We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC

3.0 of 5 Bickenhill Parkway, Birmingham B40 1QA, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    169
    122
    61
    37
See reviews for
96
127
30
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (505)
  • Mar-May only
    (132)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (138)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (150)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (85)
All months
North West Britain
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My son and I had a perfectly acceptable 3 night stay here in mid-November for an event at the NEC. Somewhere on the hotel website it claims "we are on the NEC campus" - or words to that effect. Oh no it isn't. Whilst it would be possible to walk the mile and a half to the NEC you'd have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JCH1709, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you for your recent review of Holiday Inn Express NEC I am glad you found the room to be clean and comfortable. I am sorry however you found us to be far from the NEC as we are less than a mile away from the NEC itself. Regarding your room I am sorry you found some faults... More

Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was here for an exhibition. Room was fine, personnel friendly. Even the breakfast, which I had read bad things about was surprisingly good. BUT sausage, beans and scrambled egg is not the best combination! Wot no bacon? I asked about this and was told that the hotel is allowed to select three items out of a choice of 4... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JCH1709, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you for contacting us regarding your recent stay. I am pleased you found our breakfast to be good. As a Holiday Inn Express hotel we are only able to offer three hot items on the buffet and these consist of Sausages, beans and scrambled eggs, unfortunately we are unable to offer bacon. We are always striving to... More

Nuneaton
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for 4 nights on business, judging for the Skills Show at the NEC in November. Location is good for NEC, a short drive away. First impressions were good, reception was bright and clean and a cheery young man very politely checked me in and sent me off to my room. The room was spacious, clean and tidy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JCH1709, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for posting your recent review on Trip Advisor. Here at the Holiday Inn Express NEC, guest’s views and opinions are very important to us, as they allow us to constantly improve the services we offer, and help us to provide a great hotel guests love. I am disappointed you were not satisfied with our... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed recently as we were competing in the world skills event at the NEC. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful......especially David! We had problems with our food on the first night of our stay but our complaint was listened to and staff went out of their way to rectify the situation and ensure it didn't happen again. The food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JCH1709, Guest Services Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thank you for your marvellous review of Holiday Inn Express NEC. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. It is truly rewarding when our valued guests like yourselves praise our staff in their efforts especially David and I will personally be showing him this review as I know he will be thrilled to see It! We were... More

Dubai
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

To be honest I was not expecting a 4 or 5 star and therefore the hotel met my expectations. It delivers what it sells, the free breakfast was perfect and the staff very nice. WIFI did not work in my room and when I complained I was moved to a new room where it worked so the problem was resolved... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JCH1709, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you for contacting Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC regarding your recent experience. I am pleased you found the hotel to be satisfactory to your needs. I am sorry you experienced problems with the WIFI but I am glad our team resolved the issue for you, I am pleased to say that our WIFI issue's have now been... More

Devon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had quite a journey in a lot of torrential rain. We were grateful for the warm welcome, the quick check in. We had already eaten on motorway so cannot comment on evening food. There is a bar area to unwind before heading off to bed. The rooms are standard, spotlessly clean. Bathroom a little small but large shower again... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JCH1709, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding Holiday Inn Express NEC. I appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay I am so pleased you found our room to be spotlessly clean as cleanliness is something we pride ourselves on. I know the staff will be pleased to read... More

Castleford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

after reading reviews I thought I'd take a chance, glad I did. Staff excellent. Room clean comfy. Food excellent. The staff here are very helpful and polite. Would definately stay again. Close to nec and airport

Was this review helpful? Yes
JCH1709, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding Holiday Inn Express NEC. I appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay The hotel’s team is always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. I do hope we can welcome you back very soon. Thank you again.... More

derbyshire, england
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

One of the best holiday inn expresses I have stayed in, as a gold card holder my booking had already been processed when I arrived. The staff were courteous at all times and all smiled and said hello from housekeeping to maintenance. The room was spotlessly clean and the beds comfortable. Breakfast was good and the desk clerk called for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JCH1709, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding Holiday Inn Express NEC. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay. I am so pleased you found all our staff from housekeeping to reception to be kind and courteous. These comments will be shared with all our staff as reinforcement to make... More

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here with work when attending an exhibition at the NEC. The staff i came across were all extremely friendly the food served was fantastic and the menu choice was superb and the room was lovely and clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JCH1709, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding Holiday Inn Express NEC. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay. Thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future. Thank you for choosing IHG. Kind Regards Sam Blount Guest Service... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is my second visit to this hotel - the last just over a year ago. Once again we took advantage of the very good value advanced purchase rate inclusive of breakfast. Having been held up in traffic on the M1 we arrived a bit stressed as we were due at a wedding in Birmingham at 3pm. The hotel very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JCH1709, Guest Services Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for contacting Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC regarding your recent stay. We appreciate you taking the time to inform us of the wonderful experience and service you received here at the hotel. It is truly rewarding to receive praise of such a positive nature especially regarding our staff whom I know will all be proud to... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC

Address: Bickenhill Parkway, Birmingham B40 1QA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Nec Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

102 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (64)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay