We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 140 Birmingham hotels

The Beeches

76 Selly Oak Road | Bournville, Birmingham B30 1LS, England
Hotel amenities
The Beeches
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Beeches to your Saves list
45%
Ranked #82 of 140 Hotels in Birmingham
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Fizzydrink Bristol
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    16
    20
    12
    10
See reviews for
8
12
4
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (78)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Bristol
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I spent this weekend at the Beeches along with a Group of friends. We chose the Beeches as we wanted good conference facilities for our Craft group, and we weren't disappointed. The room we used was perfect, and we were kept supplied with tea and coffee and home baked cookies. As we used the room late into the night, even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DebraJonesBeeches, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear Fizzydrink. Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It is so lovely for the staff to receive such wonderful comments as they do work hard and love their jobs. It is great to see they reacted so promptly to any requests you had and the chef is thrilled you enjoyed the food. We look forward to seeing you... More

Beckenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

First point - the staff at reception were friendly and polite so well done to them :) I didn't bother complaining at the hotel, it seemed pointless as the solution was to demolish the building and build a better quality one. It feels, smells and looks like it has been neglected by the owners, it has that "old" smell throughout..... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DebraJonesBeeches, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear sjcz. Thank you for your review. I have thanked the staff at reception, whom you have complimented and spoken to housekeeping - they send their apologies, as do I. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us and that you felt investment was needed. I take on-board your comments and will ensure they are passed onto... More

Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a standard conference facility in lovely grounds. However it really does feel like a conference centre with hotel rooms added as a bolt on, particularly for non conference delegates. We arrived to find a huge check in queue (and only one person serving) so we fell into the bar to let it clear. Bar is fine - limited... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DebraJonesBeeches, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear Geodruth. Thank you for your review. I have passed your thanks and wonderful comments on to the chefs who were delighted with the praise. I have a meeting planned with the Food and Beverage Manager to see how we can improve the service you received - thank you for letting us know. You are right, there is not much... More

Crowthorne, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked this hotel as we were visiting Cadbury World and the main building was owned by the Cadbury family. We arrived early and couldn't check in because of being full the night before with Conference delegates. By the time we could check in we couldn't get a table in the restaurant before 8.15pm because of group bookings by conference delegates.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DebraJonesBeeches, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear Stephen M. Thank you for your review. Our check-in time is from 2pm as it states on all the booking sites we advertise with. As with any unexpected early arrivals, we will endeavour to get you into your room asap and liaise with housekeeping to do this. I apologise if our restaurant was busy and you were unable to... More

Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arriving at The Beeches thought lovely building with lots of History .Parking good .Entrance porch to Reception nets clean but not a needed look .Staff very friendly and helpful.Hotel very dated .Grounds lovely .Double bedroom good size and nice bathroom .But again all very dated . .Bed very small length and width and oh so un comfortable .only one bedside... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DebraJonesBeeches, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear Hac007. Thank you for your review. I am pleased to see there are so may positives about your stay, including the staff, your bedroom, the grounds and a lovely breakfast. I take on board your point about the Beeches being dated. This is something we are working on and hopefully you could see where we have been refurbished and... More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We held a family and friends get-together of 70 people on Sunday afternoon at the Beeches. There were four generations from ninety years to ten months. The Beeches staff helped to make it a thoroughly lovely afternoon. The location and facilities are excellent and we spilled out from the room into the bar and the bouncy castle on the lawn.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DebraJonesBeeches, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear bardot_69_12. Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It sounds like you had a great time and thoroughly enjoyed yourselves. We are so proud all went well and enjoyed your event with us. Kind Regards. Debra Jones More

Conwy, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
48 hotel reviews
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We arrived after a long delay due to traffic hold ups, Parked the car and made our way up to Reception. We were expecting a Nice room in the Hotel itself, as we had made a request for a large room with a view of the garden if possible, but unfortunately we were allocated a room in an area called... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DebraJonesBeeches, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear WINDFARMWATCHER. Thank you for your review. I have had a good chat with Dean and Simon and they too are thrilled with your comments. It is important that where your product is not as you want it, you wow your customers with great personality and service. I am glad we were able to do that for you. I would... More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Went to visit cadbury world n stayed here ova nite luvly hotel and staff are very polite and helpfull would recommend bit out of way of places but ok if u drive. Would defo stay here again if i was over that way

Was this review helpful? Yes
DebraJonesBeeches, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear lyn2222. Thank you so much for your wonderful review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The staff work very hard and are extremely encouraged when they get great reviews. Kind Regards Debra Jones More

Peterborough
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We have just spent one evening at the weekend at this hotel, and have found that like some other reviews the hotel is more of a conference centre than a hotel. When we booked we asked for a quiet room and was duly placed in the roof-space room with the kitchen extractor belching out! As we was there for only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DebraJonesBeeches, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear Motters1965 Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am pleased you found the staff friendly and that your breakfast was good, but I wholeheartedly apologise for your wife's omelette. The head chef is on duty today and is going to re-train the chef on duty at the time in the art of making omelettes and... More

Austria
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Spent a wonderful week here doing a Heal Your Life Teacher Training. The grounds, the friendly staff and the entire atmosphere of The Beeches really added to making it a week to remember. The only disadvantage was that the food was so delicious that I am now on a diet!!! However, don't let this put you off as The Beeches... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DebraJonesBeeches, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear JeanAustria. Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It was our pleasure to look after your for the week you stayed. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Beeches. Kind Regards Debra Jones More

Do you own or manage The Beeches?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Beeches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beeches

Address: 76 Selly Oak Road | Bournville, Birmingham B30 1LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your The Beeches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beeches Conference Centre Hotel Bournville

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near The Beeches

Enlarge Map
Top-rated Attractions Nearby
F1K Indoor Karting Ltd West Midlands
F1K Indoor Karting Ltd West Midlands
Game/ Entertainment Centers
Cadbury World
Cadbury World
Amusement/ Theme Parks
Selly Manor
Selly Manor
Architectural Buildings