We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Bickenhill Parkway, Birmingham B40 1QA, England
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    200
    134
    71
    41
See reviews for
107
150
32
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (579)
  • Mar-May only
    (164)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (138)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (152)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (125)
All months
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Booked in as we had to be at Birmingham University for a 0930 start on Saturday morning Good location as just off the motorway When I telephoned to check about car parking charges I was told as a priority club member the charge will be £4.00 Upon checking in I was told no it is £7.00 I just wish staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We stayed here overnight before a flight out of Birmingham , the hotel is clean , bright & spacious. the breakfast which is included in the stay is very good with a choice of cooked & continental offerings. I couldn't fault the service at reception , especially a friendly lady named Kayleigh who was very pleasant & welcoming. The room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed here recently with my daughter while on a business trip. I found the hotel and the room ok however the shower curtain in the bathroom was so badly matted with mould it had stuck together, I never expected this in a Holiday Inn. I never complained as I was only there for one night and never noticed it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I do apologise for the problems you encountered in the room. Please call the hotel on 0121 782 3222 to discuss further. Car parking is charged at all hotels in the area due to the location of the hotel and the NEC venue and air port parking. This... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It was a pleasure to stay at the holiday inn express. My room was clean and tidy I was very happy with it. The young girl that was cleaning down by reception area and hovering the corridors on Saturday 11april is a great credit to your work place. I bumped in to her cleaning the toilets 3-4 times and it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JCH1709, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you for your review. I am so pleased to see you found our staff to be helpful and polite. I have passed this review over to the housekeeping department and they are all so pleased to read this! I hope we can welcome you back in the future and thank you for choosing IHG. Kind Regards Sam... More 

southyorkshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here in a family room and paid only £35 for all four of us ,including breakfast .If you are flying from Birmingham airport this hotel is only five minutes away.The room was clean and functional ,if you have very small children we only had a shower no bath so this could be an issue . We had to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JCH1709, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you for your fantastic review of Holiday Inn Express NEC. I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us. As a Holiday Inn Express hotel we are unable to provide baths in the rooms only showers, however our sister brand Holiday Inn do provide baths in their rooms. Once again thank you for your review... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked as was right next to the NEC. Had a nice little pub next to it called the little owl. The room was clean however the service was terrible. I called and asked for some extra bed sheets for the pull out bed,35 min later still no sheets so I called again and was promised them straight away another 30... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JCH1709, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. However this review does concern me. It is not our usual standard for our guests to wait this long for sheets. I would like to investigate this further. Please do not hesitate to contact myself on gsm@expressbirminghamnec.co.uk so I can discuss this with you further. Kind Regards Sam Blount More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a family room with a 3 yr old & 14 yr old (which they knew at the time of booking), however when we went down to get something to eat for Dinner (evening) we were advised that they do not cater for children's meals! They only have a small selection of bar meals which is absolutely adequate &... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JCH1709, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am sorry to read that your stay was not as enjoyable as you would like. It concerns me to read that the level of service you received was not of satisfaction. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you. Please do not hesitate to contact me on gsm@expressbirminghamnec.co.uk. Kind Regards Sam Blount More 

Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Three of us spent one night here over Easter. On arrival we were greeted by friendly staff and quickly checked in. Our room (at the back of the hotel) was very clean, quiet and comfortable, but the sofa bed had not been made up - we just had a duvet and pillows with no sheet / pillow cases etc. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JCH1709, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback! I do apologise about what happened with the sofa bed on the evening you stayed with us but I am pleased Chelsea got this rectified for you. I shall be passing on your feedback to her as she will be thrilled to read this. It is pleased to read you had a good... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good location next to the NEC and Birmingham Business Park. The room was ok, was clean and comfortable but it was way too hot in the night and the window didn't open properly. The service and food were awful. Would not stay again by choice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Sara G Thank you for your review I am sorry that you did not find your stay as enjoyable as you would like. I am pleased to confirm that over the summer period we will be installing comfort cooling so the room temperature can be varied. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss the disappointing service you experienced please... More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Staying here for work for 2 nights, and wouldn't recommend! I've stayed at lots of PI's and this is one of the worst I've seen. The rooms are tatty and need refurbushing. The shower fluctuates hot and cold and the whole layout of the furniture in my room is badly designed. Infact the tv is in the corner and not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Sophie 8787, I am really sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that you had an unpleasant experience. We would welcome the chance to discuss your stay with us and would ask that you call the hotel on 0121 782 3222 so that we have the opportunity to put it right. Many thanks Fiona General... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

107 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (68)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (39)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question