We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street

55 Irving Street, Birmingham B1 1DH, England (Formerly Ibis Birmingham Holloway Circus)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street
Share an Experience

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    135
    108
    45
    61
See reviews for
29
141
57
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (393)
  • Mar-May only
    (85)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (92)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (103)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (113)
All months
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had a warm welcome to the ibis Irving st thanks to the helpful Monika on reception, but that is where the pleasantries end. Our room (38) had a strong smell cigarette smoke in the bathroom, the shower over the bath was not very powerful and having no bathmat made it very slippy and dangerous experience. The bed was also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Neath Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Room was small and very dreary bed was not comfortable only saving grace was the location to the o2 arena . Overall the motel really needs updating don't think we will stay here again but it is well situated for the o2 .

Was this review helpful? Yes
ibisCentreIrvingSt, Manager at ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your review. I am really glad to hear that you found the hotel suitable for the purpose of your stay for the event in the 02 Academy. It is sad to hear that you did not ejoyed our new sweet beds by ibis, in fact, all our beds were changed and they are less than... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I read the reviews about this motel after I had booked my stay for an event at the NIA. My main reason was that the hotel is close to the event without charging over £100 for one night's stay so I wasn't expecting much. The outside is fenced but it is not intrusive & my car was secure. Car park... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ibisCentreIrvingSt, Manager at ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thanks very much for your time to give such a detailed review of your stay that sure will help other travelers when looking for accomodation in Birmingham. It is always a pleausre to receive feed back as this helps us improve every day. My apologies if you found our bed hard for your liking, in fact, all the... More 

Stockport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
10 hotel reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This motel style hotel is a basic cheap alternative to the more modern style hotels directly in the centre. The rooms are ample, however they are not overly spacious. Beds are comfortable. It is about ten minute walk into the city centre and during the day it isn't an issue, however in the evenings/dark it can be a little unsafe.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ibisCentreIrvingSt, Manager at ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for your review. I am really glad to hear that you found the hotel suitable for the purpose of your stay close to the city centre. Kind regards Raul Navarro General Manager More 

Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

If you are going to a gig at the O2 this is the best place to stay. Big clean rooms. Great location two minutes from the O2. Ridiculously cheap parking. Amazingly lovely staff. However the so called ibis amazing bed was as comfortable as a park bench. My back is ruined. For one night....perfect. For three like I stayed....the osteopath... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ibisCentreIrvingSt, Manager at ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street, responded to this review

Dear guest, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback and see your found our location perfect for the O2. I am dissapointed to hear that you did not find our new beds suitable for you, please allow me to express my apologies. Thank you again for sharing your experience. Yours... More 

Herefordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

went for one night stay with my partner, we found the bath took a hour to fill and the water pressure wasn't as good as expected also the toilet sounded like there was someone else was in the room. The bed was spacious how ever we both work up with very stiff backs. We wouldn't stay here again as the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ibisCentreIrvingSt, Manager at ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thanks for your comments regarding your stay at ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street. Please allow me to express my apologies regarding the water pressure issue, due to it works by gravity and not pump opperated it might happen that due to external factors we can have a lack of it like the one you experienced. Yours sincerely, Raul... More 

Beit She'an, Israel
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

I arrived late on a Monday night and the gate of the Hotel opened to allow me to get into the carpark. I checked in and was given my room quickly. The layout of the Hotel is like an American style Motel. 1 building, 2 levels, 2 sides to the building and entrance to the rooms directly from the outside... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ibisCentreIrvingSt, Manager at ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thanks for your time to give a good detailed review. I am dissapointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations in every single point during your stay. We are 24 hours in reception and we are always glad to help with any issue you could experience, like the click ofthe heater you mentioned. Kind regards Raul... More 

Hitchin, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

The worst hotel I've ever stayed in. Received a full refund. Room was cold and dirty (the inside of the kettle was black), the radiator didn't work and made loud noises all night. The walls were paper thin and the restaurant run out of food. On complaint I was told to call them on the phone in the room that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ibisCentreIrvingSt, Manager at ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street, responded to this review

Dear guest, We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such detailed feedback about yourstay. I am very sorry to hear that several things throughout your stay did not meet your expectations. At ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us, as this helps us improve... More 

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

Booked in here with work as unable to get a room anywhere else near business location. Did not expect much but pleasantly surprised. Motel style, old fashioned but clean and warm. Very comfy bed, tea and coffee in room and very good breakfast. Continental and cooked breakfast, which was totally unexpected given the price. All the staff were very nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ibisCentreIrvingSt, Manager at ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street, responded to this review

Dear guest I am very happy that our staff was welcoming and you found our location suitable for your busines trip. We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street. Kind regards Raul Navarro General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

64 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question