We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 140 Birmingham hotels

The Beeches

76 Selly Oak Road | Bournville, Birmingham B30 1LS, England
Hotel amenities
The Beeches
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Beeches to your Saves list
44%
Ranked #85 of 140 Hotels in Birmingham
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Anna M Dublin, Ireland
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    18
    21
    13
    11
See reviews for
8
12
4
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (83)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I attended conference recently in The Beeches. I stayed in the hotel the night before. When I arrived at reception, the general manager, Debra, welcomed me very warmly. I was offered tea or coffee, but as I only drink herbal teas, Debra went to great effort to find me some. The room was very clean and comfortable. The en suite... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DebraJonesBeeches, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear Anna M. Thank you so much for your wonderful review - if I say so myself! It was our pleasure to look after you and I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind Regards Debra Jones More

Morchardroad
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just had the smallest meal ever and for the price very disappointing. I would stay here again but will find somewhere else to eat. My room is in an annexe, which is a short walk from the main building. The room is clean and tidy and reasonable priced.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DebraJonesBeeches, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear Andrew W. Thank you for your review. I am pleased you found us to be good value for money and that your room was clean. I am sorry however, to hear about your evening meal. I do wish you had said something on the night, or indeed when you checked out with Pam this morning, so we could have... More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
29 hotel reviews
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have had the pleasure of visiting the Beeches for over ten years now for various work events. I can honestly say that it is one of the most comfortable, freindly and accommodating venues that I have visited. In the last two weeks I have had the fortune to actually stay in the accommodation and was very pleasantly surprised. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DebraJonesBeeches, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear MRB01. Thank you so very much for your wonderful review. I have passed your review round all our team and your lovely words and comments are appreciated by everyone. It can sometimes be easier to WOW someone for a one off event, but to have continued to WOW you for 10 years takes special care. I am glad all... More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked this hotel for a one night stay for my self and a colleague to attend a meeting the next day. We arrived at 8.45 pm to be told that the restaurant was closed but they would see what they could do. We were offered soup and a sandwich. Being very hungry after a long drive we accepted. Then... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DebraJonesBeeches, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear exhausted. Thank you for your trip advisor review. I have investigated your review. I sincerely apologise to you if you felt unhappy over your stay. Our restaurant does close at 9am and I understand you ordered after that. I am pleased that you were offered soup and sandwiches. The total cost of food and drinks (including wine) was for... More

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here in a single room for two nights while attending a nearby conference. Importantly all the staff I encountered were excellent and very friendly. However my room (114) was small, noisy (plumbing noises) and the bathroom was dated and tired. The small bed, the noise and the fact that the room was very warm meant that a good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DebraJonesBeeches, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear tr4veler. Thank you for your review. I am pleased that the staff were excellent and friendly and that you enjoyed a good breakfast. I am sorry if the room was warm, we do have self-adjusting thermostats in all rooms on the radiators and I have checked you room to ensure it is working correctly. I am sorry if you... More

Bristol
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I spent this weekend at the Beeches along with a Group of friends. We chose the Beeches as we wanted good conference facilities for our Craft group, and we weren't disappointed. The room we used was perfect, and we were kept supplied with tea and coffee and home baked cookies. As we used the room late into the night, even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DebraJonesBeeches, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear Fizzydrink. Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It is so lovely for the staff to receive such wonderful comments as they do work hard and love their jobs. It is great to see they reacted so promptly to any requests you had and the chef is thrilled you enjoyed the food. We look forward to seeing you... More

Beckenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First point - the staff at reception were friendly and polite so well done to them :) I didn't bother complaining at the hotel, it seemed pointless as the solution was to demolish the building and build a better quality one. It feels, smells and looks like it has been neglected by the owners, it has that "old" smell throughout..... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DebraJonesBeeches, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear sjcz. Thank you for your review. I have thanked the staff at reception, whom you have complimented and spoken to housekeeping - they send their apologies, as do I. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us and that you felt investment was needed. I take on-board your comments and will ensure they are passed onto... More

Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a standard conference facility in lovely grounds. However it really does feel like a conference centre with hotel rooms added as a bolt on, particularly for non conference delegates. We arrived to find a huge check in queue (and only one person serving) so we fell into the bar to let it clear. Bar is fine - limited... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DebraJonesBeeches, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear Geodruth. Thank you for your review. I have passed your thanks and wonderful comments on to the chefs who were delighted with the praise. I have a meeting planned with the Food and Beverage Manager to see how we can improve the service you received - thank you for letting us know. You are right, there is not much... More

Crowthorne, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

Booked this hotel as we were visiting Cadbury World and the main building was owned by the Cadbury family. We arrived early and couldn't check in because of being full the night before with Conference delegates. By the time we could check in we couldn't get a table in the restaurant before 8.15pm because of group bookings by conference delegates.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DebraJonesBeeches, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear Stephen M. Thank you for your review. Our check-in time is from 2pm as it states on all the booking sites we advertise with. As with any unexpected early arrivals, we will endeavour to get you into your room asap and liaise with housekeeping to do this. I apologise if our restaurant was busy and you were unable to... More

Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

Arriving at The Beeches thought lovely building with lots of History .Parking good .Entrance porch to Reception nets clean but not a needed look .Staff very friendly and helpful.Hotel very dated .Grounds lovely .Double bedroom good size and nice bathroom .But again all very dated . .Bed very small length and width and oh so un comfortable .only one bedside... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DebraJonesBeeches, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear Hac007. Thank you for your review. I am pleased to see there are so may positives about your stay, including the staff, your bedroom, the grounds and a lovely breakfast. I take on board your point about the Beeches being dated. This is something we are working on and hopefully you could see where we have been refurbished and... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Beeches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beeches

Address: 76 Selly Oak Road | Bournville, Birmingham B30 1LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your The Beeches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beeches Conference Centre Hotel Bournville

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay