We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Collection Hotel Birmingham

263 Hagley Road | Edgbaston, Birmingham B16 9NA, England (Formerly Clarion Collection Birmingham)
Hotel amenities
The Collection Hotel Birmingham
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #81 of 136 Hotels in Birmingham
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Stephen A Droitwich, United Kingdom
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    69
    63
    44
    32
See reviews for
11
103
13
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (264)
  • Mar-May only
    (100)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (30)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (73)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (61)
All months
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Me and my partner stayed in the Clarion Collection hotel in Birmingham for one night on new years eve. Based on the 4* rating and enthusiastic customer reviews our hopes were set high. Once entering the hotel we were told we were to be upgraded to an executive suite as all the superior rooms were full, of course we were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Y h, Responsable réception at The Collection Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Laura, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I just wanted to inform you that in January we closed the hotel during 2 weeks to refurbish the rooms. Best regards, More 

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

When myself and my partner entered this hotel we felt as if it was nothing like the pictures on Hotels.com. The car park needs re-doing as very bumpy and with lots of little stones; very noisy throughout the day. The receptionist was ok, but could be more inviting. We had to get the lift up to our room which was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Y h, Responsable réception at The Collection Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments, I will make sure that the points you raise are attended with more care amongst our team in all departments. We are building another parking at the hotel which will be open for the weekends. Best regards, More 

Travelers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

east midlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

totally not recommended. drunks sat on steps of hotel at the entrance with bottles lined up by their side. had to pass them to go in. staff on reception had poor english and seem unaware and/or unintersted.not good for a single female at 11pm to enter the hotel in this way. staff had lost booking. shown to a room,where bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

stayed for 2 nights while visiting someone in hospital! same as other reviews I too saw the skip and huge pile of old mattresses etc,really scruffy and uninviting! my room was huge but it it was very worn, as were the sheets and duvet covers! I had a triple wardrobe in the room but not a single coat hanger,the bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Y h, Responsable réception at The Collection Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Janet, Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your feedback. I’m extremely sorry that you have been disturbed by other guests and for the problem with the door : we changed it after your check out. Thank you for staying at the Collection Hotel Birmingham and we do hope you will return in the future, Best... More 

Droitwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I attended a function (Funeral Wake) at The collection Hotel, 263 Hagley Road, Birminghams function room. I did not stay at the hotel only attended the function there. I was so impressed with the facility and the quality of the food and the friendly and accommodating staff I submit this review. If I was to need to hold a function... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After reading a number of the reviews for this hotel i was concerned that i was going to have a bad experience but i can honestly say that i had a really nice stay! I can't help but feel that the people that have complained or wrote bad reviews for this place have incredibly high standards which makes me question... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Y h, Responsable réception at The Collection Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Amy, Thank you so much for your lovely review, Indeed it is a pity that Tripadvisor is more used to express a disappointment than a joy ! But yes, we do have happy guests :) Thanks again, Do not hesitate to contact us directly for your next booking, Best regards, More 

Birmingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My partner and I spent 1 night in this hotel for our anniversary. We did not pay a fortune but I still expect certain things. On arrival at the car park we saw a huge pile of rubbish in the corner consisting of furniture and bin bags. Not a great start. Checking in I found the reception staff very rude.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Y h, Front Office Manager at The Collection Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Jules, Thank you for your feedback. We take all feedback seriously and will use your feedback to review our service delivery in the future, Best regards, More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed here last weekend. When we arrived after a long drive we were informed there were no longer any queen size rooms even though that's what we had booked. The staff at the reception then tried to say we had booked a twin size room even though my confirmation had stated otherwise and showed I had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Y h, Front Office Manager at The Collection Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Kaisha, Thank you for your comments. I wanted to inform you that when you book through Website or International Agents they send us the booking for a number of people but not always with the room type, and that is probably the reason why the receptionist could not give you a double room. We always recommend to our guests... More 

Margate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The photos online make it look very nice and modern, but it was scruffy and worn. Outside, at the back of the building was a huge pile of old mattresses and broken furniture, not a good first impression. The foyer, although the decor looked relatively new and up to date, was scuffed and shabby, carpet was fraying and there was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here on a saturday night with my boyfriend ,nice big spacious room with large tv,very clean.However rang in the morning to see if bath robes provided receptionist said yes but none in room on arrival and 1 loo roll ,this was resolved as i asked on reception to place in rooms. Hotel is close to broad street (5 mins... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Y h, Front Office Manager at The Collection Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We will certainly use your feedback to improve our staff training and ensure that in future guests enjoy a high standard of service. Best regards, More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities