We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kenilworth Hotel

44 Osborne Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AL, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Kenilworth Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

158 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have just spent four nights here and it was wonderful! The room was nicely decorated and spacious and the bathroom was immaculately clean. The bed was so comfy and a nice large TV on the wall with sky. The staff are very polite and the breakfast was freshly cooked and flippin lovely! Thank you very much xx

Helpful?
Thank spudleysprout
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I'm not usually one to complain but I am utterly disgusted by what service I have received and also the deceit of the images compared to what I actually turned up to. Me and my friend travelled all the way from West Sussex to Newcastle to arrive at a hotel where we were then taken out the back and completely... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Daniellegt
sfh66, Owner at Kenilworth Hotel, responded to this review

This guest and her friend who wrote the review below, actually booked a family room. When they arrived there were only 2 guests and they refused to pay the going rate for the room. As the hotel was full, we offered them a room usually reserved for staff but unused at the time as we didn't have any alternative twins.... More 

Travelers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

DO NOT STAY HERE! I have never been so disgraced by somewhere before. I was coming up for new year with a friend for 2 nights. After a 6 hour car journey we were so glad to finally be there but our minds soon changed. Firstly, the reception sign shown in the pictures is not what it looks like and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Alice K
sfh66, Owner at Kenilworth Hotel, responded to this review

See above response More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015 via mobile

Room was like a box room, no double glazing also window was jammed with tissue to stop it rattling. The bed is jammed into the window so u have to climb over your partner to get out. Advise spending extra 10 plus on somewhere better as it's not nice. This was room 5 by the way.

Helpful?
Thank Dominic M
sfh66, Owner at Kenilworth Hotel, responded to this review

Room 5 is our smallest room but has a brand new bathroom, bed and is very nicely decorated. Had the guest made us aware of his problem, we would have done our best to change rooms and we are disappointed that he did not do so. More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2015 via mobile

Clean, cosy and comfortable...Classic burger and chips gorgeous. House wine lovely. Owners and staff are lovely and couldn't be more helpful. Stayed for two nights whilst on business. Bonus of free wifi. Easy to find. Will stay again next time in the area and recommended. Thank you.

Helpful?
Thank rach_neil-lie
sfh66, Owner at Kenilworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the lovely review and we hope to see you again. More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2015 via mobile

I stayed here with my wife and we were welcomed after a very stressful day and was shown to our room and then got something to eat and I was very happy with the staff the service,room, and food very good stay and would recommend this as it's very friendly and the atmosphere was ace

Helpful?
Thank Gary D
sfh66, Owner at Kenilworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much and we are delighted that you found your stay so comfortable. More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2015 via mobile

We booked a last minute stay to Newcastle and found this hotel on Laterooms.com. The gentleman who checked us in was very welcoming, although didn't give us wine on arrival like it stated in the offer (but that was okay, we just had to ask) which wasn't a problem... The rooms were clean and fit for purpose. When traffic went... More 

Helpful?
Thank f r
sfh66, Owner at Kenilworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing The Kenilworth so positively and we are sorry about the breakfast. You should have had a welcome letter in your room containing all of the information needed and apologise if this wasn't the case. More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2015

I stayed here whilst on business and had an extremely welcoming time. I was greeted and shown to my room which was modern and immaculate. My bed vas comfortable and I can't explain how good your value for money is here, personally I think they should charge more! My bed again, was immaculate and my entire room was stylish and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
sfh66, Owner at Kenilworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for reviewing The Kenilworth and we are delighted that you had such a good experience. More 

Ellon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2015

we were up on the top floor but still quite a lot of traffic noise as busyish road. Lack of double glazing doesn't help and had to wedge something in window to stop it rattling on windy night. Bathroom very clean but don't expect a power shower!! Also noisy pub on Monday night with people (mainly students) sitting outside. You... More 

Helpful?
Thank stuartfaedunfy
sfh66, Owner at Kenilworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are sorry that you were disturbed by traffic as this is unusual at this time of night. The bathroom is new and we will check out the water pressure as the showers are generally powerful. The noise from outside was not from our bar which is quiet during the week but may have... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2015

This is not a hotel but an INN. It is a bar/pub with rooms. We had to book last minute and had we know it was a pub/bar with rooms, we might not have booked the room. Nevertheless, the room we had was functional for the one night we were there. It was clean. However, the room was very hot... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bhuttani
sfh66, Owner at Kenilworth Hotel, responded to this review

We apologise for the temperature control which has now been fixed but dispute the description of our property as rooms above a pub. We do indeed have a bar and restaurant downstairs - most guests find this a bonus, especially on bad weather days and during the week there is little noise. Just because we have these facilities, this does... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

63 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (32)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 mi away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#23 of 85 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 stars 516 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#8 of 85 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dene Hotel
Dene Hotel
#48 of 85 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jesmond Park Hotel
Jesmond Park Hotel
#54 of 85 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Kent Hotel
BEST WESTERN New Kent Hotel
#44 of 85 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 stars 173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#52 of 85 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.5 of 5 stars 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay