We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 77 Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

The Vermont Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castle Garth, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1RQ, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Vermont Hotel to your Saves list
The Vermont Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
66%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
john p Carlisle, United Kingdom
  • Reviews (768)
  • Photos (154)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (206)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

768 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    250
    255
    130
    75
    58
See reviews for
71
351
22
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Very disappointed with our recent stay here. There is NO wheelchair access to the hotel - a fact which is not mentioned on the website. My mother was humiliated by gates having to be unpadlocked on several occasions, having to be taken through back kitchens and worst of all on Friday evening we ended up in a row with the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Hotel could have aso much going for it but let down by very poor management. I booked this hotel several months ago but still found myself in the middle of a building site being woken at 8.10am by the sound of hammering then to be confronted by a building site outside of our door as renovations were takin g place... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I would not consider The Vermont Hotel as a suitable destination for myself, nor recommend it to anyone else in the future. The staff were extremely rude and unwilling to provide any assistance to resolve the matters below. They were stubborn, unapologetic and unkind towards me. First, my room took 3 hours to become available. That was not pleasant after... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shadia T, General Manager at The Vermont Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send your feedback; as a company we rely on people like yourself leaving feedback to let us know where we perform well and likewise where we do not. Our Hotel website and other booking sites to advise that Hotel check out time is noon, and check in is from 2pm. Although we do... More

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

From the moment we arrived behind a bright red Ferrari in our tiny Kia we were treated to great service from Steve who parked the Ferrari then the Kia to the very friendly lady behind the check in desk .The rooms are comfortable but a little tired around the edges the weekend we stayed they were having trouble with there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shadia T, General Manager at The Vermont Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments which have been passed on to the very proud team here at The Vermont Hotel. We strive to ensure that every guest receives the warm welcome for which we have become renowned, and it really does mean a lot that you have enjoyed your visit with us. I am pleased to advise that all... More

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We would like to say thank you to the staff at The Vermont Hotel for the amazing afternoon Tea we had. The quality of the produce was exceptional. The presentation was superb, the surroundings were very relaxing and we had a wonderful afternoon cannot recommend highly enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Shadia T, General Manager at The Vermont Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. It really does mean a lot to us all that you enjoyed your Traditional Afternoon Tea and hopefully we will look forward to welcoming you back to the Vermont in the very near future. More

Reading
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Would absolutely not recommend staying here. Whilst the room was lovely and service generally good, the cleaners threw away some of my belongings. I was promised phone calls which did not materialise, and after emailing to complain was told it was mistaken for rubbish and wished luck in finding replacements. Beyond appalling.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shadia T, General Manager at The Vermont Hotel, responded to this review

I am extremley disapointed and suprised to hear that this issue did effect what should have been a comfortable and enjoyable stay for you. I would like the oportunity to resolve this for you, and ask that you contact me directly at generalmanager@vermonthotel.co.uk in order that I can investigate further. More

Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here with friends in August 2013, The hotel from outside looks quite posh and the reception looks lovely! But I did not expect the rooms to look like they would in the 1960's.. very outdated rooms, Wouldn't recommend for younger people. As we stayed in summer - the rooms were absolutely roasting even though heating was switched off... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shadia T, General Manager at The Vermont Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback; as a company we rely on people like yourself leaving feedback to let us know where we perform well and likewise where we do not. Can I firstly apologise for the poor experience you feel you had at the Vermont Hotel. This is certainly not the... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at The Vermont on 2nd July for the second time, the first was on a business trip. The hotel is placed in an excellent location for the city centre with free parking which is why I had initially booked this for business. The rooms are clean and comfortable with some refurbishment currently being done. The reception, lounge and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shadia T, General Manager at The Vermont Hotel, responded to this review

Can I take this opportunity to thank you for your positive feedback following your recent visit to the Vermont Hotel. Here at the Vermont we take feedback very seriously and with your help we are able to take the hotel forward in identifying what we areas we perform well in. It really does mean a lot to us all that... More

Dearborn, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Attended wedding at St. Nicolas Cathedral weekend of June 21, 2014. The hotel is walking distance from everywhere. Spent 3 nights and our group had many rooms, with no complaints. The rooms could use renovating but the views from the 10th and 11th floors were awesome. The dining was great. We had our breakfast included and it was very good.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shadia T, General Manager at The Vermont Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments which have been passed on to the entire team here at The Vermont Hotel. We strive to ensure that every guest receives the warm welcome for which we have become renowned, and it really does mean a lot that you have enjoyed your visit with us. We hope to welcome you again soon! More

Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arranged to go to the North East to see my wife's family and the had a short break in Newcastle. We booked this hotel with no real knowledge and were very pleasantly surprised. It is currently being refurbished and the public rooms have been very well done. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we ate in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Vermont Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Vermont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vermont Hotel

Address: Castle Garth, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vermont Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Vermont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vermont Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Vermont Newcastle Upon Tyne

154 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (116)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#10 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Few hotels can boast a more enviable city centre postcode than the Vermont Hotel, for this imposing structure is located in the heart of the City of Newcastle-upon-Tyne, not only next to the Castle Keep and opposite the historic Moot Hall, but also just two minutes from Newcastle's Central Station. Combining old character in the form of 1930s grandeur with contemporary elegance and four-star luxury, the landmark building is your base from which to discover the many bars, shops and attractions of the town centre and wider area. Look outside your window and you might see such sights as the River Tyne, Millennium Bridge or stunning cathedral, and it's not the only mark of the sheer inspiration of the Vermont Hotel experience. That's because the reasons for the hotel's reputation become clear with a stay in any one of its sophisticated bedrooms, which are finished in soft relaxing colours while also coming with a wealth of facilities for your pleasure and comfort, including - among others - private en-suite bathrooms, a mini bar and free Internet access. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
101

See which rooms travelers prefer