We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   71 Grainger Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5JE, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Heroes Hostel-Hotel to your Saves list
Heroes Hostel-Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
  • Overview
  • Reviews (22)
  • Photos (5)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (3)
  • More
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    3
    4
    11
See reviews for
Families
0
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I've only started using Tripadvisor, hence I'm typing this over six months since I visited. But when I thought to myself "What is the worst hotel I've ever stayed in?", this was the place that topped the list. It's making me feel unwell just thinking about it again, but for your benefit, to help ensure you don't make the same... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Father Ted C, Manager at Heroes Hostel-Hotel, responded to this review

What did we do to upset this person? six months to think about a review! , No windows YES there is, no ventilation YES there is, no toilet rolls YES there is, excrement on toilet seat NO!, rooms are cleaned prior to guest arrival, reception in Takeaway NO a temporary situation, who is Fred Goodwin, don't NO, £20 personal liability... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

A group of 6 of us stayed at the heroes hotel from 30th dec - 1st January and I have to say to anyone who is saying 'I wouldn't recommend this to a tramp' or 'I would rather sleep on the streets', what a load of rubbish and how insulting to the lovely owners! Being 100% honest, by no means... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Father Ted C, Manager at Heroes Hostel-Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for you honest response, we are happy that you recognise that basic amenities can be found and be good value. More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I wouldnt recommend this place to anyone if it was the last place on earth. Personally they have a cheek to charge £30 per person per room, it should of been £30 per room at the most. The handle on the fire door was hanging off and the door wasnt even cut straight at the bottom. We were on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Father Ted C, Manager at Heroes Hostel-Hotel, responded to this review

Apologies YES, door not cut straight?, bars on windows NO, Fire escape through windows NO, through fire resistant stairwells YES, Assembly points NOT required, a City Centre location, chairs NOT provided SORRY, a leak from room damage above SORRY remedied 24 hours later, Hostel basic and cheap YES, 5 Star and costly NO. More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at heroes hotel/hostel and we weren't quite sure how to get into the hotel as there was no other entrance except through the chippy/takeaway. As we walked in we were greeted by the stench of greasy fatty oily disgrace in the air and a woman shouting over the counter asking us if we were checking in, dont think any... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Father Ted C, Manager at Heroes Hostel-Hotel, responded to this review

Can not adequately respond to this multiple dilemma, a complaint from start to finish, a bad weekend for everyone, a genuine bad review. More

Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This was truly a stay in hell, at 1st we booked for 5 and called to say one pulled out and can we maybe downgrade,i was told that there were no 4 person rooms left ,thats fair enough,i asked that because one had pulled what was chances of refund,i was advised £30(half of 1 person cost) would be given,when we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Father Ted C, Guest Relations Manager at Heroes Hostel-Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry about your stay, I hope you enjoyed the nightlife of the City, We do advertise that we offer no frills! Our Hostel-Hotel provides no amenities except an En-suite and beds. You pay for the room on a capacity basis if you reduce your number that's your loss, we did offer a £30 rebate which under our conditions of bookings... More

easington village
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

My friend and I made a spontaneous trip to Newcastle on Wednesday night and booked a cheap and cheerful room for a one night stay. Heroes was about £40 for the night. It did the job! I wasn't aware of where we were staying as my friend booked it... Although there is no parking available nearby we parked at the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Father Ted C, Guest Relations Manager at Heroes Hostel-Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, you at least had sense to recognised our basic amenities, If required a towel is requested it could be provided for a small refundable deposit. We have lost many towels over the years! More

Bridlington, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I like a good old cheap and cheerful hotel. Especially when your only there for a night out. This did the trick. Simple, basic. Excellent location walking distance to the bars etc. Great when your in heels :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Father Ted C, Guest Relations Manager at Heroes Hostel-Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, you at least had sense to recognised our basic amenities, If required a towel is requested it could be provided for a small refundable deposit. We have lost many towels over the years! More

Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed here as a stag group. It was exactly what we needed, a room with beds right in the centre of Newcastle. The beds are very uncomfortable if you are sober, the rooms and bathroom are reasonably clean. The hostel as I would call it, in no way could you call it a hotel, is only there for one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Father Ted C, Guest Relations Manager at Heroes Hostel-Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, you at least had sense to recognised our basic amenities. Yes we are a Hostel-Hotel and the reason we take a £20 refundable deposit is because of so much damage created to the Hotels across the country More

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The only positives are the location which is faultless to local bars and clubs and the price which is about the cheapest you'll get around. The beds were very uncomfortable and the carpets are in desperate need of a clean. The bathroom was fine and toilet and shower worked fine. We were in the top room which is a long... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Father Ted C, Guest Relations Manager at Heroes Hostel-Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, you at least recognised our basic amenities. Being on the top floor was a little unlucky, extra oxegen is required if your not fit. Not sure if you were at the rear of the premises also, unfortunately the extraction units run to the top of the buildings from the Takeaway... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in many hostels in my time and can honestly say this is by far the worst place I have ever stayed. The room was dirty, the shower barely worked and my mattress was so bad I couldn't quite believe it, it was basically a bag of springs. This place is NOT worth the location. Find somewhere else!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Father Ted C, Guest Relations Manager at Heroes Hostel-Hotel, responded to this review

I can only apologise the room was not cleaned to your satisfaction, they are always cleaned after use, and the shower may have not worked properly because of variable pressure, sometimes you have to try a little later on. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Heroes Hostel-Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Heroes Hostel-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heroes Hostel-Hotel

Address: 71 Grainger Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Heroes Hostel-Hotel 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Heroes Hostel-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

5 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne with
any amenities

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Heroes Hostel-Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer