We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 138 Birmingham hotels

The Beeches

76 Selly Oak Road | Bournville, Birmingham B30 1LS, England
Hotel amenities
The Beeches
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Beeches to your Saves list
Ranked #81 of 138 Hotels in Birmingham
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Beckiboo1983 London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    20
    22
    13
    11
See reviews for
9
13
4
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (86)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I had to laugh at some of the reviews below this one... "rooms not suitable for lone females" - you're in the middle of Birmingham on a public road, I'm sure it's quite safe! "Rooms were boiling hot like a sauna" - turn the thermostat down! Some people just like moaning it seems. I stayed here with my mum in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DebraJonesBeeches, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear Beckiboo1983. Thank you so much for your very honest review. It was lovely to hear that our staff really stepped up to the mark for you and I have spoken to them all individually to say thanks. We have always had the philosophy, that regardless of your product, customer service should never suffer. Thank you again. Kind Regards Debra... More

Exmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My partner a I stayed here 2 nights incorporating a visit to Cadbury World,walking around the surrounding area with its history and visiting friends.Positives first,great little location,very quiet,plenty of parking,nice size room,nice powerful shower, good lighting in room,friendly staff,top maintenance guy,10 min walk from Cadbury World. Ok negatives,our room could have done with lick of paint,marks on ceiling and window... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DebraJonesBeeches, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear Devontravelbug2. Thank you for your review. I am pleased that there were many positives during your stay including: great little location, very quiet, plenty of parking, nice size room, nice powerful shower, good lighting in room, friendly staff, top maintenance guy,10 min walk from Cadbury World. These are all excellent positives to be had and show we do offer... More

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My colleague and I stayed here to attend a conference being held nearby in Bournville. We found it to be very good accommodation. The room was most adequate, and the bathroom clean and modern. Staff were very friendly in the restaurant and in the bar and lounge area. Breakfast was very good. We ate a couple of evening meals there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DebraJonesBeeches, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear 1947er. Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It sounds as though you had a wonderful stay, with good food and a pleasant bedroom. We look forward to welcoming you again. Kind Regards. Debra Jones More

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I attended conference recently in The Beeches. I stayed in the hotel the night before. When I arrived at reception, the general manager, Debra, welcomed me very warmly. I was offered tea or coffee, but as I only drink herbal teas, Debra went to great effort to find me some. The room was very clean and comfortable. The en suite... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DebraJonesBeeches, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear Anna M. Thank you so much for your wonderful review - if I say so myself! It was our pleasure to look after you and I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind Regards Debra Jones More

Morchardroad
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014 via mobile

Just had the smallest meal ever and for the price very disappointing. I would stay here again but will find somewhere else to eat. My room is in an annexe, which is a short walk from the main building. The room is clean and tidy and reasonable priced.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DebraJonesBeeches, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear Andrew W. Thank you for your review. I am pleased you found us to be good value for money and that your room was clean. I am sorry however, to hear about your evening meal. I do wish you had said something on the night, or indeed when you checked out with Pam this morning, so we could have... More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
30 hotel reviews
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

I have had the pleasure of visiting the Beeches for over ten years now for various work events. I can honestly say that it is one of the most comfortable, freindly and accommodating venues that I have visited. In the last two weeks I have had the fortune to actually stay in the accommodation and was very pleasantly surprised. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DebraJonesBeeches, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear MRB01. Thank you so very much for your wonderful review. I have passed your review round all our team and your lovely words and comments are appreciated by everyone. It can sometimes be easier to WOW someone for a one off event, but to have continued to WOW you for 10 years takes special care. I am glad all... More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

I booked this hotel for a one night stay for my self and a colleague to attend a meeting the next day. We arrived at 8.45 pm to be told that the restaurant was closed but they would see what they could do. We were offered soup and a sandwich. Being very hungry after a long drive we accepted. Then... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DebraJonesBeeches, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear exhausted. Thank you for your trip advisor review. I have investigated your review. I sincerely apologise to you if you felt unhappy over your stay. Our restaurant does close at 9am and I understand you ordered after that. I am pleased that you were offered soup and sandwiches. The total cost of food and drinks (including wine) was for... More

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

I stayed here in a single room for two nights while attending a nearby conference. Importantly all the staff I encountered were excellent and very friendly. However my room (114) was small, noisy (plumbing noises) and the bathroom was dated and tired. The small bed, the noise and the fact that the room was very warm meant that a good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DebraJonesBeeches, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear tr4veler. Thank you for your review. I am pleased that the staff were excellent and friendly and that you enjoyed a good breakfast. I am sorry if the room was warm, we do have self-adjusting thermostats in all rooms on the radiators and I have checked you room to ensure it is working correctly. I am sorry if you... More

Bristol
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

I spent this weekend at the Beeches along with a Group of friends. We chose the Beeches as we wanted good conference facilities for our Craft group, and we weren't disappointed. The room we used was perfect, and we were kept supplied with tea and coffee and home baked cookies. As we used the room late into the night, even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DebraJonesBeeches, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear Fizzydrink. Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It is so lovely for the staff to receive such wonderful comments as they do work hard and love their jobs. It is great to see they reacted so promptly to any requests you had and the chef is thrilled you enjoyed the food. We look forward to seeing you... More

Beckenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

First point - the staff at reception were friendly and polite so well done to them :) I didn't bother complaining at the hotel, it seemed pointless as the solution was to demolish the building and build a better quality one. It feels, smells and looks like it has been neglected by the owners, it has that "old" smell throughout..... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DebraJonesBeeches, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear sjcz. Thank you for your review. I have thanked the staff at reception, whom you have complimented and spoken to housekeeping - they send their apologies, as do I. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us and that you felt investment was needed. I take on-board your comments and will ensure they are passed onto... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Beeches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beeches

Address: 76 Selly Oak Road | Bournville, Birmingham B30 1LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Beeches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beeches Conference Centre Hotel Bournville

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay