We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC

3.0 of 5 Bickenhill Parkway, Birmingham B40 1QA, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    174
    123
    62
    38
See reviews for
97
133
30
160
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (517)
  • Mar-May only
    (132)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (138)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (152)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (95)
All months
England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel is the usual, but very clean and well run and a great place for transfers or NEC stop overs. The Staff are brilliant from the guys on reception to the bar team - special thanks to Oggy and Sam who made our night/morning finish with a real swing. Would really recommend. Dave and HELP

Was this review helpful? Yes
JCH1709, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Wow what a review, thank you very much! It was a pleasure to have you stay as our guest at Holiday Inn Express NEC. I am glad you found everything to be of satisfaction and you found our staff to be brilliant! I will pass this is on to the whole team as re-enforcement to make the Holiday... More 

Chalton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This has to be the worst experience we have aver had in a hotel. It took 20 minutes to check-in due to an interminal wait to be even spoken to and then they had lost the reservation! Fortunately I had the e-mail confirmation with me. The bar prices are extortionate - £11.50 for 2 drinks!! All this is bad enough... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Anne T, I am sorry that you were unhappy with your recent stay. I have responded to you via email after you contacted us last week and offered you a full refund for your disturbed nights sleep so am disappointed to hear that you have not been contacted. As I explained in that email that we have had... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were flying to Boa Vista on an early flight so booked this hotel to save us getting up at 3am. Arrived at about 8pm the night before our flight and checked in quickly and easily. Room was fine and although we were leaving at 6am we were given a continental breakfast which was good quality. We dined at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JCH1709, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you for your great review. I am happy you found everything to be of your satisfaction at the hotel. I do hope you had a wonderful holiday and that you will return to us when you are next travelling. Thank you for choosing IHG Kind Regards Sam Blount Guest Service Manager More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a lovely little hotel! Very clean and tidy basic room, great layout and very helpful and friendly staff. Really glad I booked in. Only paid £49 for the night and this is deffinately worth the money! Would come back on my next travels.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and we can look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the area. Regards Fiona General Manager More 

Wiltshire
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked 3 twin rooms for a concert at the NIA. Although the venue is not near the hotel a cab at around £25 each way for 6 of us worked out cheap. Considering we paid £38 for each room including breakfast we consider this great value. Parking by the M42 saved the hassle of traffic in the morning. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JCH1709, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you for leaving a 4 star review here on Trip advisor. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and you enjoyed your concert at the NIA. It is so pleasing to receive feedback of such a positive nature I will pass this onto the entire team as re-enforcement to make the HI Express Birmingham... More 

Norfolk
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for night when seeing War of the Worlds. Everything very good from reception, room modern clean, good facilities, bed comfortable, public area good. Continental breakfast excellent, only downside was our room was first in corridor near the entrance some noise experienced from people going outside for smoke this was 2am.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JCH1709, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you for your review. I am happy you found everything to be of your satisfaction however I do apologise about the noise you experienced from the front of the hotel. I will inform our night porters to ensure that residents smoke in the designated smoking area. I do hope you will consider us again when next in... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel last Saturday night after visiting Motorcycle Live at the NEC. I had booked the room online so expected a quick, hassle free check in on arrival, however it was anything but..The receptionist took my name and found my reservation, but then she walked off and spoke to the manager and came back. I asked her... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JCH1709, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you for your recent review of Holiday Inn Express NEC. We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your stay. I am very pleased to read you found our rooms to be comfortable and you had a good night sleep. I was disappointed to read about your check in experience and your breakfast experience and... More 

Hastings
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here for the Bike show at NEC Birmingham. Very clean room, amazing staff and friendly atmosphere. See you again next year for an extended stay.. The breakfast provided was quite continental, however, no bacon for the cooked selection. The service was very professional and no request was no trouble at all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JCH1709, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thank you for your fantastic review. I do hope to see you again when your next in the area. Thank you for choosing IHG Kind Regards Sam Blount Guest Service Manager More 

Leicestershire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here on Sunday evening after attending The Good Food Show at the NEC, booked in advance and paid £35 for room (including breakfast) plus £7 car park fee - excellent value! Taxi to NEC was £5 and return (in a big black cab) £6.60. The room was great - warm and with reliable Wifi. The staff couldn't be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JCH1709, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you for your lovely review of Holiday Inn Express NEC. I am pleased everything during your stay was to your satisfaction and that you found the staff to be helpful. I do hope you will consider us again when next in the area. Kind Regards Sam Blount Guest Service Manager More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here as attending the NEC Good Food Show. Very impressed with comfort and cleanliness of room. Only took 15 minutes brisk walk to the Halls. The walk was along well lit pathways until roundabout then just a few feet literally on the grass verge into the complex. Not a problem at all. We ate in the evening at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review we hope to see you for the show again next year. Regards Fiona General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC

Address: Bickenhill Parkway, Birmingham B40 1QA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Nec Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

102 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (64)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (39)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay