We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 77 Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

Grey Street Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 - 12 Grey Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 6EE, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Grey Street Hotel to your Saves list
Grey Street Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
55%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
james k Swansea, United Kingdom
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    131
    93
    61
    25
See reviews for
31
146
33
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Darlington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Recent stay here with my Mum. Booked a slightly more pricey room as it was a surprise. A surprise it certainly was! Greeted by a lovely lady at reception, very pleasant and welcoming. Lift is tiny and slow- but it's an old building so get over it. Room was large but very tired -lots of scuffs on the wall, chips... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

we recently stayed at the grey st hotel and would certainly go back again,,,our visit was for a weekend getaway and we were well trated bt the staff, the hotel is ideally located in grey st which is central to all the shops and bars and clubs which were our destination, Its a good hotel if its your first visit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We agree the hotel is great as it is in the heart of the city with everything Newcastle offers practically on its doorstep. Some of our rooms are split level, which are a lovely feature but can be... More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Im in room 15 and there is an eternal din coming from some vent outside. I just called reception and apparently it stops at 10pm. I have warped in time to 1999 and there are six channels on my tv. There is no tv guide. Being away from home I was looking forward to relaxing in my room watching E4... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you found the TV choice limited it is definitely something we will look at improving when we refurbish in the near future. Due to the hotel and its neighbours being working buildings there are some units that can be a little noisy. However all our windows are triple glazed and as you... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had booked the hotel looking at its location + amenities + quality rooms. But once I was in the hotel, it was no where near my expectations. The Guest Wifi was very poor, rooms were ok. If you want peaceful night then take room on topmost floor (5th). Staff was good and helpful though. This place is Ok to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry you found your stay with us below your expectations. We are unsure what specifically you are referring to regarding the location, amenities and rooms but are positive that if you raised any issues during your stay we would have done our up-most to resolve them. Unfortunately we have no control over outside noise but all our windows are triple... More

Hexham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

at the theatre royal to see mousetrap.This hotel made the night not good but great.Location ,staff,and room 100% .Found our room(29)looked over the grey street, double glazing very good.Room very nice but a bit tired ( very clean) staff were very helpfull and curtious .Breakfast was as it should be quiet and orderly (hang over) ,full breakfast not to be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great feedback. We are so glad we made your weekend enjoyable. We are really proud of our original features and are happy you noticed them. Hope you survived your hangover, see you again soon. More

Leeds
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Room as represented in pictures so clean modern and I was upgraded so bed huge. However, room suffered from noise from very creaky floorboards in room above and very active guest upstairs and bin lorries came round at 6am. Internet was patchy and their was a stool to sit at to work at the desk which was too low and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are sorry you found your experience with us disappointing. We endeavour to provide our guests with an enjoyable experience and are positive if you had raised any of the issues during your stay we would have addressed them and relocated you. Unfortunately the bin collections are for... More

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was booked into the hotel for a number of nights and went onto trip advisor and nearly cried. The room is clean, shower works well and bed is very very comfy. However, the walls are scuffed (normal in a busy hotel) and my bath panel has rotted areas and there is mildrew in the shower. But on the whole-... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in Newcastle recently and spent one night here, from what I saw, this is a great hotel. We stayed in room 46 which is huge for a twin and had a very spacious bathroom! My bed was ridiculously comfy, I could've stayed there all day. Everything was clean and tidy, no mould or peeling paint to be seen.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Our beds are award winning Hypno beds so it is no surprise you could have stayed in it! Our staff are really proud of the service they provide and we will pass your comments on to the front of house staff. Thank you for taking the time to write your... More

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

got room with gigantic generator or air conditioning unit right outside window, so noisy never slept a wink, couldn't understand why put here because hotel very quiet day after bank holiday, complained to reception next morning who just smiled and said sorry and agreed is a problem with that room, so why were we put in it ?

Was this review helpful? Yes
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Apologies you found your room noisy. Due to the hotel and its neighbours being working buildings there are some units that can be a little noisy, however all our windows are triple glazed. On the night you stayed the hotel was actually fully booked resulting in all rooms being allocated. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with... More

Canberra
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Greeting at reception was exceptionally cold with the staff only managing to mutter the absolute essentials. I always think that the saddest part of any underperforming hotel is staff that don't really care. The staff here really didn't make me feel as though they cared about my stay. No information about the hotel, no information about the area, not even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are sorry you had a disappointing experience with us. We generally receive positive feedback regarding our staff, especially those on reception. All our staff take care to ensure our guests enjoy their stay with us. We are sorry you didn’t experience that on your visit, your comments... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Grey Street Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Grey Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Street Hotel

Address: 2 - 12 Grey Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 6EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grey Street Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grey Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grey Street
Grey Street Newcastle Upon Tyne

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne with
any amenities