We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Heroes Hostel-Hotel

1.5 of 5 71 Grainger Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5JE, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heroes Hostel-Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Heroes Hostel-Hotel
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    5
    5
    13
See reviews for
Families
0
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (28)
  • Mar-May only
    (1)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Myself and 5 friends booked heroes hostel for our weekend away in Newcastle. What a disaster. When we arrived at about 9am we were told that we couldn't check in until 3pm because the fire department were doing a check on the place. This got us a little worried along with the fact that the place appeared to be generally... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

I only booked last minute on booking.com for one night on a Saturday. A triple room cost us 90 pounds.. When we arrived the kebab shop reception, the couple who I assume are the owners didn't have a room for us because the room we booked shouldn't have been available to book for one night only. They ended up finding... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

First of all staff are really canny, We were giving postcode that took us straight to cheapest/closed parking in town & directions straight to hotel. We paid cash on arrival (Optional) We paid £440 For 11 People to stay for 2 nights for the weekend. I looked myself & there is no cheaper in newcastle! Before we got there it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

This Little hotel is not at all bad as previous reviews make it out to be, It's simply all you need and nothing more for a great cheap weekend / night out. Its right in center of literally everything in this area *(NUT)* PRICE ONLY - £30 Per person (per night) and with there been 5 of us they even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ibiza, Spain
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

My Fried booked us in here for 2 nights as we were doing the Great North Run, we arrived at around 8pm, we knew it was not a palace from the pictures but thought it would be ok, the Guy on Reception was really nice and helpful, however, once we started climbing the stairs the reality kicked in, the place... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
christopher c, Manager at Heroes Hostel-Hotel, responded to this review

Im very sorry you didnt enjoy your stay it is clearly stated on the websites that this is basic accommodation at rock bottom price nothing is provided no towels e.c.t and when booking i would always have a look at the place im booking its not our fault you did not bother but to say that the place smells and... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

great location in the middle of all the night life and shopping facilities unbeatable value for money freindly staff and clean rooms. thank you heroes hotel for a pleasant stay. *fish and chip shop no longer there just a nice welcoming reception*

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I've only started using Tripadvisor, hence I'm typing this over six months since I visited. But when I thought to myself "What is the worst hotel I've ever stayed in?", this was the place that topped the list. It's making me feel unwell just thinking about it again, but for your benefit, to help ensure you don't make the same... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Father Ted C, Manager at Heroes Hostel-Hotel, responded to this review

What did we do to upset this person? six months to think about a review! , No windows YES there is, no ventilation YES there is, no toilet rolls YES there is, excrement on toilet seat NO!, rooms are cleaned prior to guest arrival, reception in Takeaway NO a temporary situation, who is Fred Goodwin, don't NO, £20 personal liability... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

A group of 6 of us stayed at the heroes hotel from 30th dec - 1st January and I have to say to anyone who is saying 'I wouldn't recommend this to a tramp' or 'I would rather sleep on the streets', what a load of rubbish and how insulting to the lovely owners! Being 100% honest, by no means... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Father Ted C, Manager at Heroes Hostel-Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for you honest response, we are happy that you recognise that basic amenities can be found and be good value. More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I wouldnt recommend this place to anyone if it was the last place on earth. Personally they have a cheek to charge £30 per person per room, it should of been £30 per room at the most. The handle on the fire door was hanging off and the door wasnt even cut straight at the bottom. We were on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Father Ted C, Manager at Heroes Hostel-Hotel, responded to this review

Apologies YES, door not cut straight?, bars on windows NO, Fire escape through windows NO, through fire resistant stairwells YES, Assembly points NOT required, a City Centre location, chairs NOT provided SORRY, a leak from room damage above SORRY remedied 24 hours later, Hostel basic and cheap YES, 5 Star and costly NO. More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at heroes hotel/hostel and we weren't quite sure how to get into the hotel as there was no other entrance except through the chippy/takeaway. As we walked in we were greeted by the stench of greasy fatty oily disgrace in the air and a woman shouting over the counter asking us if we were checking in, dont think any... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Father Ted C, Manager at Heroes Hostel-Hotel, responded to this review

Can not adequately respond to this multiple dilemma, a complaint from start to finish, a bad weekend for everyone, a genuine bad review. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Heroes Hostel-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heroes Hostel-Hotel

Address: 71 Grainger Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Heroes Hostel-Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Heroes Hostel-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay