We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Castle Bromwich Inn

Junction 5 - M6 Chester Road, Birmingham B35 7AF, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Birmingham-Castle Bromwich M6)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castle Bromwich Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Castle Bromwich Inn
Castle Bromwich Inn
Castle Bromwich Inn
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    30
    25
    14
    13
See reviews for
21
22
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (97)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I can't believe the poor staff reviews as my experience was the opposite I found the staff very friendly on arrival and throughout. Yes the hotel is under going extensive refurbishment but a minor inconvenience it will make it a very pleasant place to be very soon I'm sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Used to stay here with my old company several years ago, and made a effort to return on latest business trip. To say was a disappointment is a understatement, the beds are so soft you almost fall through with no support, the pillows are flimsy and to (although never noticed prior) top it all of its on the airports landing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

To be fair, this hotel is being renovated, and there was various wheelbarrows being carted in and out when I arrived. However, I wasn't offered a discount, which was disappointing. Nevertheless, the room was airy, well maintained and furnished, and a pleasant relief from last week's fiasco. There was typical tea/coffee offerings, and shower was lovely and powerful. Those are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Bromwich Inn, responded to this review

Dear AndRoo S, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. It is great to hear that you were satisfied with the room accommodations and staff services. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. All guestrooms and public... More 

Crewe, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

This hotel is being converted to a Holiday Inn and I hope that means a better standard, Right now it's a mess, no hot food, no lift when I visited mid-March. I had an old room and it was grotty. I went to the pub next door to eat and decided to go hungry. Not he hotel's fault but probably... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sutton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

Booked this place at short notice, room was a bit grubby , basic cleaning, shower could do with a bit more time spent cleaning it . Bed linen was clean . Hotel had the paint smell as getting renovated. At the price we paid (£65) can't complain to much . Prob would stay again . Bit noisy at night as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Bromwich Inn, responded to this review

Dear Carnieboy1, We appreciate you sharing your experiences with regards to your stay at our hotel. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and we appreciate your business with us. On the other hand, it is regrettable if the cleanliness of the room received and the on going renovation did not live up to... More 

Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
637 reviews 637 reviews
92 hotel reviews
372 helpful votes 372 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

We used the Castle Bromwich Inn for a one night stay prior to an early departure from Birmingham Airport. The location was excellent and the service provided by the staff equalled that. As we proceeded to our room, the Maintenance guy was doing some work in the corridor roof, but still had the courtesy to chat with us and reassure... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

Have stayed here on a business overnight and the hotel is ok although it is being worked on at the moment. The problem here is that the pub next door is really grotty, its untidy disorganised with barely adequate pub food on offer. If you like me have spent all day travelling from meeting to meeting the last thing you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Bromwich Inn, responded to this review

Dear Baldman1954, Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.... More 

Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

Myself and 6 colleagues stayed at this hotel on the 24th and 25th Feb 2015 while filming a documentary for US tv about Jaguar Cars. This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. I have filmed in hostile environments across the world where the hotels were better!... At first glance it appears to be a very basic and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Bromwich Inn, responded to this review

Dear CamCrewTV, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. It seems that we were not able to execute an exemplary hotel stay due to the room condition and ongoing construction... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

Very cold room which had recently been refurbished, the staff tried to help initially then quickly got bored when the problem continued. I have 20+ people staying here during Jan/Feb every year but next year we will be moving

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Bromwich Inn, responded to this review

Dear Jonathan H, Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I am sorry that you found the rooms very cold and staff were unhelpful. Please accept our... More 

Mullion, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

Hotel itself was faultless. Very clean tidy and staff friendly. Only downside was the 'free wifi available in all areas' , could not get wifi in our rooms, kept getting error messages. We are returning in May so hopefully it'll be sorted.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

2 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities