The good news is that the bedrooms are set to get even better. We have just commenced our... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

168 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (142)
Viewed
Room/suite (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question