We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 140 Birmingham hotels

Great Barr Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pear Tree Drive, Newton Road, Birmingham B43 6HS, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Great Barr Hotel to your Saves list
Great Barr Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
51%
Ranked #88 of 140 hotels in Birmingham
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
BfpCom Dublin, Ireland
  • Overview
  • Reviews (134)
  • Photos (32)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (24)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    38
    28
    17
    25
See reviews for
19
32
11
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Avoid at all costs! Horrible, pokey rooms, completely outdated, half the bottom corridor obviously used to be the smoking section and still reeks, no key cards just huge keyrings and actual keys you are supposed to leave at reception every time you go out. Security chain ripped out of door frame, disgustingly dirty windows, completely unreliable wifi and staff who... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GBHotelBirmingham, Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly let me apologise that you were not completely satisfied when you visited The Great Barr Hotel. Your comments have been taken into consideration and as the new General Manager within the venue I am investigating all of the issues that you have raised, and they will be addressed as a matter of urgency. Once again please let me apologise... More

Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was located near my appointment the following day so booked based on location and saw that the price was under £40 for room only. You do get what you pay for but it was worth the £40. I wouldn't particularly rush to stay there again - rooms are dated and decor is showing its age. Of course what did... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
birmingham
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a Groupon voucher for Sunday lunch at this hotel. Food was awful.Poor Quality and tasted even worse. Service was extremely poor, miserable waiter!! Place looked dirty and in need of an update and maybe look at getting a new chef!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
GBHotelBirmingham, Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review

We have noted the comments in your review and having received overwhelmingly positive feedback from Sunday Lunch guests we are sorry that it did not meet your expectations on this occasion. More

Cannock, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Read some the poor reviews and didn't expect to be happy with our stay. I booked a Michael Bible tribute note with stay over. I decided to upgrade to a clubroom (room 126) as we were celebrating our wedding anniversary, so glad I did. The room was spacious, the bed was huge, it also had a good seating area with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Rooms are from the 1970s dirty and not worth the £60 a night. The whole place needs a good clean and bring up to date. I stayed here for business and was told there would be night porter on to let me in hotel if I came back after 11pm from my meeting when I arrived there was a note... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

booked through otel.com two twin rooms for overnight stay after local music festival. rang the day before to ask if we could park earlier and leave the car there when we went to the festival and the lady was really friendly and helpful, she said to come to reception anyway because if the rooms were ready we could put our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Meal was awful starter was mushrooms about 2 muchrooms sliced in a sauce very small portions, beef bourguignon came with five small pieces of beef 2 new potatoes and vegetables which came about 10mins later !! The abba tribute act was terrible they sang songs that no one knew n the men oh well they just couldnt sing at all!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GBHotelBirmingham, Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We do take our comments and complaints very seriously. We as a business have very many tribute nights with resounding success. However there will be times when expectations are not met. Our pricing is constantly reviewed to always ensure that our offering is fair and good value for money which keeps us within the market... More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed here in November 2012 as we got the room for £40 instead of £120. Glad we didn't pay £120 as it wasn't worth even a quarter of that! Very dated, small rooms. Corridors are dark and feel enclosed. Main issue was we both went home barely able to breathe, not sure whether this was to do with the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GBHotelBirmingham, Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We have noted that you stayed with us back in 2012. Since then our hotel has had major refurbishment works. We do hope you will stay with ourselves again. More

Nuneaton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I don't write on these very often. but last weekends stay was a joke. 8 of us attended Ollie Murs tribute night and 3 of us were ill that night. One so bad he has been off work most this week, not like him at all. The hotel were told at breakfast one was really ill and was told cant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
New Mills, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Arrived at the Great Barr hotel early and got our room key straight away . The room was clean and tidy a little dated but not a problem . The bathroom again was ok apart from the drinking glasses were within inches of the toilet roll i did tell the receptionist and she said she would deal with it .... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GBHotelBirmingham, Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. On speaking with our housekeeping staff in regards to the small problems highlighted this is being rectified on a daily basis. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Great Barr Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Great Barr Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Barr Hotel

Address: Pear Tree Drive, Newton Road, Birmingham B43 6HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Barr Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Great Barr Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Barr Birmingham
Hotel Great Barr

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Birmingham with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
92

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Great Barr Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer