We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Menzies Welcombe Hotel & Golf Course

4.0 of 5 Warwick Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 0NR, England
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Menzies Welcombe Hotel & Golf Course
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Menzies Welcombe Hotel & Golf Course
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    209
    80
    52
    26
See reviews for
96
364
11
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (789)
  • Mar-May only
    (177)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (222)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (192)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (198)
All months
There are newer reviews for Menzies Welcombe Hotel & Golf Course
See the most recent reviews
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night over a weekend this October, treated the wife to a luxury break... Although their was a large wedding on at the same time of our stay you would not have thought it... guests are housed towards the other end of this large hotel. no problem at all. We dined in the restaurant, late Saturday night,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shaun V, General Manager at Menzies Welcombe Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear thetaylorfamily, thanks for choosing us for your short break and so pleased you enjoyed yourselves and in particular the food at dinner. I have shared your review with the team. Regards Shaun More

Windsor, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I arrange a Spa Weekend every year for 17 ladies and every year there will be some sort of last minute problem to contend with. Many times I have wasted my first day at a spa sorting out problems and my last day sorting out the bill. Menzies however are WONDERFUL! The lovely Jess has merrily dealt with every issue... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Shaun V, General Manager at Menzies Welcombe Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Theoneandonlydlr, thanks for choosing to return again for your spa break and so pleased you all enjoyed yourselves again. I will share your kind comments with the team, in particular Carolyn who you have mentioned. Thanks again and hope to see you next year. Regards Shaun More

Atherstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having booked and then read the reviews about staff rudeness, we were a little concerned! But I have to say all the staff were very polite and helpful and couldn't do enough for us. The food was hit and miss, first night not too good but second night excellent. Our only gripe was our breakfast. We had ordered room service... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shaun V, General Manager at Menzies Welcombe Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Shaz-068, thanks for leaving us your review and pleased that overall you had a great break with us. I'm sorry if your room service order was not delivered on time and had missing items, I will review this operation with our restaurant manager. All your feedback has been shared with the team and we do hope to be able... More

Bristol
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stunning hotel (especially from outside) and gardens, room nice with garden view. Bathroom needed refurb. Bed good. Kettle rubbish. Not much atmosphere so had room service, which was very average/ poor, when arrived they had to return with part of order they had forgotten. Also hard work placing order and employee did not understand. Beautiful spa including amazing outdoor jacuzzi.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shaun V, General Manager at Menzies Welcombe Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear CL81, thank you for leaving us your review which I will share with the team. We shall look at your comments regarding buffet display and ensure anything within our control is revised, all feedback is very constructive and thank you. Looking forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Best wishes Shaun More

Packington, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I am a very regular traveller and so to say this hotel is just wonderful is praise indeed, from the minute you drive up the driveway to leaving is just a feeling of pure luxury. The staff are friendly – nothing too much trouble from making my reservation to having my bags taken to the car, all of the staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Shaun V, General Manager at Menzies Welcombe Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Jayne J, thank you for choosing to stay at the Welcombe and so pleased to read your review. I will share your kind comments with the team and we do look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Regards Shaun More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Hotel is in a beautiful setting and stayed in the four poster room which is amazing! the room is massive and views to wake up too! Felt like a princess! The restaurant was good with quality food and great presentation. All staff in hotel and spa were friendly and helpful, especially Laura! The vitality pool has great power and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shaun V, General Manager at Menzies Welcombe Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Mwalton 1, thanks so much for leaving us your review and choosing to stay at the Welcombe Hotel. I will share your review with the team and we do hope to welcome you back again in the future. Kind regards Shaun More

Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Was taken here by my partner as a surprise.... lovely grand country house... beautiful grounds.... had a modern room on the ground floor....bedroom fine bathroom not very clean.....gave it a 4* as the pool and spa and outdoor jacuzzi are brilliant... drinks are very expensive.... breakfast was standard nothing great compared to many hotels....bacon n sausages looked very pale....tried to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shaun V, General Manager at Menzies Welcombe Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Sara S, thanks for your review and pleased that you enjoyed your surprise break and especially the Spa. I will discuss your feedback about breakfast with the team and we are currently reviewing our supplier to ensure the best quality of sausage and bacon. I am sorry if you were charged for someone else's bill and this is also... More

London
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
53 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is OK overall, but the service was disappointing. We went to the SPA the first day we arrive and we were allowed in with our two-month old baby until 8pm with no problem. The following day, which was our wedding anniversary!!, we did the same and we were not allowed with the baby! So, basically on our special... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shaun V, General Manager at Menzies Welcombe Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear fjeron, thanks for your review and feedback about family times in the spa. Your comments to the Duty Manager where relayed to myself and I am reviewing the times children are allowed. As we have a large private membership of the Welcombe Spa we need to ensure they are aware of any changes to the published current conditions or... More

Solihull
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Second year running for a spa weekend. Last year was lovely ( though some rude reception staff ) but we had a totally different experience this year possibly due to the hotel holding 2 weddings and having little time or inclination for anything else Good points were the main hotel and lovely grounds and the bad points were the rude... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Shaun V, General Manager at Menzies Welcombe Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear ufton, as per my response to Joanna from your party. Having spent over a month in dialogue with your group regarding your stay I was disappointed to read your review. I can only assure you of my best intentions at all times and sorry that I could not satisfy with any of my attempts - leading you to leave... More

Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a beautiful Hotel in a great location. Old historic building with bags of character and beautiful spa. Suites are amazing. Could stay here forever. Not my first visit to this hotel and never disappoints. Only downside is food and drinks in hotel very expensive so always eat outside in Stratford town. Will return and would highly reccomend

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shaun V, General Manager at Menzies Welcombe Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Katie M, thanks for your short but sweet review - I will share with the team and sure we will be welcoming you back again in the future. Regards Shaun More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Menzies Welcombe Hotel & Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menzies Welcombe Hotel & Golf Course

Address: Warwick Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 0NR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Menzies Welcombe Hotel & Golf Course 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Menzies Welcombe Hotel & Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Welcombe Hotel And Golf Course
Menzies Welcombe Hotel Course
Menzies Welcombe Hotel & Golf Course Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

207 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (189)
Viewed
Room/suite (52)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay