We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kenilworth Hotel

44 Osborne Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AL, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Kenilworth Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

143 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    26
    40
    21
    17
    39
See reviews for
16
35
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (143)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (48)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The main reason for writing this 'review' is that this 'hotel (more a guest house to be fair) had 4 stars on the hotels.com website, so it's probably more a criticism of that site than the hotel. But as I've stated, this is just a typical 2 star hotel in need of some work carried out. My room was at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sfh66, Owner at Kenilworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we have noted your comments. We are rated 4 star guest accommodation by the AA and have never pretended to be a 4 star hotel as our price would indicate. Hotels.com choose to only display star ratings and not categories; there is little hoteliers can do about this. We understand that this system is... More 

peterborough
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here overnight with husband and son. Rooms were very clean and comfortable, breakfast was good with choice of cereals, fruit etc. staff very friendly and polite. Ideal location not noisy considering it being on main road. Pleasant stay and overall very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Quite typical English hotel with carpet everywhere, unexpected stairs, great bar. The rooms in the back, above the night entrance, are to be avoided when one wants a good night sleep. The city centre can be easily reached within 10-15 min by foot.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Myself and 3 other girls stayed here last weekend for 2 nights. First impressions of the hotel were not the best as we arrived through the main door to check in and no staff was around, we had to search the place to find someone ended up I had to ring the hotel and finally someone appeared from upstairs after... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sfh66, Owner at Kenilworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your weekend. We don't consider that our rooms are small, although you did have the smallest family room in the hotel. As a double, it compares very favourably to other hotels in the area and has a good size bathroom. As for being noisy, we have soundproofing which... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a two night stay, friendly staff that gave a warm welcome on arrival, clean rooms and a lovely breakfast, a good location, many bars to choose from in that area and not far to travel to the centre of town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
sfh66, Owner at Kenilworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and we are delighted to see that our recent updating of rooms and bathrooms has been noticed! More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

had one night in this hotel .it was clean staff were friendly/breakfast was good.well worth the staythe room was clean and a good size .the shower was clean and up to date.dont no where some people could give bad reviews

Was this review helpful? Yes
sfh66, Owner at Kenilworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Kenilworth. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found everything to be clean and comfortable. More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

We arrived and were checked in promptly. Very friendly man (think he was the owner), and once we dropped our bags off we headed straight out. The next day we headed down to a continental (cereals, fruit and fruit juice options) and hot breakfast on order (breakfast in general was very good). However after we headed back upstairs we wished... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sfh66, Owner at Kenilworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we can only apologise for the hot water issues: these have now been resolved but we understand that this did impact on your stay. As for your photographs- you have clearly focussed on the one small part of the hotel that needed attention, one bathroom window,(now done) and this does not in any way... More 

Travelers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

We and other members of our family stayed at the Kenilworth for two nights. They were very friendly and helpful. We arrived very late on a Saturday night when they were very busy. Bernie (the owner) made us most welcome. Amazing value for money - we will be back!! Kath & Eddie

Was this review helpful? Yes
sfh66, Owner at Kenilworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review and we are delighted that you had such a great weekend. More 

Newry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for a stag last weekend. Was greeted by Bernie who was more than helpful and me and the lads could not speak highly enough of him. The Rooms were fantastic and served our purpose. food was great both at breakfast & evening. Zero complaints. And we'll be back sooner rather than later 👍🏻🍀

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

The hotel is definitely not 4star. But that said it has some plus points, it is on the main bus route to the city centre and St James Park ( if there for football), there are a number of bars close by, including in the hotel itself. But most of all it's cheap. We stayed for two nights and was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 mi away
Jesmond Hotel
Jesmond Hotel
#61 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jesmond Park Hotel
Jesmond Park Hotel
#55 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.5 of 5 stars 120 reviews
0.1 mi away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#17 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 stars 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#49 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#13 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caledonian Hotel Newcastle
Caledonian Hotel Newcastle
#40 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.5 of 5 stars 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay