We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 77 Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

The New Northumbria Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Osborne Road, Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AN, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The New Northumbria Hotel to your Saves list
The New Northumbria Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
76%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
  • Overview
  • Reviews (309)
  • Photos (67)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (80)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

309 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    111
    43
    24
    11
See reviews for
37
100
17
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived half an hour before check in and were told we had been given a complimentary upgrade. The room was a newly refurbished room. It was very hot but it was a sunny day and after calling reception at 11.45pm , I was told that they had given all the fans out but they would see what they could... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
The Malhotra G, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing such a lovely review - its great to hear that you will be staying with us again. We are pleased that you appreciated your complimentary upgrade and thank you for such wonderful comments regarding the staff throughout the hotel - its fantastic to hear such great feedback. Yes we have now bought some more fans -... More

London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a one night stop here last week whilst on business locally. My room was tired and definitely needed some attention, the bath panel had expanded and swollen up at the top leaving a dirty looking mess and a musty smell (see photo). The room was very small for a double with all the furniture and décor looking very tired.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
The Malhotra G, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay at the hotel. Some of our rooms are still awaiting to be refurbished - the final part of the refurbishment is due within the next few months. Sorry to hear about you not receiving what you ordered for breakfast, however if you would have brought this to their attention... More

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for a few nights whilst visiting newcastle for a wedding. It was the start of the weekend so parking was a squeeze in the back alley, but most places in this part of town looked to have the same issue. There was a buzz around the hotel and surrounding area so you could tell we were in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
The Malhotra G, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Unfortunately due to the location of the hotel we do have a limited amount of parking spaces available, however you are correct in saying that most over hotels in the city have the same issue. Thank you for such lovely comments regarding the staff, they are all so friendly... More

Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the second time have stayed here, this is now my hotel choice for Newcastle. .great value for money, lovely helpful staff, and the bedrooms are very clean and modern. stayed for 4days as husband at the RVI only 5mins drive...

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
The Malhotra G, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this review

Its wonderful to hear you enjoyed another stay with us at the New Northumbria and that we are now your hotel choice for Newcastle :) Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we hope to see you again soon. More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were here in July 2014 for a Stag weekend. The Hotel was perfect for the occasion. First impression was the outside of the hotel after arriving in the taxi. I thought I was in the wrong place! Their is a patio the size of the hotel, and it was full of people drinking, with suitable shade, in case of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The Malhotra G, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this review

Wow thank you for taking the time to write such an excellent review. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed the recent Stag weekend with us. Glad you appreciate our newly built terrace at the front of the hotel. Sorry to hear about the issue which you had with the shower – we will look into this and get this... More

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed hear for one night and couldn't fault it. It's in a spot on location with pent of pubs, bars and restaurants outside and near by. The rooms are just as expected and cant fault it for the money. Only cost us 4 quid in a taxi to get to the quayside where we had something to eat before walking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The Malhotra G, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this review

It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed your short but sweet stay at the New Northumbria Hotel. We agree that the location of the hotel is great and you have everything you need in short walking distance or a small fee in cab journey. Sorry to hear that you was a little disappointed with the breakfast however and we will have... More

Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

6 of us stayed here overnight to celebrate a 40th birthday, we arrived in a lovely clean modern reception and was greeted by a lovely receptionist, who put our luggage in a room as we were too early for check in, we then sat on the terrace and enjoyed a drink and pizza which were nice and well priced, the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The Malhotra G, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this review

We are pleased to hear that you had a nice time celebrating a 40th Birthday. Unfortunately we do not have air conditioning at the hotel however have recently invested in fans for the rooms due to the improvement of the English weather to try and help the heat. Sorry to hear about the fridge in your room - we will... More

Dorchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very good location - near Jesmond metro stop. Reception staff delightful. However... lots of noise- firstly from the hotel owned bar below and all the hen, stag, and wedding revellers of which there are many. Secondly they all come back in throughout the early hours causing a good deal of disruption. To cap it all, the intermittent fire bells started... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The Malhotra G, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this review

We’re pleased that you were happy with the location of the hotel and our team, of which we are extremely proud. But we’re sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your recent stay at the New Northumbria Hotel. Due to our health and safety procedures and guest welfare, we need to evacuate the building if the fire... More

england
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here only 1 night, but really enjoyed it - free upgrade notwithstanding! The hotel staff were so friendly I actually felt like I had known them all my life! The hotel was further away from work than I realised and then when got there I couldn't find where to park. I phoned the hotel - got excellent directions from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The Malhotra G, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this review

Wow, thank you for taking the time to write such a fab review. We are glad to hear you appreciated the complimentary upgrade and also enjoyed a meal and drinks at our onsite Bar - Osbornes - It seems you did well with our "push the button" happy hour game. I'm very sorry to hear about the other inconsiderate guests... More

Ingleby Barwick
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our football team 'Real Sociable Dads' decided to go to Newcastle as part of a world cup football tournament. We required the hotel to provide accommodation, drinks and food for nearly 30 lads and the hotel staff made this process easy. They took a genuine interest in trying to help us make it a special occasion and were always willing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
The Malhotra G, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. I'm glad that the Real Sociable Dads enjoyed their trip up to Newcastle and glad we made your stay as comfortable as possible. Thank you for recommending to others and we hope to see you all again when your next in the area :) More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The New Northumbria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The New Northumbria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Northumbria Hotel

Address: Osborne Road, Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Northumbria Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Budget Places, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your The New Northumbria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Northumbria

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
50

See which rooms travelers prefer