We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 77 Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

The New Northumbria Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Osborne Road, Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AN, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The New Northumbria Hotel to your Saves list
The New Northumbria Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
76%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Michelle B Cork, Ireland
  • Overview
  • Reviews (315)
  • Photos (67)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (83)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

315 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    115
    44
    24
    11
See reviews for
38
102
17
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a midweek break here in Aug2014, my initial impressions were that the hotel was located in a very nice area and only 5/10min walk to nearest metro station (Jesmond) which was three stops from Central Newcastle. Upon arrival the weather was great which made sitting in the outdoor area very enjoyable with access to osmonds two bars, scallinis restaurant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

went down Thursday for Newcastle races stayed overnight with family,hotel great, staff very helpful,hard to find a parking space as it is limited at the back of the hotel ,but got one enventualy,This is a great area to stay in very lively and plenty of bars shops and restuarants to choose from,hotel, rooms were good sized and had everything you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The Malhotra G, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this review

So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking time to provide feedback. Unfortunately due to the location of the hotel car parking spaces are limited, glad you found one. If you are after some local places to go we recommend our onsite bar Osbornes and our Italian restaurant Scalini’s. Look forward to seeing you again soon. More

Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On first inspection this hotel was a instant hit. The front is beautiful with plenty of outdoor seating and a welcoming entrance. Superb summer place to sit and have a drink or a Arabic smoke!! The reception is very well decorated and the lady behind the desk was very pleasant and helpful. The corridors to the rooms are very nicely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The Malhotra G, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this review

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We have just launched our Sheesha bar so it’s great to hear you liked it. We are sorry you found you room a little outdated it is getting refurbished soon, we do try to upgrade to the newer rooms when possible, sorry we didn't manage on this occasion. Glad you have a... More

All over the place
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Although I have not stayed here I have been in touch with the reception staff who were very helpful and went beyond the call of duty to help me arrange accommodation for family. I do know the hotel is in an extremely popular area of Newcastle and would certainly book for a weekend away myself.

Was this review helpful? Yes
The Malhotra G, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback we will pass it on to the reception team. Hope you do come and see us soon. More

uk
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

facilities in the room that have not been updated are not great, rotten windows, bathroom floor coming away. Bed not comfortable. Rooms very close to each other so noise from hen dos is bad ! need to patrol the landings to check for hotel guests who are causing issues and not just rely on your guests who are sleeping to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The Malhotra G, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay. A number of our rooms have yet to be refurbished but this is happening soon. Apologies that there was noise during your stay and you found your bed uncomfortable, your comments will be fed back to the relevant staff. We are always looking for ways to make our guests... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The New Northumbria needs to be put into context. It is a 3 - star hotel that caters (at weekends) for stag and hen parties on a road synonymous with these audiences. Indeed the hotel bar (Osborne's) is bar far the busiest in the area. Therefore for what it offered it was perfect. We had a group of 11 across... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived half an hour before check in and were told we had been given a complimentary upgrade. The room was a newly refurbished room. It was very hot but it was a sunny day and after calling reception at 11.45pm , I was told that they had given all the fans out but they would see what they could... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
The Malhotra G, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing such a lovely review - its great to hear that you will be staying with us again. We are pleased that you appreciated your complimentary upgrade and thank you for such wonderful comments regarding the staff throughout the hotel - its fantastic to hear such great feedback. Yes we have now bought some more fans -... More

London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a one night stop here last week whilst on business locally. My room was tired and definitely needed some attention, the bath panel had expanded and swollen up at the top leaving a dirty looking mess and a musty smell (see photo). The room was very small for a double with all the furniture and décor looking very tired.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
The Malhotra G, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay at the hotel. Some of our rooms are still awaiting to be refurbished - the final part of the refurbishment is due within the next few months. Sorry to hear about you not receiving what you ordered for breakfast, however if you would have brought this to their attention... More

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a few nights whilst visiting newcastle for a wedding. It was the start of the weekend so parking was a squeeze in the back alley, but most places in this part of town looked to have the same issue. There was a buzz around the hotel and surrounding area so you could tell we were in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
The Malhotra G, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Unfortunately due to the location of the hotel we do have a limited amount of parking spaces available, however you are correct in saying that most over hotels in the city have the same issue. Thank you for such lovely comments regarding the staff, they are all so friendly... More

Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This is the second time have stayed here, this is now my hotel choice for Newcastle. .great value for money, lovely helpful staff, and the bedrooms are very clean and modern. stayed for 4days as husband at the RVI only 5mins drive...

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
The Malhotra G, Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this review

Its wonderful to hear you enjoyed another stay with us at the New Northumbria and that we are now your hotel choice for Newcastle :) Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we hope to see you again soon. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The New Northumbria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The New Northumbria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Northumbria Hotel

Address: Osborne Road, Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Northumbria Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Budget Places, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your The New Northumbria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Northumbria

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne with
any amenities

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
50

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The New Northumbria Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer