We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 79 Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

Rosebery Hotel

2 Rosebery Crescent | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 1ET, England
Hotel amenities
Rosebery Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newcastle upon Tyne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    44
    10
    9
    49
See reviews for
28
46
25
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I spent two weeks at The Rosebery whilst on university placement at The Freeman Hospital. The hotel is in the perfect location, a lovely walk through the park to the hospital each day. On arrival I was given a free upgrade, all the staff were very helpful to me, both in the hotel and with useful local information. The breakfasts... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Had a stay here just over a week ago and loved it. The receptionist told me the hotel was recently refurbished - it's much nicer than the old (guest) photos in here! It's very unique in terms of style and furniture - the owners have clearly put a lot of thought and effort into the decor. Couldn't believe how nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the most fabulous hotel tucked away in Jesmond just a couple of miles out of the Newcastle City Centre. The room we had was stunning I was very impressed for the price - great value. The staff couldn't have been more helpful overall a lovely experience. I would strongly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Upon my check in, I was greeted by the lovely receptionist who was very helpful and carried one of my bags up to my room for me! There's so much to look at before you even get to your room, it's brilliant! I'd only looked at photos of gorgeous, stylish rooms until I stayed at the Rosebery, and I got... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I never normally write reviews but I was compelled to do one for this wonderful boutique hotel as soon as I got home! My partner and I had an absolutely amazing service from all of the staff that worked at the Rosebery. They were kind, helpful and very welcoming! After seeing a couple of negative reviews on here I was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I have never had to write a bad review and I have stayed in many hotels all over the country for many years! I very sadly need to say that this hotel is terrible! The manager is insulting, rude and obstructive. If I could put no stars I would have! Genuinely shocking! I found communication rude. I was made to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
124susi, Owner at Rosebery Hotel, responded to this review

The hotel has been closed since September 1st 2013 and does not re open until the 17th March 2014. No guests have been accepted during this time. This review is clearly at attempt to damage the business. We are aware of who has posted it and It is being pursued via the appropriate legal channels. If you wish to see... More

leeds
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

this hotel charged me for 2 nights i did not stay. the receptionist is a disgrace. she cancelled bookings over the phone yet they went ahead to debit account. its shocking how they get away with these poor services. manager is a disgrace and very unhelpful. and i didnt get any refund till date. i pity any one taking the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
124susi, Owner at Rosebery Hotel, responded to this review

The hotel has terms and conditions which are reasonable and fair, as does every hotel. If guests cancel within the cancellation period, then they abide by those terms and conditions agreed to at the time of booking. More

newbury
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

As we were about to board our flight to Newcastle we received a call saying the receptionist was ill so we would had to let ourselves in, were given the door code and told where our room keys would be. We paid a lot for an en suite room, however, there was absolutely no hot water so we could not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
124susi, Owner at Rosebery Hotel, responded to this review

The hotel has been closed since September 1st 2013 and does not re open until the 17th March 2014. No guests have been accepted during this time. This review is clearly at attempt to damage the business. We are aware of it and It is being pursued via the appropriate legal channels. If you wish to see legitimate reviews from... More

Long buckby
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We booked to stay 9/10 August back inJuly as I was having an operation at the Freeman, we have stayed here before. Unfortunately the Freeman postponed my operation on the 6th August,which was a bit of a surprise to say the least, we rang the hotel to let them know, and that we would rebook as soon as we have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
124susi, Owner at Rosebery Hotel, responded to this review

The Rosebery Hotel, as like any hotel, has terms of business when reserving with the hotel, which are clearly stated on the website. These terms are reasonable and fair. More

Hornchurch,Essex
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel and I really want to give it a good review. Unfortunately aspects of the administration are not good, and this does detract from the aesthetics. I booked two nights to attend my sons graduation and wanted a double and a single. When I spoke with the owner on the phone to make the booking some... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Been to Rosebery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosebery Hotel

Also Known As:
Rosebery Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Rosebery Newcastle Upon Tyne
Address: 2 Rosebery Crescent | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 1ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 79 hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rosebery Hotel is boutique bed and breakfast located within a stunning Edwardian building on a quiet residential street in Jesmond, Newcastle Upon Tyne. Overlooking serene Jesmond Dene Park , with its acres of natural woodland beauty, you will be surprised to discover that the bustling Newcastle city centre is just a 10 minute walk away.Offering value for money accommodation and a free continental room breakfast, The Rosebery has a range of beautifully refurbished rooms, from singles to large family rooms that can sleep up to four. The hotel caters for all the needs of any discerning traveler, with extensive free parking, free WiFi and a complimentary continental breakfast to set you up for the day.For those who prefer something lighter and healthy in the mornings, as a gesture of goodwill to our guests, we provide a free in-room continental breakfast to include cereals, yoghurts, fresh croissants and other freshly baked bread products, orange juice and fresh fruits. Plus tea, coffee’s and a range of herbal teas. Vegans, vegetarians and those with food intolerances are not left out – special dietary requirements will be made on request, such as vegan gluten-free breads, soya milk and vegan spreads. Please kindly enquire at the time of reservation.A boutique bed and breakfast in Newcastle can’t be without fresh bread from a local boutique baker. The French Oven supplies the Rosebery Hotel with delicious handmade breads, including lovely farmhouse white buns, delicious croissants, organic butter brioche breakfast rolls, and yummy Tea Loaf buns with mixed fruit, cherries, nuts and mixed spice.To wash down your scrumptious free continental breakfast there is fresh filter coffee, an array of specialty and herbal teas. Fresh fruit juices and decaffeinated teas for those who don’t need a caffeine hit in the morning.Please kindly note we do not accept any reservations for stag or hen parties or single or mixed groups looking for alcohol fueled party weekends. As we want to ensure that all guests have a relaxing and peaceful stay, not disturbed by other guests. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosebery Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Rosebery Hotel to your Saves list