We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 77 Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Clasper Way, Newcastle upon Tyne NE16 3BE, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
64%
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Tablespider Heysham, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (301)
  • Photos (24)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (67)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

301 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    113
    67
    27
    19
See reviews for
61
90
21
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Heysham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Only staying for one night but the room is large and clean, nice shower arrangement with the loo hidden behind the door! Staff very helpful and friendly which always helps. Parking fine and found easily. Happy to stay again when I'm over this way Access to the centre of Newcastle is easy as is access the Metro Centre and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michelle T, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review

Dear Tablespider Thanks for the great comments following your stay with us. Its great to hear such positive feedback, and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards Michelle Tindall More

Laurencekirk, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here enroute to Darlington , staff pleasant and helpful .Room clean and spacious and quiet. Good value for money.Breakfast choice very good .Walking distance to metro centre..Will stay here again .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michelle T, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review

Dear Billgalashan Thank you for taking time out to write a review of your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre. Guest feedback is important to the hotel staff and management, and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time residing with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you... More

London England
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staying here during a business trip, the location is very good for the North East and getting to the borders. The Metro Centre is practically on the doorstep, lots of retail therapy to be had. Shops normally open until 9pm resturants later. I would stay here again, nice sized bedrooms cleaned everyday, friendly staff free wifi and a complimentary breakfast

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michelle T, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review

Dear Worxelminxy Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. The staff do work hard to look after all of our guests, and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel. We hope to see you back at Holiday Inn Express again in the future. Kind regards Michelle Tindall Deputy... More

Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here one night as we were visiting the Metro Centre and then going on to Newcastle the following day. On arrival staff very pleasant and the room was very good for a budget hotel. The breakfast was including in the price which was ok nothing exciting but there was cereal toast and sausage egg and beans. I would not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michelle T, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review

Dear 2012Barbara Thank you for taking time out to review your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre. We're always happy to hear that our guests have had a great time at the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards Michelle Tindall Deputy General Manager More

Lincolnshire
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
54 hotel reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is easy to find, within sight, from the front, of the A1. Check-in was efficient and friendly. My room was large, overlooked the River Tyne and the railway and was well appointed. There was no air-con, as per the details on the third-party site where I booked (in line with the policy of the organisation for whom I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michelle T, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review

Dear BigWoo Thanks for leaving us your feedback on your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre. The staff are always keen to deliver great service and we are delighted to receive such positive comments. It's disappointing to hear that you had an issue during your stay with the water pressure in the bathroom. We are aware of a... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The ‘budget’ hotel concept is now as diffuse and meaningless as the ‘budget’ airline. It was a reasonable idea to begin with,‘mould-breaking’, ‘radical’, consumer people-power feelgood stuff, but as the greed quotient of the mega-chains rose, aided perfectly by fluid online pricing, it is much more difficult to distinguish between standard hotels and budgets, at least on pricing. £95 a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michelle T, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review

Dear David L, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. I’m sorry to find that you didn’t enjoy your stay. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and to find that your stay wasn’t to your liking is disappointing. I’m sorry to find that you didn’t enjoy our Express Start breakfast. Our breakfast... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Cous Cous was a bit eggy and not too sure if the sausages were Halal. Also, the gap between the toilet and shower ceiling means your friends can soak you when enjoying a 'comfort break'. Other than that it was fine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michelle T, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review

Dear Discodave581984 Thank you for reviewing your stay at Holiday Inn Express. Hot Breakfast Items include Scrambled Eggs, Baked Beans and Pork Sausages. Upon request, the hotel is happy to cater for guests with specific dietary requirements including vegetarian, or gluten and dairy intolerance. The bathroom pod is unique in its design. The toilet is included within the main bathroom... More

Tamworth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel as part of a Hen party Package. Our check in was smooth and speedy considering we were a large party. reception staff were polite and attentive throughout the stay, and were more then happy to organise taxi's etc promptly as we asked. As mentioned by other guests the hotel does have lots of stag and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michelle T, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review

Dear Tash47 Thanks for writing a review for your group stay at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre. The staff work hard to look after all of our guests - each with different reasons for visiting the area. We are thrilled to hear that you had a great stay with us, and hope to welcome you back to a Holiday Inn... More

Methil, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for one night in June. Great location and nice staff. But the bed is a nightmare. The worst iv ever slept in. And because of this I will never stay in one of these hotels again. The breakfast was basic but ok.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michelle T, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review

Dear Alison B Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy a good nights sleep, and were dissatisfied with comfort of the bed. The hotel staff are always keen to resolve guest issues as soon as they arise and would be happy... More

Los Angeles
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
50 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was surprised to see that this hotel is a destination for so many hen and stag party goers. It didn't bother me much but I was certainly amused to see how the englishers up north party. In case you want to know: They're a mess. I was there for business with a large party and our rooms were daily... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michelle T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review

Dear underwaterman Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre. Its great to hear that your overall stay was a pleasant one. We welcome guests with a variety of reasons for visiting Newcastle, and at weekends there can be a varied mix of business and leisure people staying in the hotel. As... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre

Address: Clasper Way, Newcastle upon Tyne NE16 3BE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre is a modern designed hotel located ideally just off the A1. Guest rooms accommodate up to two adults and two children and include free continental breakfast and free parking. Guest rooms are en-suite and include power shower, high speed wifi internet, hair dryer and telephone. The Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre is situated in Newcastle Upon Tyne and is only a short distance from Gateshead, Sunderland and Durham making us an excellent choice for a stay in the area or a stop off when on your travels. For the corporate traveller the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre is situated only a short distance from Newcastle Business Park, Newburn Riverside Park, The Watermark and Team Valley Trading Estate. Major companies situated near to the hotel are BAE Systems and ITV Television. For the leisure traveller the hotel is situated a short walk from the MetroCentre, Europe's largest shopping centre, Newcastle City Centre is only 3.5 Miles away from the hotel and the Newcastle nightlife is a must see for any party goer. The city's many attractions also include Newcastle United Football Club, Metro Radio Arena and of course the famous Tyne Bridge and the Gateshead Millenuim Bridge. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
134

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer