We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1270 Coventry Road, Birmingham B25 8BS, England
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    114
    31
    6
    3
See reviews for
61
66
10
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (296)
  • Mar-May only
    (89)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (61)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (76)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (70)
All months
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the perfect stay for a business trip. Friendly staff, clean rooms, safe parking (you need in the area). It is a pitty that there are no good restaurants nearby and the food in this Hotel is good but only Hamburger and F&S style. Internet is slow, verry slow but ask for a cable if you have a computer.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Samantha J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feed back on your recent visit, we hope you return on your next visit to Birmingham, Matthew Butler. More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived to find room facing busy A45, poor soundproofing and very basic. Its a newer HI EX but when they need a lock on the door to the lift, you know its a bit rough....... TV didn't work, rang at 9.30 to get some help, for all I know they haven't been to room 202 yet. And despite being a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Samantha J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this review

As an IHG® Platinum Elite Rewards Club Member, we truly value your feedback. We are sorry that your stay at the hotel did not meet your expectations and we hope you will use us again to give us a chance to redeem this. Matthew Butler More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed here before however it is a little expensive if you leave booking to the last minute. We ended up staying here because the hotel we had originally booked was disgusting. Rooms are very clean and comfortable. The bed was huge although the sheets don't seem to fit well. When we returned to our room for the second... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Samantha J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we hope to see you on your return. More 

Milton Keynes
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The facilities here are fine. Clean and well maintained. The free breakfast is good. The free wifi is slow but OK (unless you want to do Netflix). About the same as a Premier Inn (in fact, better in some areas, such as the the desk in the bedrooms and the bathroom). No, the biggest problem here is the staff. In... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Samantha J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this review

Good morning Mr Butler, I'm very sorry that your visit to our hotel did not meet our expected level of service. Please can you contact our general manager Samantha Jones on gm@hiex-birmingham.co.uk as we would like to discuss your experience further. Also thank you for your kinda comments, Matthew Butler (no relation) :) More 

Kyiv
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This is a nice 3-star Holiday Inn Express chain hotel, Nice shower, bathroom, good TV with lots of channels and radio options and a great bed. The room could use brighter lighting - only the desk lamp provided good light. Staff is generally very good and helpful. There may be some issues with room key cards - mine didn't work,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Samantha J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay, as that is not up to our normal standards. We will share your feedback with our staff and make the necessary changes. We hope you choose to stay with us again, so we can show you our true level of service. Matthew... More 

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

Stayed here before our flight from Birmingham with a good deal through holiday extras. The hotel seemed clean and had good amenities. We weren't able to use the breakfast as we left he hotel at half 4 am but we were offered cereal so they did try to accommodate. Overall impressed with the stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Samantha J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Matthew Butler More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

Booked this as flying from Birmingham airport, great deal through holiday extras where our car was kept the two weeks we are away. Hotel was very clean, comfy, well kept and all amenities in room. Friendly staff and a warm breakfast to start the day..

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Samantha J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this review

Thank you for a 4 star review, we hope you return on your next visit. More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

Stayed here with my partner and best friend and her partner for NYE as we were going a gig. Stayed for 2 nights and loved that breakfast was included. Nice and clean and rooms are gorgeous - so much better than a normal Holiday Inn. Bit of a taxi ride to the town centre but nothing more than usual about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Samantha J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this review

Thanks for a great 5 star review, hopefully we wont have to wait until NYE 2015 to see you again ;) More 

Essex, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

Excellent hotel ...... Clean spacious bright rooms, free internet & a free express breakfast, very basic breakfast but a good variety . Close to local amenities and easy to find .... Would recommend for business or pleasure !!!! Friendly reception staff always ready to help !!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Samantha J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this review

Hi Wendy, Thanks for taking the time to review us! hope to see you on your next visit into Birmingham. More 

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

Booked online having planned a trip to the NEC for the Practical Classics Restoration a Show. Hotel was easy to find and whilst only having a small car park, spaces were plentiful. I guess the close proximity to Birmingham International Airport means that many guests here are without cars. Checking in was a bit of a wait as just one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Samantha J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us, and rating us with a 4 star review! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

68 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (50)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities