We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 137 Birmingham hotels

Copthorne Hotel Birmingham

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paradise Circus | Midlands, Birmingham B3 3HJ, England (Ladywood)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Adv Purchase upto 20% off
Save Saved
You added Copthorne Hotel Birmingham to your Saves list
Copthorne Hotel Birmingham
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Write a Review

749 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    215
    224
    115
    81
See reviews for
29
219
80
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Copthorne is located downtown Birmingham within walking distance of New Street and Broad Street (< 5 minutes). The rooms are wore down, but does the work for a night or two. The value for money is good. The breakfast is average. The wifi does not seem to work well above the 1st floor. If you get a room towards... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I am sadly old enough to remember when this was one of the best hotels in central Birmingham, but like me age and time have perhaps not been too kind. I remember staying here as a young executive years ago and thinking how impressive it all was. This hotel is now very dated and care warn throughout and whilst its... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambs
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Often stay here on business because of its proximity to the office, however will have to seriously re-think. Rooms basic and in need of an overhaul, same goes for bathrooms. Last week was worse than normal, despite me asking when I checked in for a room without the cane chairs thats without cane furniture( I know they exist !!) thats... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belgium
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

OK, this hotel might be up to some redecoration..... However, the price and quality ratio is good: the hotel is located right in the city center, at a walking distance from many trendy restaurants, attractions and shopping. Also the breakfast is really good: buffet as well as orders (without extra cost), I tended to order oatmeal porridge during my stay:... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location and has car parking. However the rooms are from the 70/80's the tv system is old and the numbers have rubbed off the control. Wifi is £5 and too slow to stream - in a city centre this is not acceptable. Comfy bed but cracked tiles in the bathroom and again very dated. Sorry but I wouldn't stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had the misfortune of being places here by my company for a night. Hotel is tired and in much need of modernisation. Room was shabby with mould in the bathroom and wallpaper peeling off the walls in most places. The room also had a musty smell. The tv didn't work so I had to call reception who never answered the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DLane, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Frequentraveller28 Thank you for taking the time to post a review and my apologies if your room did not live up to your expectations. Indeed we did have a power cut on the night you stayed, I apologise if we did not catch you to inform you of this however we did let everyone know at check in and... More

Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nothing special in the slightest, quite run down, very dated, room just 'fine', free wifi which is nice, just really dated. Slept fine, bed comfortable, didn't eat there as there's plenty of options within a stones throw. Very central, like the name of my review says it was just somewhere to lay my head as I spent barely any time... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A night out in Birmingham made all the more special by the friendly and engaging staff at the Copthorne hotel. The room was great...everything we needed was brought for us by the lovely staff who couldn't do enough for us. A home from home and a great base for our wonderful night out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Tired, dilapidated and quite frankly how the AA awarded it 4 stars is beyond me, our bedroom was on the fifth floor, cold room, run down decor and dated, thread bare curtains, broken bed and noisy expelair and these are just the good points, follow that with free wifi that never works so laptop work was near on impossible -... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DLane, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Serenity_DK Thank you for taking the time to post review and I am sorry we did not live up to your expectations. I do appreciate how frustrating intermittent wifi can be and have asked our third party wifi provider to review our system at the hotel and ensure we have adequate coverage across the building. Currently we have a... More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My room was overlooking a four lane highway it was incredibly noisy and the room was quite dirty. I would never recommend this to anyone particularly staying in the city on business. Will certainly be passing this information on internally to our travel team.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to Copthorne Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Birmingham

Also Known As:
Copthorne Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Copthorne Birmingham Hotel
Birmingham Copthorne Hotel
Address: Paradise Circus | Midlands, Birmingham B3 3HJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#75 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Birmingham 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glass-sheathed contemporary mid-rise hotel in the center of Birmingham, adjacent to International Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel and Venere so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copthorne Hotel Birmingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.