We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Bickenhill Parkway, Birmingham B40 1QA, England
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    207
    139
    72
    41
See reviews for
108
155
32
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (594)
  • Mar-May only
    (179)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (138)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (152)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (125)
All months
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My husband and I stayed here during our BodyPower Expo weekend. We had a lovely stay. Very nice hotel, well run, well equipped room, comfy and clean. We also enjoyed our buffet breakfast :) Perfect location, close to the NEC and there is a pub/restaurant right next door. Would stay here again next year and definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Rooms lovely and clean, with wifi everywhere. Shower room ok, though weak shower. I had dinner and it was ok. As a vegetarian I was disappointed to see a fish dish ticked as vegetarian. Hopefully that will be corrected shortly! Parking was easy & of course the access to the NEC is easy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leimuiden, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Excellent value, very modern and clean ideal for one night stay. 2 miles from airport on the nec inner ring road, comfy bed, breakfast included, unfortunately a good nights sleep wasnt to be had, as a car and motorbike chase was happening on the road outside around 2 am.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JCH1709, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Guest: I would like to formally apologise to you regarding the noise you experienced during the night due to the racing that occurred outside the hotel. During that night we did work along side the police to ensure that this stopped immediately and I am sorry that it interrupted your sleep. If you would like to contact me regarding... More 

Abingdon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed while exhibiting at the NEC Really an airport hotel Staff were friendly and sorted out a change of name very quickly. Corridors look tired, room ok but was ok. Food is over prized in the restaurant but did not try the restaurant next door. Would try others on the NEC site

Was this review helpful? Yes
JCH1709, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you for contacting the Holiday Inn Express NEC regarding your experience during your recent stay. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to my attention and apologise that you found the corridors to be tired looking. I am pleased to let you know however that the corridors will be undergoing a refurbishment over... More 

Stafford, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having recently stayed at the holiday inn express to attend a concert at the Genting Arena. We were surprised at the distance between both locations. It is a taxi ride ranging from £7.30 to £5.00 do not get a black cab as these put a £2.60/80 surcharge on before the journey commences! Having arrived at Birmingham New Street we decided... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JCH1709, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am sorry you found us to be far from the Genting Arena as we only 1 mile away and taxi's booked direct through reception can be arranged for only £5 each way. I am glad however you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable. I am... More 

derby
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for 1 night and left the car for 5 nights , which was perfect for our early start. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly , hotel very clean and slept very well. Will definitely stay again when we fly from birmingham

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JCH1709, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your recent review to the Holiday Inn Express NEC. We are pleased to note that you liked the convenient location of the hotel. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of product. We hope to see you back at the hotel soon. Kind Regards Sam Blount More 

Montgomery, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Check in good,staff helpful..room a good size and clean..breakfast could have been a bit warmer,quite a good choice,but some bacon would have been nice... Think there could be a different system for parking charges,especially if you are a hotel guest and have paid £125 for a room.(this was booked last November, prob price reflected take that concert at the genting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Judith S, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. We hope you enjoyed your concert too. We offer the inclusive breakfast with the hot items of sausage, egg and beans. We always look for ways to improve so will include your comments in our next review. We hope to see you again... More 

Bristol
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
70 hotel reviews
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here recently whilst visiting the Genting arena for the Take That concert, even though the hotel was extremly busy this didnt effect the service, we arrived just before 2 and our room wasnt ready but that was fine we were offered complimentry drink but the staff which was very kind, would definatly recommend to stay here as the staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Bristolsbest, Thank you for your review its lovely to hear when somebody enjoys their stay. I hope that we get the chance to welcome you again when you next visit the Genting arena. Regards Fiona General Manager More 

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited on a stay and park basis, we left our car for 3 days. It's a very practical way of catching an early flight. The hotel is clean but we found It cold. We sat in the bar with several othe guests but the air con. made it uncomfortable for all, we did ask for air con to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Chris O, Thank you taking the time to post a review. We value feedback and I will pass on the comments to our team to ensure that they get the room temperature right for all guests that are staying. We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Regards Fiona General Manager More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
13 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here last night due to it's proximity to the Genting Arena. Plenty of parking. All staff we encountered were very friendly and welcoming. The hotel is pretty basic but that's what you expect from an 'express' hotel. Clean throughout and our room was comfortable. The menu is limited but the food was nice and portion sizes just right. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Rachael N, Thank you for your review it's lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you had a good time at the concert as well. We hope to see you again the next time you are visiting the Genting arena. Regards Fiona General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

114 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (75)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (39)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay