We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Bickenhill Parkway, Birmingham B40 1QA, England
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
Share an Experience

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    195
    129
    68
    40
See reviews for
101
147
32
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (560)
  • Mar-May only
    (145)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (138)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (152)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (125)
All months
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed here for 1 night and was surprised by the comfort of the room and the quietness of the location. There was plenty of parking (although it was extra) and the car park was well CCTV-ed which was good. My room was a good size, very clean and so quiet. Breakfast was more than adequate and the friendly welcome... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed here last night as I had an expo at the NEC. From the moment I walked in I was greeted by happy, smiling staff who made me feel very welcome. I stayed in room 113, clean, spacious and a good size and perfect for a stay longer than one night. I had the pork from the bar menu,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Went for Crufts, so as to be expected the room rates were highly inflated, and terrible value for money. Room tiny, but clean and comfprtable. Shower good. Breakfasts were great, lots of choice, and served early. I expected to pay inflated prices for Crufts. But the downsides of this hotel, is its isolation from everything, there is a great pub... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Staff were helpful throughout our 3 night stay whilst visiting the NEC. Plenty of space in the foyer/bar/restaurant communal area. The room was reasonable. Ate in the hotel one night. The lamb shank was the best meal of the weekend. Ideal for a short break as very close to the NEC - 15 to 20 minute walk

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manchester, UK
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed here for 4 nights on a business trip. The bed was really comfortable and the location quiet for sleep quality. The room was a good size and clean. The breakfast is self service so really quick and the hotel is full of solo business travellers making me feel at ease whilst alone. The downside is that there are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this holiday inn express to go to Crufts with my two dogs. I stayed in a holiday inn in Stafford in January also for a dog show. The hotels are useful because they are dog friendly. My room was nice and clean. The bed was comfortable and it was nice and quiet. Breakfast was good but not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Nell C, I am pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us over Crufts and that you are a regular user of the Holiday Inn Express brand. Our prices do vary over events but be sure to book early on our advance saver rates to get the best deal. We hope that you continue to use... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night before a flight from Birmingham Airport. We arrived around 7pm, check in was quick and easy. The room we were in was next to the lifts but this wasn't too noisy. The only issue for me was that the smoke detector in the room flashed a really bright green light every couple of minutes, this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear JULESSMYTHE, Thank you for your review I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you would use us again in the future. Hopefully you will book another holiday soon and we can welcome you back again soon. Regards Fiona General Manager More 

England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Short stay due to attending a local conference. Friendly efficient welcome. Communal areas are surprisingly large for a hotel in this class, or so it seemed to me at least. Large comfortable room with everything in place and working including a fast wifi connection. Food was okay, good range for breakfast and due to late arrival I had an evening... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear MaxwellStone, Thank you for the review we are pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with ourselves. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future. Regards Fiona General Manager More 

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here overnight Sat 28th Feb 2015 prior to flying to Turin on an early flight. The hotel is easy to find. The free wifi is very good. The rooms are adequate although the underside of the toilet seat was dirty. The early breakfast- we were in there at 0424 was very poor. We knew there would be no hot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your recent stay with ourselves. We do offer an early breakfast and this is available from 5am I am sorry if your request for an earlier breakfast was not meant and you had to wait for additional items to be available. I understand that you are frustrated being charged for... More 

Wirral, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel staff are amazing! Nothing is too much trouble. Stayed one night after Crufts. Arrived at 10.00pm and even though the meals were officially finished they pulled out all the stops and produced a beautiful pizza and salad. Staff should be commended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review I am so pleased you found the team so welcoming and will pass it on to everyone! We hope to welcome you back the next time you visit Cruft's Regards Fiona General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

107 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (68)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (39)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question