We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 77 Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Great North Road | Seaton Burn, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 6BP, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
62%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Trevor R Mold, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (363)
  • Photos (97)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (70)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

363 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    137
    99
    37
    13
See reviews for
91
98
16
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mold, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I spend quite a lot of time in the Newcastle area but this is the first time I have used the Holiday Inn. The grounds, entrance and reception were immaculate and the staff were very welcoming and check in was very straightforward. My executive room looked newly refurbished and the en-suite was excellent. it contained everything one could need for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed for 2 nights on the way to Scotland and it was really nice.Fantastic atmosphere,we had a Nice and clean, satisfying room with a lovely bathroom. Staff couldn't of been more helpful and friendly. Food was yummy and was value for money. We would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne, responded to this review

Thank you Shopie p for a fantastic yet brief review. You manage to cover everything that a traveller welcomes and needs - clean rooms, friendly staff and yummy food. hope you had a lovely time in Scotland (my homeland). kind regards, Norrie Oswald, GM More

Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we stayed for three nights and have no complaints at all. Staff all lovely and very helpful. Room clean and beds very comfortable. Breakfast was great. Kids ate free:). A lot of work going on to update the place. Would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne, responded to this review

Thank you Pauline for your kind words and praise which is always appreciated by the team and by myself. The first section of rooms is almost there - just a few finishing touches to be added. We are very happy with the work so far. The kids eat free for breakfast was introduced by Holiday Inn many years ago and... More

Leeds
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having stayed in many Holiday Inns around the country this WAS amongst our mostly highly rated until our recent stay!! Our room was so hot it was unbearable at times. There was an air-conditioning unit in the room which was not working and a small table fan. We mentioned to the receptionist about the air-conditioning and was very abruptly informed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne, responded to this review

Thank you Leedslassie1 for your review after your recent stay. I can only apologise that the aircon wasn't working and yes, we don't advertise this facility but we are adding more cool rooms each month with more planned later this year. In Newcastle there isn't always a need for cool rooms however an uncomfortably hot rooms leads to an unpleasant... More

Gosforth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just stayed 2nights , hotel noticeably better than last time I stayed. Good points room spotless, hotel spotless, good decor, lounge a lot better nice place to sit and have a drink. Only had breakfast but it was of good quality and the dining staff were very polite and discrete in the way they served you. A general comment keep... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne, responded to this review

Thank you coraddo for a great review and like you I hope the Stag & Hen parties enjoy the more central located hotels! your very positive feedback is greatly received and goes a long way to appreciate the work the team do carry out. Cleanliness was always a strong point and now we are having better facilities it helps improve... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
49 hotel reviews
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Best feature was the big car park. Rooms were ok with probably the smallest double bed I've seen in a hotel. Didn't use the pool, but saw the gym, it looked smaller than the bed. Most disappointing feature was the buffet breakfast, it didn't need to be that average. our bedroom was hotter than the food. Not great, but I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne, responded to this review

Thank you george g for your review from your recent stay. Our standard double room beds are 4'6" which are being replaced in our refurbished rooms with king size beds - for info the headboard needs replacing in order to change the beds. This will continue in 2014 & 2015. We have 2 gyms available at the hotel and the... More

Coventry
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We asked for a quiet room and stayed in 144. The room was quiet, clean & comfortable. We ate in the hotel restaurant on both evenings of our stay. The food was very nice, presented well and portion sizes were good. The staff were very busy but were really nice, attentive and couldn't do enough to make our experience a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your very kind appreciation of the teams looking after you - it is very much appreciated. kind regards, Norrie Oswald, General Manager More

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

A few weekends back I took a group of 18 to stay at this hotel for a long weekend, whilst we celebrated my birthday. We all had a great time and the hotels amenities were perfect for what we needed, seeing as we were out and about a lot. The rooms were a great size, as was the lounge area... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review Michael K after your recent group visit. I hoped you all enjoyed the local attractions and thanks for using our bar facilities. The first phase of bedroom refurbishment will finish late July with plans to continue doing even more rooms this year & next. It is an exciting time for the hotel and hopefully... More

South Shields, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I travel a lot for work and whenever I have an appointment in Newcastle or the surrounding areas I always stay here, simply because it’s in a prime location for getting straight onto the A1, especially when the traffic is bad. The staff are always welcoming and make me feel completely comfortable, ensuring I have everything I need to make... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne, responded to this review

Thank you for your loyal custom and for continuing to choose to stay with us when in the area. The addition of free Wi-Fi has been well received since the sale of the hotel and the current refurbishment of the bedrooms in addition to the public areas will provide great facilities for our guests and our teams. The first 40... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Me and the girls recently spent a relaxing weekend in Newcastle, staying here and we couldn't be happier with the service provided. After a long day shopping it wa the perfect place to come back to for a drink and a natter on before getting ready for a night on the town! If we all manage to get away for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne, responded to this review

Thank you for your review from you ladies weekend away shopping. We are not centrally located as you will know so not ideal for the hustle bustle weekend of pubs and clubs but we do offer a relaxing space for discerning groups. Thank you, Norrie Oswald, GM More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne

Address: Great North Road | Seaton Burn, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 6BP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Holiday Inn

97 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (73)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Family/play areas (10)
Viewed
Other (10)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
News update that Wi-Fi is now Free. With 154 spacious bedrooms each with an en-suite bathroom, Tea & Coffee making facilities, private dial-out telephones, remote control flatscreen TV, trouser press and hairdryer. Should you require an even higher standard of comfort, the hotel has 14 Executive bedrooms offering an excellent range of luxuries to make your stay that bit more special. In April & May 2013 our lounge, restaurant, bar and toilets have had a full refurbishment which we are very happy with and will share some new photos very soon. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
154

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer