We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 77 Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Great North Road | Seaton Burn, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 6BP, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
62%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
MarshMellowBird Leeds, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (367)
  • Photos (97)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (73)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

367 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    139
    99
    37
    14
See reviews for
91
99
16
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Myself and two friends stayed overnight here on Saturday night (26th July). As we were going to Ladies Day at Newcastle Races we wanted to check in slightly earlier so we could be ready and at the races for the first race. The hotel were able to accommodate our request which was very much appreciated! The hotel also booked a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Newly renovated hotel with easy access from the main throughways, quiet and relaxed but rather far from the city centre. Bar/lobby area could be a bit more cosy and the choice of beer could include more than one local brew.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Can I just say what a great hotel holidayinn express is in city centre Newcastle to stay all of the staff are amazing they are only too happy to help Lee one of the staff there is an ambassador to the company he sorted out a small problem in our room which we were very great full He makes you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Arrived at the hotel the receptionist didn't know how to book me in offered me a normal room or Executive room (but she didn't know which rooms had air con and which didn't) I opted for executive as should have air con. (asked 3 times) but allocated a standard room with broken air con (sounded like a bag of nails)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Forfar, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been staying at this hotel for many visits over the last 10 years and after a horrible experience at another hotel the night beforehand we were really looking forward to returning here. On arrival we were allocated a room above the back door that had dated decor and we could hear guests swearing outside so we asked for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mold, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I spend quite a lot of time in the Newcastle area but this is the first time I have used the Holiday Inn. The grounds, entrance and reception were immaculate and the staff were very welcoming and check in was very straightforward. My executive room looked newly refurbished and the en-suite was excellent. it contained everything one could need for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for 2 nights on the way to Scotland and it was really nice.Fantastic atmosphere,we had a Nice and clean, satisfying room with a lovely bathroom. Staff couldn't of been more helpful and friendly. Food was yummy and was value for money. We would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne, responded to this review

Thank you Shopie p for a fantastic yet brief review. You manage to cover everything that a traveller welcomes and needs - clean rooms, friendly staff and yummy food. hope you had a lovely time in Scotland (my homeland). kind regards, Norrie Oswald, GM More

Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we stayed for three nights and have no complaints at all. Staff all lovely and very helpful. Room clean and beds very comfortable. Breakfast was great. Kids ate free:). A lot of work going on to update the place. Would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne, responded to this review

Thank you Pauline for your kind words and praise which is always appreciated by the team and by myself. The first section of rooms is almost there - just a few finishing touches to be added. We are very happy with the work so far. The kids eat free for breakfast was introduced by Holiday Inn many years ago and... More

Leeds
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having stayed in many Holiday Inns around the country this WAS amongst our mostly highly rated until our recent stay!! Our room was so hot it was unbearable at times. There was an air-conditioning unit in the room which was not working and a small table fan. We mentioned to the receptionist about the air-conditioning and was very abruptly informed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne, responded to this review

Thank you Leedslassie1 for your review after your recent stay. I can only apologise that the aircon wasn't working and yes, we don't advertise this facility but we are adding more cool rooms each month with more planned later this year. In Newcastle there isn't always a need for cool rooms however an uncomfortably hot rooms leads to an unpleasant... More

Gosforth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just stayed 2nights , hotel noticeably better than last time I stayed. Good points room spotless, hotel spotless, good decor, lounge a lot better nice place to sit and have a drink. Only had breakfast but it was of good quality and the dining staff were very polite and discrete in the way they served you. A general comment keep... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne, responded to this review

Thank you coraddo for a great review and like you I hope the Stag & Hen parties enjoy the more central located hotels! your very positive feedback is greatly received and goes a long way to appreciate the work the team do carry out. Cleanliness was always a strong point and now we are having better facilities it helps improve... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne

Address: Great North Road | Seaton Burn, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 6BP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Holiday Inn

97 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (73)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Family/play areas (10)
Viewed
Other (10)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
News update that Wi-Fi is now Free. With 154 spacious bedrooms each with an en-suite bathroom, Tea & Coffee making facilities, private dial-out telephones, remote control flatscreen TV, trouser press and hairdryer. Should you require an even higher standard of comfort, the hotel has 14 Executive bedrooms offering an excellent range of luxuries to make your stay that bit more special. In April & May 2013 our lounge, restaurant, bar and toilets have had a full refurbishment which we are very happy with and will share some new photos very soon. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
154

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer