We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 77 Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Clasper Way, Newcastle upon Tyne NE16 3BE, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
64%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012
Kurstin G Edinburgh, United Kingdom
  • Reviews (297)
  • Photos (20)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (66)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

297 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    112
    65
    27
    19
See reviews for
60
89
21
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
See the most recent reviews
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We were looking for an inexpensive place to stay in Newcastle where we could bring our dog, and this hotel fit the bill. While surrounded by petrol stations and Asdas, the room was clean and comfortable and breakfast was completely adequate (even for someone with celiac disease). Staff were very accommodating with our Pekingese. Recommended as a good stop-over for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and we hope to welcome you back soon. More

London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Located in the middle of nowhere, not even walkable from the nearest tube/metro stop due to all the duel carrigageways means any money you save going cheap here will be spent on taxis everywhere = don't bother. Rooms were just about adequate, though we booked a twin and were given one bed plus one camp/put-up bed which was pretty poor.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. The hotel is located a short distance from the local Metrocentre which has a regular bus and rail service to any part of the city. There is a public footpath which runs alongside the hotel which takes you directly to the Metrocentre. I apologise if you... More

Brentwood, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Our coach party was booked into Holiday inn for evening meal and B&B.On the coach, hours prior to our arrival.a choice of 2 meal orders were taken.either shepherds pie or chicken in sauce all with roast potatoes and 2 other veg.Our meal was booked for 7 and we arrived at 6 plenty of time we thought to have been given... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I would like to point out that we do not water down any of the food prepared on our premises. You state you complained regarding the meal you received but that there was no response I would like to apologise for this and would like to reply that as you can see from the fact... More

Romford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Although the hotel is clean and the rooms are fine the food is disgusting.We booked through our courier from 2 choices of meals at least 4 hours before we arrived so they had plenty of notice of what we wanted.I had the pate which was fine although the lettuce with it had curled up and died and my friend had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review your comments are important to us. We are continuously looking to improve our service and your points have been taken on board. More

Derby
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This hotel has all the makings to be a GREAT place to stop however there are a few points that should be looked at. I traveled here with 12 fiends as part of an organised coach trip. The rooms were fine my only comment on them would be that they are very warm and fan's would be nice (when we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. As a Holiday Inn Express standard our breakfast consists of full continental breakfast plus three hot items. Currently our standard three items are sausage, scrambled egg and beans. Thank you for your comments. More

Moffat,Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed here on Tuesday 14th and Wednesday 15th August. Reception staff were very helpful and very pleasant, our room was spotless and very comfortable, even though there was 3 in 1 room there was plenty of space. Breakfast was plentiful and hot. Location was great, parked car in safe well lit carpark, walked to Metro centre and took bus... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are all very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future. More

Cumbria
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The staff at this hotel were extremely polite and friendly throughout our two night stay here. Checking in and out was quick and efficient. The room we were allocated was clean and the beds were comfortable. This hotel is convenient for the nearby Metro Centre which we reached by walking on the cycle path near to the hotel. This took... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, your views are much appreciated. I have passed on your comments regarding breakfast to the breakfast team so that we can improve our service. I was most surprised and very disappointed to hear that the toaster did not toast as we have recently purchased a catering rotary toaster to try and improve the service. I... More

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The hotel is ideally situated for the Metro Centre, which, even though I only saw a very small part of, was very impressed with and plan another visit soon. However, I would not stay at this hotel again. Yes the room was nice and comfortable but the breakfast was VERY disappointing. I cannot beleive that a big busy hotel like... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I was sorry to hear that you were not happy with your stay due to the lack of bacon on the breakfast buffet. As a Holiday Inn Express we offer full Continental Breakfast plus three hot items, currently the hot items we offer are Sausage, Beans and Scrambled egg. I... More

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in this hotel the weekend begining 3rd August. I arrived at the desk, greeted by helpful and friendly staff. Although there were a few stag/hen parties staying in the hotel, we were allocated a room in the tower block. The room was spacious, clean and welcoming. Good location and staff are familar with the area... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments they have really boosted our hard working team. It is good to know that there are genuine honest people out there. More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed there last weekend as was on a coach trip to Edinburgh to see the edinburgh tatto. On arrival no towels in room. Room and bathroom very dirty. Friday night got no sleep as party in hotel. Sat went to Edinburgh. Got back to hotel after midnight. Found my case open and a new tshirt and pair of underwear missing.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review as you can read from all of my previous comments I am always happy to receive feedback of any kind from our guests. However it is difficult to respond to a review which is littered with inaccuracies. Therefore I respect that you have the right to air your views but cannot comment further. I can... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre

Address: Clasper Way, Newcastle upon Tyne NE16 3BE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre is a modern designed hotel located ideally just off the A1. Guest rooms accommodate up to two adults and two children and include free continental breakfast and free parking. Guest rooms are en-suite and include power shower, high speed wifi internet, hair dryer and telephone. The Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre is situated in Newcastle Upon Tyne and is only a short distance from Gateshead, Sunderland and Durham making us an excellent choice for a stay in the area or a stop off when on your travels. For the corporate traveller the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre is situated only a short distance from Newcastle Business Park, Newburn Riverside Park, The Watermark and Team Valley Trading Estate. Major companies situated near to the hotel are BAE Systems and ITV Television. For the leisure traveller the hotel is situated a short walk from the MetroCentre, Europe's largest shopping centre, Newcastle City Centre is only 3.5 Miles away from the hotel and the Newcastle nightlife is a must see for any party goer. The city's many attractions also include Newcastle United Football Club, Metro Radio Arena and of course the famous Tyne Bridge and the Gateshead Millenuim Bridge. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
134

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer