We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel

Chester Road, Birmingham B36 9DE, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

283 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    102
    94
    38
    30
    19
See reviews for
38
130
4
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (283)
  • Mar-May only
    (69)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (75)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (69)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (70)
All months
Birmingham, United Kingdom
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

stayed here on 19th and 20th june for a wedding. The rooms were beautiful ad were the surrounding gardens. The staff were friendly and very helpful during the afternoon and evening reception thr wedding coordinator was constantly around to help no job too big or small even assisting me to the table with my drinks at one point even though... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

I feel immensely sad at writing this, we went for a meal at the hall last night, it has become a fairly regular occurrence recently enjoying the ambience, staff and more importantly the food. We have had a few family gatherings as well (cream teas) and anniversary and birthday meals. So I take no pleasure when I say the menu... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our day on the 6th June went perfect thanks to Jamie, he was fantastic... Do not hesitate if you are thinking of booking here for your wedding, From start to finish we could not of asked for more, Jamie made sure our day ran perfectly, All of our friends and family were very impressed with this venue.. Bridal suite was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for a business trip, in a double supreme room. Hugely spacious, traditionally decorated and just beautiful in general. Especially loved the shower!! Reception desk staff were lovely and helpful. The food was not what I expected. Green Thai Curry was mostly oil and thyme and the naan bread was genuinely the bottom of a burger bun toasted! Bowls... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CBHHManager, Manager at Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review Firstly thank you for choosing to stay at the Hall during your business trip and sharing your photographs. We are happy you enjoyed the hotel's facilities and thank you for your kind words about our reception staff. It is disappointing to hear that your food was not up to the... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Really pleasant overnight stay following a visit to Gardeners World at the NEC - fab room - the Deveraux - wonderful bedroom & amazing bathroom ! Food was ok although the staff were exhausted following a wedding the day before which was a shame - they were all polite, helpful & friendly - gardens are beautiful although the charity looking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CBHHManager, Manager at Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Nicholas! We are very grateful for your feedback; we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay in the Devereux Suite! It is one of our most popular rooms which a lot of guests compliment and request to stay in. Thank you for your comments on the customer service you received and the meals you enjoyed during... More 

edinburgh, scotland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A very good hotel. Very comfortable room, homely and nice. Lovely comfortable bed. Good shower, and generally a good bathroom. Beautiful grounds and incredible architecture. Reasonable dinners in the bar, but slightly odd service. And the breakfast is very poor, half the food was stale, and the service pretty non-existent. Great hotel, despite the shortcomings. Lovely room and views.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CBHHManager, Manager at Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Tom! We are grateful for your positive feedback; we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and provided images Thank you for your feedback about the breakfast, I will ensure this will be investigated to prevent this happening in the future We hope you will come and visit us again when you are next in Birmingham!... More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I don't believe this was value for money however this old hotel is set on a beautiful setting and definitely an English experience (as someone not from UK) so enjoyed the setting. The rooms were comfortable however if you use anything in the bathroom don't expect it to be replaced by cleaners. The worst part of my stay and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CBHHManager, Manager at Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Thank you for your reference to an English experience as we do like to keep to the tradition of the Hall We are sorry you did not feel your stay was value for money and your toiletries in your room were not replenished. With regards to the food, it is extremely disappointing you did not... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The place itself is old but nice - rooms are quite chilly though. The reception staff were kind and helpful. However, the room service was just a disaster from start to finish. I was pre-warned that there was a big table in with pre-ordered food so food would take longer than usual to come out (which is ridiculous because if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
CBHHManager, Manager at Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for you review, Darren It is extremely disappointing to hear such feedback about the food during your stay. Although it is no consolation we are currently under going a change in our menus which means some options are not available; however this should have been explained to you before you ordered so please accept our apologies for that.... More 

Powys, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My partner and I stayed at Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel at the end of July 2104 for my partners nieces wedding in Birmingham. The manager Jose was very polite and the staff were very happy, everyone was smiling. Jose even bought my partner a brandy. So we decided to stay there again in June this year after our own wedding,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CBHHManager, Manager at Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Louise Please accept our sincere apologies for the experience you had on your second visit to the Hall We are sorry that you felt morale was low, I can assure you this isn't the case we always strive to deliver the highest customer service, I am sorry this was not the case on this particular... More 

Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We recently stayed here and booked on the basis of the wonderful reviews we read. We wanted a night of luxury so booked a superior room. Sadly we were so disappointed. It was a horrible cold windy rainy evening when we arrived. After we booked in, we then had to climb 2 lots of steep stairs to get to our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CBHHManager, Manager at Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Ann It is disappointing to hear that your stay with us wasn't what was anticipated The points you have raised will be further investigated to ensure that this does not happen again Our building is Grade 1 listed which means we only have permission for the lift to travel to the first floor, I am... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

181 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (159)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (42)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay