We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 137 Birmingham hotels

Britannia Hotel Birmingham

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   New Street, Birmingham B2 4RX, England (Ladywood)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Britannia Hotel Birmingham to your Saves list
Britannia Hotel Birmingham
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
26%
Ranked #102 of 137 hotels in Birmingham
Write a Review

1,150 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    190
    275
    221
    417
See reviews for
84
262
161
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My friend and I booked a twin room for 1 night as we were traveling from London by train to see a show at the NIA. Super convenient to New Street station and a great selection of shops on the doorstep too, but that's where it ends. Room was dated and the sink in the bathroom had a massive crack... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lincoln
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
61 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I needed a hotel that was near New Street station and a venue where I was to receive training for my job. The Britannia Hotel seemed to be ideally located. On arrival I was pleasantly surprised to find that my room (529) was quite spacious albeit there was a pillar in the middle of the room, something that is quite... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

For how much I paid for this room for one night, I should have gone some where else, the bath had hair left on it, the bedside cabinet was missing knobs, the tv stopped working at 9pm for some reason, and omg to the lifts that stopped working, buttons missing. Very disappointed To say something positive about the place -... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest Please accept my sincere apologies that the hotel failed to meet with your expectations. As I would advise any guest, should you experience any issues during your stay or wish to raise any concerns you feel should be brought to our attention, there is a Duty Manager available 24 hours per day who will gladly assist you in... More

Brimingham
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Do not stay here. I checked in today after booking with late rooms the guy at reception was rude to no end so was his colleague. It's not worth what I paid. Hotel very dated and the room is freezing, carpet is ripped, marks in the bath and cracks, pictures are freaky.. Considering leaving this dump.. Will never return!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest Please accept my sincere apologies that the hotel failed to meet with your expectations As I would advise any guest, should you experience any issues during your stay or wish to raise any concerns you feel should be brought to our attention, there is a Duty Manager available 24 hours per day who will gladly assist you in... More

Wrexham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Company booked me into this hotel as usual one booked up. I didn't stay and travelled 160mile round trip because it was nothing short of disgusting! It was like something from the twilight zone! Yellow marks on my sheets, no mattress protector or pillow protectors. Valance didn't touch the floor, marks on the walls, mould round the windows and bathroom.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest Please accept my apologies that the hotel failed to meet with your expectations at this time, I do wish that you had brought this to our attention at the time, as it would have given us the opportunity to address your concerns first hand, allowing you to leave the Hotel with a more favourable outlook. Your comments will... More

Ilminster
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Having stayed in several hotels in the area this is a very poor comparison. Very dated, thread bare carpets, room cleanliness was only just passable didn't heck mattress as didn't really want to make my stay any worse. Pictures that frankly are scary on the walls, only two plug sockets and one of those by door so we didn't find... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry that the hotel failed to meet with your expectations at this time. Staff are available and on duty 24 hours per day, and had you made them aware that you were unhappy with the accommodation provided, they would have been able to address your concerns first hand, allowing you to leave with a much more... More

Tehran, Iran
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you are looking for a hotel in city centre with good price, this is a good option however if you are looking for a nice hotel, forget it.The location and price was excellent however normally you can use the internet in your room and you should use it in lobby.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am sorry that certain aspects of the Hotel failed to meet your expectations at this time, I thank you for your kind comments with regards to our excellent location and superb value for money. Regards More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked the hotel for 31 March. Our check in time was 2 o'clock but we reached there at 1 o'clock. Chinese look receptionist came and told that she cant allowed us before 2 o'clock without hi-hello..Her attitude, seemed we are 'burden'...1st April, during our check out, An indian look young guy told us we have leave the room by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry that the hotel failed to meet with your expectations at this time. I disagree with your comments about the Staff, we do try and meet all Guests requests, however sometimes this isnt possible due to circumstances out of our control. Regards More

London
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Its location was good. I needed a hotel close to the railway station as I was arriving in the UK from Greece and I knew I would be tired. The room was clean and there was a bath in the bathroom. But ... My room was on floor 2 - but the lift I was told to use did not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest Please accept my apologies that the hotel did not meet with your expectations I can assure you that the issues you have raised will be addressed and improvments will be made where deemed possible. A Breakfast Voucher can be purchased at Reception, for the fantasic value for money offer of £6.00, this offer is advertised all over the... More

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I always try to give a fair assessment of hotels we have stayed in. We arrived at the hotel having booked through late rooms.com, we had proof that our rooms had been booked and paid for, but the receptionist insisted that we had not paid, and asked if we could prove that we had paid, by showing him our credit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest Please accept my apologies that the hotel did not meet with your expectations Your comments will be passed onto the relevant departmental managers for improvements/re- training to be made where deemed necessary Regards More

Been to Britannia Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Birmingham

Also Known As:
Birmingham Britannia Hotel
Address: New Street, Birmingham B2 4RX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#102 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Britannia Hotel Birmingham 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Britannia Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britannia Hotel Birmingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.