We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 29 Stratford-upon-Avon hotels

Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7LT, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel to your Saves list
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
61%
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Paul O Hitchin, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (478)
  • Photos (31)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (93)
  • More
true
Write a Review

478 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    155
    121
    41
    35
See reviews for
51
300
8
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We were looking for a hotel with character close to the town as per the photos but only the main building had any, the rest was 60s style annex. Room disappointing despite the £140/night price tag. I contacted the hotel before arrival to make sure the room was "nice" as this was our first weekend away since we got married... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed 2 nights, room only, over August Bank Holiday weekend using Tesco vouchers. Having had an enjoyable stay 4 years ago, we did not bother checking the reviews on T.A. until after we had booked, so were somewhat concerned about what we would find. However, everything was fine - the room (including the bathroom) was very clean, everything worked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We were staying in Stratford for one night to meet with friends (who were also staying in the hotel) look around during the day and have a meal in the evening. We arrived to the hotel earlier than the 2pm check-in time and were pleased to find our room ready and given our key. First impression of the hotel was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claire P, Manager at Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your constructive feedback and I am sorry to hear that your stay did not meet with expectations. I shall be working closely with the manager of le bistrot pierre looking at ways in which to imporve standards at breakfast both in terms of customer service and quality of food served. Staff training is ongoing and... More

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having previously stayed at the Macdonald Manchester Hotel and after a great experience decided to stay at another one of their hotels this weekend whilst staying in Stratford Upon Avon. This was a surprise birthday present for my partner and I can only say I was left bitterly disappointed and upset and will not be staying at a further Macdonald... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claire P, Manager at Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, I am very disappointed to hear the Macdonald Swans Nest Hotel did not meet with your expectations on your recent visit. The vast majority of our guests leave the Swans Nest more than satisfied with their stay and I am very sorry to hear that on this occasion this was not the case for you. I would be... More

Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were looking for a break in Stratford to revisit all things Shakespearean, including The Rose Theatre, Anne Hathaways, The Bards Birthplace attraction which turned out to be great and his grave in HolyTrinity Church, never mind the fantastic opportunities for Shopping and Dining. We were so pleased to find that the large Hotel is right by the Avon, within... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claire P, Manager at Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you sincerely for your comments and for the time you have taken to give this feedback. I am delighted to learn of the positive stay you had. We shall use this valuable feedback to pass on to our teams as this provides great motivation. I shall work with the Bistrot in order to improve communication regarding our... More

Melbourne
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and really enjoyed my stay. The room I was in was very comfortable, spacious,quiet and well appointed. The breakfast service was great with a wide variety to choose from and the staff attentive and helpful, although a tad inexperienced. I did not have lunch or dinner here but some of those in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claire P, Manager at Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you sincerely for your comments and for the time you have taken to give this feedback. I am delighted to learn of your positive visit. We shall use this valuable feedback to pass on to our teams as this provides great motivation We look forward to welcoming you back to the Macdonald Swans Nest Hotel in the... More

shropshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We've just returned from our third stay at this hotel. Looking at it's rating now - 26 of 29 hotels in Stratford - had we not stayed here before I don't think we would have booked it. However, we have just enjoyed another enjoyable stay here. Yes it needs a refurb, but it is by no means shabby or dirty,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claire P, Manager at Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for your very kind comments, we are delighted that you have taken the time to give us your feedback. The Team at the Swans Nest are very proud to read such a nice review. We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Macdonald Swans Nest Hotel again very soon, and hope that... More

Stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for a couple of nights at the end of June and it is a great location for the theatre, shops and anything Shakespeare in the town. However, the so-called "premium" room furnishing seems very tired to me ; the "aircon" was little better than a fan. We had to transfer rooms when in the first when I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claire P, Manager at Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us your comments. Clearly, you were disappointed with aspects of your stay with us, and I would like to offer my sincere apologies for any shortfalls in our standards and service. We are committed to investing in and improving our product for the future and as such have an ongoing... More

Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed Mon-Fri at this hotel and found it was in a very good location right in the centre of Stratford. The river and attractions were right on the doorstep. We went on a river cruise £5.50 each, well worth it. The sun was shining and everyone was out on cruise boats, canoes, rowing boats etc.The hotel looks out onto... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claire P, Manager at Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you sincerely for your comments and for the time you have taken to give this feedback. I am delighted to learn of your positive visit. We shall use this valuable feedback to pass on to our teams as this provides great motivation We look forward to welcoming you back to the Macdonald Swans Nest Hotel in the... More

Blackburn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The title says it all really the Hotel is in an excellent position to access the river,town centre & theatre.Okay now the negatives, service was o.k. no complaints, but just o.k. hotel is very tired carpets have seen far better days, our bedroom had very old furniture very worn,bathroom & shower o.k. Nothing bad enough to complain about but if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Claire P, Manager at Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments; I was pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found the location to be such an advantage. Clearly, you were also a little disappointed with aspects of your stay with us, and I would like to offer my sincere apologies for any shortfalls... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel

Address: Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Swans Nest
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Stratford-upon-Avon with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#14 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
68

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer